We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for mingling and meeting new people but could do with a little TLC!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for mingling and meeting new people but could do with a little TLC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We arrived in Byron at 9pm on the Greyhound, Aquaruis were meant to be there to pick us up but were not! So after funding our way from a map in lonely planet, we eventually arrived to be greeted by a chirpy security man! They have then in from 9pm every night apparently.

Our double room (F2) was very small and very hot, we later discovered was even worse when the sun comes up.. no air con so the fan just kinda moves the hot air around! Dire actually! But it did have s balcony overlooking the outside bar area and pool which was nice.

The place is quite big with Internet access, but quite pricey. Bar, restaurant; good deals on drinks and kareoke nights. Also free meals some nights when you buy a drink. They also do good cheap trips to Nimbin and staff and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    86
    51
    24
    20
See reviews for
5
57
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

There was only the two of us , but we decided to go wild and go for a one bed apartment . Very roomy , small kitchen area , great bathroom and a decent size balcony !! What more could you ask for .
The room was older , but clean and nice and large. So far so good .
Went down to the bar the first evening to get our free meal , all you had to do was buy a drink . It was happy hour , the jug of beer cost us $9, a bargain, and the two free meals were excellent !! Just couldn't believe it , and yes the next night the food was equally as good . A totally professionally run hostel / motel. With its central location to Byron bay it really must be hard to beat. Would totally recomend it . Happy travelling!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great staff, busy hostel. Has lots going on with bar onsite. Free meals every night was a bonus! Close to town, beach and bus stop!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Great hostel. Activities on every night, a free walking tour on the Tuesday, big kitchen with plenty of equipment, prizes to be won and a free dinner every night (as long as you buy a drink). Cheap local beer and close to the beach and bars/clubs. The staff were helpful and friendly. Spacious dorms with balcony, only downside was one toilet and shower to share between 8. One of the very best backpackers I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank domors89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed there for two nights in the "motel" part of the building. The room was terrible - claustophobic, small with smelly wodden walls and dusty fitted carpet. With a small dusty fan in the corner. Terrible!

The "motel" is more expensive but is has nothing to do with better accomodation. It's much worse than the hostel section, still more expensive. Almost all windows have pool viev = crazy party untill late hours. Your choice is - close the window and to die from hot, or to open the window and not to sleep untill the party is over.

Two nice things I could say about this place - nice deals with free meals (buy drink, get meal free, animations) and quite good localisation. If you want to party hard - this is a place for you.

I would not recommend it to couples. Higher prices for motel are misleading!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here, the bar and restaurant were great it's the perfect place to meet other backpackers. Staff are really helpful and it's very clean. The only thing I didn't like was the ensuite bathroom, one toilet and shower between 10 people isn't enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

I just stayed 2 nights, still had a good time! Nothing to complain about! Good place to stay at!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#3 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#36 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
1.1 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Property: Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing