We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very social and fun place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very social and fun place to stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the 8-bed dorm, which was spacious and well-equipped with personal lockers, a combined toilet and shower room and an additional sink in the corner of the dorm. The bathroom was cleaned regularly. We had a private patio out the back and table and chairs in the room. The ceiling fan was largely ineffective during the hot nights though.

Our first night was interrupted by some guys having a very noisy party out on the patio, which included a large number of [presumed] guests from other rooms and went on until 1am. The nightguard redeemed himself however on the following night, when he came round and enforced the no-noise after 11pm policy. Following that, we found the balance between social-quality and sleep-quality about right.

The free dinner is great and the hostel staff are very good at encouraging you to meet new people. The free bodyboard hire is also well-worth taking advantage of, as is the pool area. On our final day, the reception staff were also very generous to accommodate us, even though we'd already checked out.

In summary, Aquarius is a top-class hostel run by hard-working and dedicated staff. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Great to hear you had a good stay! Ahh noisy room mates are the worst in dorm rooms, which is why we have a night guard going around to make sure everyone has a good sleep after 11pm.
Thanks for taking the time to comment, and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    100
    54
    24
    22
See reviews for
5
60
87
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have just stayed at Aquarius backpackers in Byron Bay for 4 nights and absolutely loved it...definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed in! The price of $35 a night for a dorm room was so cheap and the rooms were clean and comfortable. A free meal is provided each night as long as you buy one drink and the food was lovely and there was plenty of it! We booked a skydive, kayaking trip and day tour to Nimbin through the hostel which was all done easily with a really helpful and friendly girl at the travel desk. The atmosphere at the hostel is really laid back but there is always something going on at the bar so definitely a great place to start your night out. Byron bay is an amazing place and when I go back ill definitely be staying at this hostel again...5 stars!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment! Awesome to hear you had a great stay. Hope you enjoyed Nimbin it's a pretty interesting little town. I'll tell the chef you enjoyed the free dinner, it's always pretty good food. Hope to see you again at AQ some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was in Byron yesterday, happened to stumble by your Motel, saw a sign, cheeseburger & chips $8, not easy getting a cheap meal that kids like in Byron. We were so well looked after by the barman, kids had a swim, then were offered a selection of games. I was impressed with the friendly service, and the welcome that was felt by myself and children. Thank you for making our day perfect, cant wait to visit again, and would definately recommend this to anyone I know. Cheers to the barman, I hope you get a pay rise, it is this service that is appreciated and shows that Aussies are warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOKIDS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Great to hear our barman took good care of you and your kids! The cheeseburger and chips is great value! I have passed on your kind comments to the bartender working that shift, it really does make you feel good to hear positive comments like yours when you work in hospo. Pay rise....we'll see about that one! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Dorm rooms are really big with a private bathroom and outside area per room. Really clean. Great bar and the best thing was the free meals every night! Normally when hostels give you free food you don't get much and its not great but the food at Aquarius was really good. Also means everyone goes to the bar for dinner at the same time which is good for meeting people and the bar puts on activities every night such as speed dating, karaoke, jelly wrestling which are good fun. Location is great, really close to the beach and about a 5 minute walk to the clubs. Definitely one of the best hostels in Bryon Bay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay, the bar is def a great place to meet other travellers and the odd local too. The activities are there to encourage you guys to mix and mingle so it's great that you took advantage of that. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked to stay at Aquarius for 1 night, would have LOVED to have stayed longer. This was one of our favourite hostels in Australia. My boyfriend and I had a double room that had a balcolny overlooking the pool which was great. The location is excellent, only a quick walk to the beach and shops, and there was a pick up from the Greyhound stop which we hadnt even asked for! We got a welcome drink, happy hour seems to be pretty constant and free dinner (when you brought a drink) which was great. Music stopped at 12 so it wasnt too bad. Overall fantastic hostel and would definitely recommend, and would definitely recommend staying longer than one night, Byron Bay is lovely :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Come on now, you have to comeback and spend some more time in Byron after that review!!!
Thanks for the positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenvale, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

it is only 1 block from the beach and 2 blocks to the center of town. has all the amenities you could possibly ask for and fun, friendly staff. The bar is great, some of the cheapest prices in town, and they have interactive games on most nights so you can meet other back packers. They have the same issues as any other hostel in the world in terms of noise and insects but if you dont want noise, pay for a hotel room (which they also offer).

Attached cafe makes great hot chocolate and the breakie wrap is AMAZING, the travel desk was really helpful and the bar, kitchen, general hangout areas, have a really fun, youthful and yet mellow vibe that is really conducive to meeting other travelers.

The price is similar to most other places in town and failing everything else, that would be enough for me to recommend it. It is also on the very same street as you need to take to get to the lighthouse for sunrise (whales at the most easterly point of Aust) and so is really easy to stumble out of bed at 5.30 and not worry about getting lost on your way

Room Tip: if going for a private, stay away from the ones over the driveway until they are re-done (in process...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Cheers for the review! I reakon we are the best in Byron but it's also great to hear it from a seasoned traveller such as yourself. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

byron was epic i love this beach town. The hostel was recommended from hostel i stayed in surfers and was great. close to beach and has a great bar. would recommend staying here. And while in town hit up a bar called cheeky monkeys this place is fun

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Awesome to hear you had a great time at AQ, thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#26 of 65 in Byron Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Property: Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aquarius Backpackers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing