We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captures the Byron Bay spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect from the Arts Factory Lodge and when we pulled up outside it looked like a hippy commune but we soon found out it captures the spirit of Byron Bay perfectly. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and drew our attention to the rules which were clearly displayed in reception. They also repeated the instructions that the smoke alarms in the rooms are super sensitive and spraying anything or using a hair dryer would set them off and result in an $800 fine (which seemed a bit steep!). They gave us info on the free shuttle bus whichs runs to town and back hourly throughout the day and night. It is a 15 min walk along residential streets which we did in the evening with no problems but you probably wouldnt want to walk it alone. 

We had booked a private double which they called a 'cube' and are all situated around the pool. We were apprehensive about noise but they have a strict communal areas curfew of 10pm with no noise after 11pm. Our room was small but very nicely decorated with a mural painted on the wall and bright coloured curtains and bed linen. The shared bathrooms were very clean and well looked after as was the kitchen. We didn't actually cook in there but you had to pay a deposit for cutlery and pans etc which we assume means people would take more care of them to get their money back. We ate breakfast at the cafe and I can highly recommend the banana pancakes with maple syrup and the coffee was great too. The outside seating area overlooks the jungle camping and we watched bush turkeys and water dragons as we ate. Overall a lovely stay at the Arts Factory Lodge, the only downside was as didn't get a chance to go in the brewery and bar onsite. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. 

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 643 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hostel is everything like a festival. It's a bit too pricy to go to, the camping is just madness, all the people are the happiest, friendliest, most social and most intoxicated people you'll meet, there's an amazing atmosphere and loads of activities going on, it's not in the center of the city, the food's a bit over-priced.... The only thing not similar to a festival is that it has a swimming pool. I kept on coming back, it's the 'negative sides' that give this place a grungier feel... but it could still be a whole lot cheaper

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ_Delbecque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

can't really rate the dorms as I booked a private tent with a double size mattress! The layout is cool and you get to meet a few reptiles and various wildlife! Friendly staff and great atmosphere to socialise with!!
The place might be a bit far from all the shops and bars but they have courtesy bus to get you around

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacpacpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for four nights whilst travelling along the East Coast. Price was fairly average for Australia (about $20 for myself) and the facilities were fairly decent if a little crowded at times. Cafe sells awesome cooked meals for $5 which were good for filling a hole. The bar at the lodge is run by a micro brewery and has some of the best and cheapest beer (during happy hour) I had whilst in Australia. One of the best aspects was the vibe and atmosphere here which was very laid back and friendly, although may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Arts Factory is a very cool, laid back hostel, camping ground and has a great outside live music deck and bar. It's only a 5-10 minute walk to town and beach which is so handy but also nice to just be that little bit outside the mass of people on busy days.
The new little cafe inside has great coffee and food. Everyone was really friendly and it oozes the laid back Byron hippy charm. So nice to see a place like this around that still exists.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Club59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

this place is an original- with a relaxed atmosphere- everything you could want, and then just a little bit more! it is friendly, relaxed, safe and fun- go and enjoy yourself! There are all kinds of activities too, for free, that you can join in on- from one extreme to the other!

Room Tip: get a 'cube' best option :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here couple times now, love it! If your going to Byron this is the place to stay. Its a short walk into main street but totally worth it there are shuttle into town. If you don't mind sharing rooms then go for the tee-pee! Friendly staff, everythings clean including pool and rooms, Love the hammocks and the chill out atmosphere. Cafe little expensive but thats byron for ya. I was recommended this backpacker and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Teepee is great fun or the wagon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#13 of 34 in Byron Bay
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
#34 of 66 in Byron Bay
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#8 of 66 in Byron Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 66 in Byron Bay
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#27 of 66 in Byron Bay
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Backpackers Holiday Village
#10 of 66 in Byron Bay
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $47 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing