We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine your dream holiday to Byron Bay”
Review of Cavvanbah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavvanbah
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Clean, comfortable and convenient. Amazing location within walking distance to Byron and right on the beach oh and the bath....heaven. Check out my full review and pics here: http://temptingalice.com/wonderland/imagine-your-dream-holiday-to-byron-bay/

Room Tip: It depends what you are after. I stayed at Gypsy which was perfect for my needs but if you are after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirraCheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 111 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Initially the property was very difficult to find. The street is split in 2 with a section in between that you cannot drive through so we spent quite a lot of time looking at the wrong end of the street. When we tried the other end of the street it was still difficult to find because there is a big wall across the front of the property with no sign writing on it. We eventually rang the phone number and spoke to someone very helpful who gave us the gate code to get in and instructions to access our unit but I think this information together with directions should have been provided when booking. We stayed in April Sun which was lovely, modern with all facilities you could need but quite small for the price. The pool area was very nice but unfortunately when we were there it was pouring rain. It's a bit far to walk to the main part of town but apparently there is a gate through to the beach but again because of the rain we didn't see it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knelly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Cavvanbah is in the perfect spot to leave the car parked and take a leisurely stroll into town or to the beach, whilst also being able to relax in modern style and comfort, without the hustle and bustle of Byron intruding on quiet time. The property owners are exceptionally helpful and friendly and the amenities are thoughtful and very well appointed.

We had everything we needed at the Cavvanbah, our "home away from home" and will definitely look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cavvanbah in the Yarrawarra apartment for 1 week and loved every minute. The place is new and has been so well thought out when it was built and in such a good location. There is a path straight to the beach, a beautiful pool and only 5min walk to the main street. It's nice and quiet so you can hear the ocean at night and you get a beautiful sea breeze. The rooms have the best of everything that you need for your stay. Tarek the owner is great and makes you feel welcome. Cannot say enough good things about Cavvanbah. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri9478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Pros
Very clean
Efficient friendly service although no onsite staff.
Great technology in room - impressed with Thunderbolt to HDMI wall input from my mac to the tv.
Lovely pool.
Short walk to beach over the back and into town.
Quiet and intimate.

Cons
No airconditioning - which although turned out fine for our stay, may have been a disaster had it been hot. Our 4 month old does not sleep in heat.
Lots of mosquito's from the bush land over the back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottdamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavvanbah, Owner at Cavvanbah, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind compliments.

I would like to take this opportunity to write something on the topic of air conditioning.

There is a very good reason why our guest did not require air conditioning for his stay in the peak of summer (perhaps one of our hottest weeks). It is due to the way Cavvanbah has been architecturally designed.

As Cavvanbah is a brand new structure, we had the advantage of architecturally designing each Pavilion with modern design techniques to reflect modern thinking including keeping each Pavilion naturally cool.

Part of the architectural brief was to design each Pavilion to be cool in summer without the reliance on artificial air. There are obvious health and social reasons for this.

Our clever architects came up with a design that captures the prevailing north east summer winds through the large triple stack sliding doors and cross ventilate them to allow even the slightest breeze to pass through each structure.

When these doors are open, more than 70% of your seaward facing walls are open.

As Cavvanbah is only footsteps from the ocean and uniquely orientated to the north, these north east winds are cooled as they move across the surface of the ocean just before they pass through Cavvanbah. A very cool, natural and soothing breeze - naturally cooled by the ocean.

The design trick was to capture this cool air and cross ventilate the breeze through each structure.

This design element coupled with ceiling fans and significant heat reduction through double ceiling insulation (and wall insulation) has created a very cool summer living environment.

It is satisfying to hear our guest didn’t need air conditioning during his stay in the peak of summer. In fact my own personal surveying of guests (quite often coming from cool parts of the world) is that most never even noticed and were delighted they could cool off naturally and most importantly, effectively.

A testimony to good design is that the best features are invisible.

With regards to mosquitoes, this is a normal occurrence all over Byron Bay as a consequence of summer rain. Although we are lucky to have fewer mosquitoes at Cavvanbah than other locations in Byron due to the sea breeze mentioned naturally retarding mosquitoes, we take no chance with guest comfort and have all our Pavilions enclosed with high quality Stainless Steel Screen Mesh to keep the bugs out and the delightful cool air flowing through.

Thank you for this opportunity to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at Cavvanbah for a girls weekend in early February and could not have had a better time... The accommodation is furnished to the absolute highest standards and all the materials used are of the highest spec, it just oozes luxury... The lights at night are out of this world...The pool area is simply stunning, we spent the whole day there on the Saturday unintentionally as we just couldn't bring ourselves to venture out... The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk to bustling Byron, but so tranquil at night that you cannot hear anything other than the sea...

Tarek the owner could not have been more accommodating and obviously takes great pride in these beautiful apartments... Anything is possible at Cavvanbah!

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who is looking for some R & R, it is just perfect... We are already planning our next trip!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have to say I have stayed in many places in Byron but Cavvanbah would have to be the best it has everything and not as noisy as the centre of town and a great short walk into town if you want to venture in.. access to the beach by the back was excellent as well I look forward to visiting again well worth it.

The owner seemed so lovely as well thank you Tarek for a wonderful stay...

Louis

Room Tip: the room we stayed in was excellent gypsy next to the pool and access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.7 mi away
A Beach House At Byron
A Beach House At Byron
#31 of 34 in Byron Bay
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavvanbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavvanbah

Address: 1 Cavvanbah St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: $198 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavvanbah 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavvanbah is Micro Resort with 3 Queen Villas and 1 Penthouse Villa right in the heart of Byron Bay and literally Footsteps from Byron Bay's main beaches. Cavvanbah offers direct beach access. The property is private and quite and landscaped with tropical plants. There is a stunning swimming pool area with sun lounges and a spa seat. Completed in April 2012, each Queen Villa and the Penthouse Villa have been architecturally designed with open plan living, seamlessly integrating indoor and outdoor spaces. Each private Villa has it's own outdoor Bali bath and the Penthouse Villa has an outdoor bathroom. Cavvanbah was the original name of Byron Bay. An aboriginal word that means - "the meeting place" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavvanbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing