We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to be joking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You have got to be joking!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

$50 to share a stinking dog box with 5 others (mine was to be the top bunk nearest the door and the blasting bar!??????) Now that would be hauling you in $300 per one of your 15? stinking rooms =$4500 at least per night! Would this not allow you to 'pay' staff to help combat your queues at reception and the stench in the loos?
As I opened the door to this hovel, I was knocked out by the smell, got stretchered off for first aid in my sons van and obviously didn't stay the night.
What are you thinking cobbers?...and your responses to other deeply shocked reviewers are just deluded.
Beware the power of trip advisor reviews...your demise will be swift if you do not stop upsetting many people with your appaulling rip off establishment. Good luck!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Portobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for your review Portobello. Sorry to hear the experience was not to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    157
    110
    64
    56
See reviews for
6
101
138
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

i stayed at their lake cottage last week. it wasnt very good since we had heaps of cockroaches! the staff sprayed during the day which helped but we had all that chemical stuff in the room and -had to- sleep in it! one girl had to cough all night! i asked for a discount since the room was over $40 a night! for that much money for a hostel I do expect a little more... but they were not accomondating at all!
their reputation is so much better than the hostel actually is

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Mellie,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear your experience was not what you expected, and I remember the problem with the bugs, which unfortunately can be bad sometimes in summer as the cottage is located among tropical gardens. If we weren't not absolutely full at this time of you, you would have been happy to move you. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not like this hostel at all, we hae stayed in many around the world and this is the worst,
the positives - staff were great, and they have a free by that collects you from the bus stop and try have a Onsite cafe which seemed very popular.

Negatives - it was soooo dirty not just others mess but it was filthy we couldn't even consider makin a thing in there kitchen in was that bad and when we made a cup of tea there were just flies everywhere :( the fridges (there were 5) were so packed full if stuff tht we could not fit our stuff anywhere, luckily our islander retreat room wasn't so bad but it was over a horrid pond so there was mozzies everywhere, there were only four toilets and showers for everyone and there were over 100 people there as they were filthy - knickers left there clothes hanging it was just not clean :(

This place was so overcrowded it made it awful I can I gone long ago it was nice but there are dorm rooms, islander retreats, teepee's, and a camp site which was packed, there were just to many people here for the facilities to cope what a disappointment for nomads
We will not be returning, also there seemed to be no one controlling the noise most nights there were people up until the very early hours 4-5am still singing making noise and no one seemed bothered, we travelled as a couple and like to mix and meet people but these are not the sort if people you can mix with. On our first day we asked a member. Staff advice on things to do and ah said get drunk ad stoned :( don't waste your money stay somewhere In town.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahkatie1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear SarahKatie,

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately January is absolute peak season for us, and we are crammed to capacity. It is very hard to try keep on top of the kitchens, even through they get cleaned twice daily and checked and tidied hourly, we still cannot keep on top of it. The bathrooms get cleaned 3 times a day as well. Unfortunately with a hostel our size, it is the nature of the beast to try keep on top of bathrooms and kitchens in peak period. Happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Let me start by saying the reviews before mine rating it 1/2 stars are completely unfair. You need to be clear before you book The Arts Factory what type of hostel it is. These people are rating a hostel based on something it's not, therefore setting it up to fail before even arriving. Pointless for all involved. The Arts Factory is like no other hostel I have stayed in and that's what made it great. It's funky, rustic, hippy, alternative etc. It is not a boring standard YHA. It has a young crowd that like to party, there's lots of noise until midnight most nights, the rooms are based around all the social areas i.e pool, seating area, kitchen etc. It served reasonable food at a reasonable price, it's open for really long hours and you can take it back to your room. There is a lake in the middle of the resort, it's natural not man made and can smell a bit due to natural occurrences. It's very pretty and very relaxing and there's plenty of seating around it. There is a complimentary shuttle that takes you into town every 10 minutes until late. In my opinion you only really need to take this if you are carrying bags, town is less than a 10 minute walk away as well as the beach. My only reason for giving Arts Factory 4 stars instead of 5 is down to some bits being run down. The bathrooms need sprucing up and the indoor seats need replacing as most of them are torn, damaged and stained. A few minor improvements and this place could be a 5 star hostel. To all that are considering staying here do your research! If you like a quiet night in a standard hostel in a normal room then maybe Arts isn't the place for you. If not, you'll love it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeypot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Honey pot - you rock our world! We get so slammed on trip advisor and for all the wrong reasons! We are a budget hostel located 10 minutes out of town, and what we lack in comfort we make up for with loads of activities and workshops we offer for free. We are working our way through upgrading facilities, just this week we re-covered the Big Teepee and late last year all the Island Retreats were refurbished. We will continue to upgrade and improve all facilities ongoing. Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we get a little disheartened with how much we get slammed - because after all, we are 20 years old, a long term business in Byron Bay that have hosted hundreds of thousands of guests, many who keep coming back for more! We must be doing something right! Happy travels to you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We had booked into a "deluxe double tent with lake view", which turned out to be a crappy teepee by a stinking pond with not much more than a bed inside. Considering that we paid 85 bucks for it, that is ridiculous. Apart from that, it is far from the city center and the beach as well.
Bathrooms were far away from our tent and not particularly clean.
On top of that, fellow guests all seemed to be night owls staying up late and literally screaming. Either that continued till 7 in the morning or the first noisy people were up again.
Our very unpleasant stay didn't even start on time, when we arrived at half 1, we were rudely advised that check-in isn't till 2, which would have been fine if there hadn't been a line of people by then as a result of staff not being able to get their job done. So it took us forever to check in.
Finally, we would definitely not recommend staying here, if you wanna sleep in an overpriced room, at least stay in the heart of the city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for your review Cornelia,
I do not know where we are advertising a "deluxe double tent with lake view", as to my knowledge this is not advertised any where? Yes check in is 2pm, same as most places all over the world, and yes - if you choose to check in at 2pm, it is the busiest possible time, so you will be waiting with a lot of other people. I am not sure how that the staff "can't get the job done", they are just trying to get through a line of 50 plus people to check in, which is really stressful and a lot of work. It does not mean they can't do their job, it just makes it harder for them in peak season with a large number of people to process. The price of the room is the same as every where else in Byron, as if we would be charging so much more? I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, it seems your problems are in keeping with a busy and popular hostel in absolute peak time. Travel advise to you Cornelia, avoid popular destinations, popular hostels at peak periods such as this. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Don't even know where to begin writing this review for this horrible hostel but here goes...
Super overpriced rooms which have no air condition, no working fans, no bathroom and no real walls - instead they have mosquito nets so don't even think about getting a full night's sleep 'cause the extremely loud bar next door will keep you up late at night. And in the morning you'll be woken up by all of the people dragging their bins and luggage around...

Bathrooms are located far away from the rooms and are super dirty.


Positive things were the people staying there and the café which had some epic stoner oriented meals going on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneralGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear general Gee,

I am so sorry you had a horrible stay, I am also sorry that you write about it instead of coming to reception when you were staying with us and telling us about your awful experience. We have a variety of rooms, some conventional with walls, and some tents and tepees. I cannot do anything to help about a broken fan or a room you don't like after your stay. It is always better to let reception now you would like to change rooms. Happy travels to you Gee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of my best of the Australian East Coast. Good vibes, good people. I have been there few years ago and I cstill have great memoirs of my experience.
recommended to lonely-travellers
I will be back there one day..

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank beangiorgio33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much Beangiorgio for your kind words and encouraging response! We have recently been slammed badly, and I think it is because people do not get what the Arts Factory is about. I am so glad you have stayed before and will stay again - you will always be welcome with open arms! As you know, that is what the Arts Factory is all about. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#26 of 65 in Byron Bay
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing