We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Byron”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've stayed in 3 different hostels in Byron but Aquarius was by far the best of them all. If you buy a drink in the bar you get a free meal. The meal itself is very decent and the portions are really good, this is also a great way of meeting new people since everybody eats here.
On the day you check in you get a welcomedrink together with the other people that checked in that day. Games most of the nights in the bar are good fun aswell since you usually end up playing them with the people at the table you ate with.
The rooms are very decent, nothing special but they get cleaned every day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Cheers for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Aquarius Backpackers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 328 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Best hostel I've stayed in. Have been in Oz since October so have been to plenty of hostels but this has to be the best. Very clean, friendly, helpful, great dinner deal, happy hour, courtousy bus etc. I know it makes a difference when you meet nice people and I had great company in my dorm as well. I would have loved to stay longer but unfortunately had to travel on. Would defo recommend staying here if you like a few drinks, partying, meeting people. Also they let you stay around and use facilities of hostel after you've checked out if you're getting late bus. They even gave us an free meal even tho we had checked out that Morning. Personally I have nothing bad to say about this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Does85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Good to hear you had a great stay, thanks for the positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed at Aquarius during Easter break 2012, had a good time there.
My friends and I were sharing the room with 6 other girls. The dorm isn't the cleanest dorm ever but it's simple and the bed are conformable (no bed bugs or any other bad surprise) I guess it's more about the atmosphere and meeting nice travelers. The bathroom and toilets are cleaned every day though, so it's all good in the end cause no one really stay in the room.
They've got a cool swimming pool outside, a bbq area and a huge roof top.
The kitchen is very convenient and clean and the've got this awesome deal with their free dinner, you get a huge plate of good old food, pasta, chili con carne, mix veg...etc if you purchase one drink (and they've got plently of cheap drinks).
The staff is very helpful and nice, they showed us the place to go and what to do around Byron.
The best part is definitely the evening where they've got something on every night -at least during the Easter break- games, karaoke, challenges, it's really good and entertaining. We met so many people during this weekend.
I'd definitely recommend this backpacker to travelers and easy-going people but maybe not to a family who is looking for a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FROG IN OZZ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Having fun is the best part of traveling, it's good to hear we put on a good show for you. At the moment we are freshening up all our rooms with new flooring, paint and curtains....so hopefully next visit you should be pleasantly suprised......that doesn't mean you should spend all your holiday in the room though, the best facility we will ever have is one of the most beautiful beaches in Australia on our doorstep! Cheers for the positive feedback, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights.
Nicely located in Bryon.
Staff were very friendly. You get a free drink drink and dinner vouchers when you arrive.
The pub was fun- and they have raffles. When we were there they had a raffle for a free skydive which my bf won which was great fun..

On the downside we booked into a double room and its really not worth the money as it in the dorm but a room off it. Very strange.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJeffs203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Good to hear you had a great stay, well done on winning the skydive too. The type of double you stayed in is what we call a backpacker double and is the most budget option for couples or friends that want a little more privacy then sharing in a dorm. The lockable room of the side of the dorm is probably not suitable for everyone but is pretty good value for on average $5 more each on top of a basic dorm bed. We do also have a range of motel rooms with ensuites, some even have spa baths.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place used to be a motel and still feels that way. I stayed in a girls dorm which was split over 2 levels and very spacious. The location is good and very close to the beach as well as the centre of town.
There is a pool table and outdoor areas and a very good kitchen (byo dishes or pay a deposit). There was fun stuff organised by the hostel every night when I was there eg karaoke, as well as a free dinner if you buy a drink!
Unfortunately there were some pretty undesirable characters who came to the hostel at night and were causing trouble which created a nasty atmosphere.
One of the ladies at reception was extremely rude and reminded me of an ex police officer! The rest of the staff were hit and miss, one guy was lovely but some were very rude.
WIFI is a total rip off - $5 a day, crazy!!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
Thank Sheenatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Aquarius motel is a welcoming oasis for the weary traveller. Three of us landed in weary after three days traveling. we were given a fab room with a hot tub and balcony. It has a great relaxed atmosphere and we left a couple of days later totally recharged.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Awesome location and great staff, my girlfriend and I found it offered the right mix of clean facilities and great entertainment and Byron Bay is so gorgeous....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyB579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $42 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aquarius Backpackers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing