We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great hostel so chilled out, beach was so close by also your able to drink in the hostel till 11pm. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Facilities are basic but the fun atmosphere makes up for it. Byron town its self is a short walk great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rackie-doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

the kitchen was very small, but the room were decent size ( but not enough charging plugs) there is a fire show on wednesday night which I've miss but i heard it was great. 10 minute walk from the main street. i was travelling by myself, so I want hostel with alot of people and action to have fun and i found this histel boring. I had friends a Nomads and it looked AWESOME!!!!! → would recommand another hostel. i would not go back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vansi1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Right on the beach and only a short walk into town for the shops, cafes, clubs etc.

Quiet at night, and small enough to have a friendly atmosphere. The kitchen is large so there is no queuing to cook in the evenings, however a set of crockery/cutlery requires an extra deposit, it isn't freely available in the kitchen.

The bathrooms are small (one toilet, one shower, two sinks) for all the rooms they have to be shared between. As one reviewer said, they have the feel of a campsite, possibly because all the dorms/bathrooms are arranged in a horseshoe so wherever you go you're always outside. The walkways are covered though so you can get to the bathroom or kitchen without getting too wet when it's raining.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltzingSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Backpackers Inn
Stayed two nights private room (had 1 double + 1 bunk bed)
The good
Good location right on the beach and 5 minute walk to town. Walkable to all the main spots and quiet at night so could sleep
Pool area was ok + large communal kitchen (we didn’t cook there) and lounge area
Huge rooms & had double beds

The not so good
Bathrooms shared between a lot of people and could do with updating. Felt more like campsite facuility rather than hostel
Rooms a bit sparse and could do with a proper clean
Had a room upstairs right at the end so lots of natural light, but others looked quite drab and dark.
Stay there again? Would probably look at alternative options

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGosrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

nothing special but ok for a room for a few nights good party atmosphire and great people. i stayed in this hostel at the start of my trip it was laid back really close to the beach and town not so freindly staff. but all in all a good hostel

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Thought this was a cheap hostel (which was the reason for booking it) luckily we only booked 2 days and decided to move hostels as soon as we got there. on top of the price is a $10 deposit for a key, $10 deposit for kitchen stuff and a non refundable $10 for linen. Advertised as the only hostel on the beach, but when the weather is horrible it isnt a great position. Its about a 10min walk to the centre of Byron, although there is a shuttle but times are not advertised anywhere. on top of that we found the staff unfriendly as well as the guests staying there. we couldnt wait to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

You gotta go to Byron Bay if your doing the whole OZ Adventure thing and you could choose worse than the Backpackers!!!. A good standard hostel close to amenities with a real party vibe!
I thought the staff were ok - but by then was used to Ozzie hostel protocol - don't ask the staff anything and don't complain - just go with the flow!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpoolwhenimsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay

Address: 29 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $43 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed friendly accommodation On the beach in the heart of Byron Bay, one of Australias most spectacular and unspoilt holiday playgrounds. Backpackers Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Byron, just a short stroll to shops, pubs, entertainment and Byron's amazing selection of eating places. We have direct beach access and are the closest backpacker accommodation to the beach in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn On The Beach At Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing