We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought the staff was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2009

For all of the other reviews about staff, that was the best part of this hostel, for us. We (2 adults and 2 small children) were migrating north as we were flying home in a few days. We started looking for a place to stay a little too late in the evening and everything was full from Ballina to Lennox Head. We stopped here ready to settle for anything. Although the backpacker was full the staff opened an apartment next door that was technically closed. They brought over an extra mattress. We even had a private place to park our car. Full kitchen and TV. The price was less than 4 individual beds. We kept to ourselves on our side and let the 20 somethings do their thing on the other side. I remember being them. Never a problem for us or our kids. The point is the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us.
The other reviews are correct in that the place is a backpacker hostel in every sense. Be young and care free or don't be picky. Fun place to stay, long walk to the beach, seemed safe and secure. I said I would recommend this place to a friend, but it would be a young friend looking for fun.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 427 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2009

Maybe we've been spoilt throughout our round the world trip, but this hostel was disgusting for us. If you're looking for a true backpackers party hostel, then you've found your place. If you're looking for somewhere that is remotely clean, with good reception staff, then keep looking in Byron Bay.

We stayed here only because a friend strongly recommended it. We called 3 weeks prior to arriving and they said 'we're too busy right now to plan so far in advance, call back in the new year'. So we called on January 1st, again they said... it's too early, call again after the 3rd but don't worry there will be room (we were arriving on the 5th bear in mind). We called on the 2nd just to be keeners and we were told it was fully booked, sorry you didn't have a reservation! But we tried everything in our power to get one.

Because it was last minute at this point, we couldn't get in anywhere else and had to spend a night just down the road in Ballina.

We finally arrived at Holiday Village and were checked into our 3 bedroom dorm room. When we were given the keys, the room was in horrible shape, it looked like a bomb went off... more likely it was the result of an extremely grubby guy (though par for the course at Holiday Village) that had just emerged minutes before.

The hostel is definately fun, there is a huge outside table where they serve free boxed wine. The bathrooms open out to the main area so you get a constant view of people just finished from the bathroom and half dressed. It's also located right across from Cheeky Monkeys, a dance of the table, no holds bar pub that is a quite a lot of fun.

The location is pretty much the furthest place away from the beach though thankfully the town is quite cool and chill to hang out in.

Pros: fun place, free parking
Cons: dirty, no wifi, bad staff, bad reservation system

The bathrooms were in horrible shape, the room dirty even after being cleaned, and the reservation system was a disaster. I recommend all to steer well clear of this place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This hostel was great! Located right opposite cheeky monkeys, a very cheesy but fun bar which attracts all backpackers under the age of 28 for its cheap drinks and insane themed nights. If however that kind of thing does not float your boat, do not stay at this hostel because it is full of people coming back late and partying in their rooms!
The rooms themselves are very spacious which is great and tend to attract a very fun crowd. Only small drawback was no en-suite toilets or showers which means a trip outside if you need to go at night, not so much fun!
The kitchen was clean and large, and there was a t.v room and a great selection of films to rent. Good location, great atmosphere, and generally accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natonthenet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Village Hostel was more like staying on an out of control school camp. I had booked a private room for a one-night stay in beautiful Byron Bay. On booking I was advised the kitchen and bathroom would be shared with another room. I have stayed at many hostels and thought this would be suitable. The private room had the bare necessities – a bed and rusty fan. All fine. The room joining the kitchen was a communal room with bunks to sleep four. Because the rooms share a private kitchen and lounge area the guests in the communal room decided it was their right to party in this SHARED space. I understand that most travelers would be more reasonable however these particular animals had absolutely NO RESPECT. The staff were advised of the situation at the time but did not attend the premises to enforce any restriction on the level of noise allowed and so basically the travelers and their guests continued to party until 6am. In the morning the kitchen and lounge were absolutely trashed with empty bottles, cigarette butts and food. There was no possible way of even using the kitchen facilities, it was disgusting.
I would NOT stay here. A hostel is meant to be a friendly, safe and enjoyable environment. The Holiday Village Hostel is literally run by the backpackers, which is fine if all you want to do is get completely wasted all night and sleep all day!
The staff show absolutely no authority or interest in ensuring the safety and well being of their guests. However they are happy to take your money. If you want to enjoy Byron Bay during the day – do not stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourne161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We came to the Holiday Village for 2 nights, after an interesting stay at the nearby bohemian Arts Factory. It was a huge relief to walk back in to hostel normality!!!

The staff here were amazing, very helpful and friendly, especially because we had real trouble booking as, unbeknown to us, we had turned up in Byron on the busiest weekend of the year, when the Splendour in the Grass festival takes place. They were always full of advice and information when we went to the check-in desk, and came to the beach with us on their time off.

We very much liked our room, an 8-bed dorm with a huge mirror, loads of space and comfy beds. The space was incredible as it meant we could spread our stuff out without hassling anybody else too much.

The hostel is well located, a really short walk to the main town.

It has an amazing TV room - well stocked with DVDs!! We chose Finding Nemo, after being inspired on a trip out to the reef!

Showers were clean and nice.

All in all, we very much appreciated the friendly staff, and clean, normal atmosphere!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank minimyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

We originally booked into a double room, but ended up moving to a 8 share apartement.

The doubles are totalyl bare - bed , fan and thats it. As all the hostel rooms are motel style, set around a courtyard, you have to walk ouytside at night to get to the toilet / kitchen (which they shut at 10) The place was very clean though, and most of the staff were friendly (I say most, as there were some who were horrible)

They sjut the outside common area at 10, so everyone sits in there rooms talking. It is quite loud in this hostel.

On the second night we moved to an apartement, with two rooms of 4 beds. The apartments are good, clean, and fun, and a great way to meet people.

I'd recommend this hostel for singels, backpackers, and travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Oz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Giannina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Holiday Village

Address: 116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $38 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing