We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, proud, dirty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This hostel promotes itself heavily on the fact that it is by the beach. It is, and it also has a swimming pool. These are both great, unless you stay there when its raining heavily. If both there things are taken out of it, all you have is one big common room with music. There is no TV and you have to pay to use the internet (this includes wi-fi). Its pretty expensive, about $5 an hour. You can go down to Backpackers world and get a free half hour of internet everyday.
The bathrooms were dirty. The bathroom near to me had one toilet and one shower. There was a bath but the lock didn't work on tthe door.
The people I shared a hostel with got wasted and brought back a group of people into the room. Normally I wouldn't have minded but had to get up super early to catch a bus.
This is pretty lousy hostel in my opinion, overpriced not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinggirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 321 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

This hostel was excellent. The rooms were spacious. The kitchen was great. The location was amazing. The outdoor area was superb.

My only gripe is one of the staff who was working there. He had blonde hair and looked like a surfer dude...

He was one of the most arrogant, rudest, stuck up blokes I have ever met. He gave off the impression that he HATED tourists. You'd ask him a question and it was like you just asked him to build the egyptian pyramids from scratch all over again. He never smiled, I don't think he even spoke, he would just hand you your internet voucher with a miserable sour face.

A shame cus the guy who checked us in was great and the hostel was fab.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosejohn8583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Very clean ,funtional and friendly.Walk across the beach for a surf

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dinnymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in. I was booked into a 9 person dom however non hostelers decided that they wouldn't mind staying as well so camped on the floor of the room. So in total it rose from 9 persons to 15. Hardly any security, hostel very open. Very loud, got no sleep. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WASP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hostel is really good! We stayed there for a couple of days with my friends, and we really enjoyed it. The staff is amazing. The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are clean.
This location, right on the beach, is TERRIFIC!
The only bad point is the pool, which is way too small...
I highly recommend recommend Backpackers Inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Was reading some of the other comments and was kinda shocked by some fellow travellers. This hostel is my favourite in Australia and have been back there 5 times over 2 years. Some times I have been with friends and this last time by myself. either way you can't not have fun here. Ask them for a voucher to cheeky monkeys..
The staff are always so helpful and willing to help which is cool when it is such a big hostel and so many people want them. the staff in room 12 always helped me.
i always check into a dorm with lots of people as you always meet the best people here and everybody just wants to have fun. I guess if you were kinda not into mixing with fun people it would not be your cup of tea.
its like less than a minute to walk onto the best beach you have ever seen and everyone is chilling, surfing, swimming, drinking or walking on it. i got some cool sunset pics on it and we had a big beach party there at night.
It is cleaned every morning when you wake up and the best part is the kitchen as its big and you get your own clean plates and stuff. So many hostels i go there is a bad kitchen, but this is good.
One thing which is really good is that there is security cameras there and when i got locked out of my room at 3 am ( bit drunk..lol) a securty guard was able to let me in.
You gotta go to the lighthouse, party at Cocomanga's and Cheeky's, eat at Fishmongers at get to Nimbin.
We found it a bit expensive in summer season, but so was everywhere on the East Coast, but so many people in the hostel then. So this trip was heaps cheaper as off season and a really cool vibe with bonfire at night.
Didn't like the wild turkeys trying to eat my lunch on the back tables - they should get rid of them.
Go straight to Backpackers Inn in Byron Bay if you want a true backpackers experience..maybe see you there on trip number 6.
Bright eyes

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brighteyes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Great location just 30 seconds from the beach!!!! We stayed 2 nights in a 4 dorm. The room was spacious however quite stuffy with only a small fan circulating air. Staff were friendly and helpful. The social area was quite untidy and the kitchen wasn't the cleanest. Not enough storage space for guests food, not enough fridges either. Surfboards and boogie boards free to borrow. Ideal for a couple of nights but we wouldn't like to have stayed long term. We found this place very unfriendly unlike other backpackers we'd stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay

Address: 29 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $43 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed friendly accommodation On the beach in the heart of Byron Bay, one of Australias most spectacular and unspoilt holiday playgrounds. Backpackers Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Byron, just a short stroll to shops, pubs, entertainment and Byron's amazing selection of eating places. We have direct beach access and are the closest backpacker accommodation to the beach in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn On The Beach At Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing