We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Prestwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Try the interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Fancy staying in a bus, a wagon or a teepee then this is the place to stay.
Stayed here in 2007 and it was amazing. So much art, lizards and fun.
Try the funky Workshops which include Didgeridoo Making and Yoga.
There's a pool, live music, cafe, bar and trips desk.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    146
    101
    57
    52
See reviews for
4
95
121
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Went there for the start of our pub crawl around Byron, Seemed really nice and laid back

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I arrived at the Arts Factory and wasn't sure if I would like it. This however changed right away after check in. The staff were very very friendly (was short on cash and the atm didn't work - was no problem, no rush, let us know when you have it). They even showed me to my room and helped carrying my suitcase - if that ain't service, what is?! Extremely good atmosphere - great to meet new people! Only "downside" is that it is quite far out of Byron Bay's city centre but they fixed that problem with a shuttle bus that runs all day and most of the night. Loved it, thanks!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaya_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

A group of us decided to camp in the Arts Factory during Bluesfest for 5 nights. When we arrived we were told there would be a bus service that would take guests directly from the hostel to the festival site for $16 return with buses running every 2 hours. We also asked about how much it would cost if we walked into town and got a bus from the main bus stop there - the woman from reception told us "probably around $20 return". However, when we went into Byron Bay Town we discovered that they were running a regular shuttle bus for only $8 return! The Arts Factory must have realised they were massively overcharging guests for the service so they dropped their price down to a $10 return. The second night we turned up for the scheduled 8pm hostel bus to the festival only to discover that it had been cancelled. No-one had informed us that it would be cancelled and when reception called to ask the bus driver if he could turn up he said he was eating his dinner. Eventually the bus driver turned up and was very angry with one of our group who said that it wasn't fair to advertise a bus service and then cancel it at the last minute. At one point the bus driver actually stepped in front of the member of our group and asked the woman at reception not to sell any of us tickets as he felt we would be a 'problem'. The matter was resolved and we managed to get a bus out to the festival although we were informed (a number of times) by the bus driver that we would not be allowed to get the last bus back and would have to arrange our own transport.

Overall I found the Arts Factory a complete contradiction to the 'free loving, hippie' vibe that it tries to convey. You are charged for everything (down to deposits for frying pans!!) and you can even make your own didgeridoo - and pay $165 dollars for the pleasure of doing so. I will say that they do provide a wide range of facilities (pool, cinema, games room etc) but the communal areas are dirty and you do not get what you pay for. Next time I come to Byron Bay I will definitely not be staying at the Arts Factory.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunsea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

world
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

I spent in Arts Factory 3 nights in the Love Shack and it was disgusting...very dirty everywhere especially in the kitchen...I would call it "animal" factory. You must pay for everything, I found ridiculous to pay 2 dollars all the time you want a fresh towel. Internet is very expensive as it is all over Australia. It is not very close to Byron Bay town and the smelly shuttle was useless...in Byron you can find better and better accommodation.. maybe a bit more expensive but not so dirty for sure

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

After hearing multiple people rave about Arts Factory as I traveled through Australia, I booked three nights here. From the moment my friend and I arrived, I was ready to leave. Yes, there's live music -- at the bar across the parking lot. I was expecting more activities, concerts and attractions. Instead, there was a one-night talent show (that was fantastic) and one art class offered a day.

We stayed in the Lakeside Cottage, which had cockroaches everywhere. During a rainy day when it wasn't possible to go the beach, there was absolutely nothing to do at the hostel. No classes, no entertainment, not even a proper lounge area. This was the most expensive place I stayed at during two months Down Under and it was, by far, the worst. There are plenty of places to choose from in Byron Bay. Don't stay at Arts Factory.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dctravelexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

If you decide to stop over in Byron Bay this is most def the hostel I would recomend. They have different typ of housings and you are best of booking ahead since it's a popular place to stay. It's about 10 min walk from city centre and they have little mini shuttle busses running for when you arrive and even if you're out late at night. Probably the coolest place in Byron Bay to stay at.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FannyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#3 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.5 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.8 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#27 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing