We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Really good hostel, had an awesome week here together with my friend. Recommended by another friend and werent dissapointed. Just across Cheeky, fun nights and during the day a little bit of surfing (with the free board use) and laying on the beach.
Going back here for christmas as well!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the ''appartment ones'', because the dorms (4 people) were full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 430 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wasn't planning on writing a review, but after reading about my fellow countrymans experience I thought I'd write my thoughts nonetheless...

Wasn't planning on going to Byron, and when we got there all beds in the whole town were taken (apparently it gets crowded in the week ends...) including the ones at the Holiday village. I think they felt sorry for us, because they let us have the TV room for only half the price, which was excellent. The next day, we got a room and it was all good.

They've got pretty much everything you need. Internet is included, surfbords for loan etc. Saw a washer, but didn't use it. Basketball court, volleyball, pool, kitchen all there.Also a nightguard in place making sure there's no noise, but there was some coming from the streets (was a saturday though...) Other than that, good vibes and good times.

Let the hoogy doogy song commence...;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickwhatevernumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me and my buddy arrived in late October on a recommendation from a few buddies that stayed at the hostel. We were not disappointed. Marc and his staff are such kind and friendly people we felt like it was home as soon as we arrived. The rooms were well kept and the kitchen and bathroom's were great. A 2 minute walk to a grocery store is very convenient as well for the days that you just want to pick up a few things. Can't wait to get back to Byron for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Our room location was great and farther away from the "action" where people were drinking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CodyPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hired an ensuite double room for 4 nights from Thursday to Monday.
Was informed that the rate was 100 dollar pr night, and when we arrived it had went up to 110 dollar.

Asked them if it was noisy at night, and we were informed that it closed down at 10:30 and every one was asked to go out or be quit - this didnt happen.

When complaining to one of the staff about it, asking them if they could ask people to be a bit quiet, I was just informed that this is Byron Bay and I just have to expect it and, the staff was paid so poorly so they couldnt look after all 200 hundred that stayed there. Very strange way to respond to my request.

However, the rooms are clean and it is a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A clean hostel with a good kitchen, showers and all around staff that monitoring the parties close to enable the other guests to have a good sleep. In Addition you can use the Internet for free. They also pick and bring you to the Bus Station. I've wonderful memories of my stay at this Hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter. Back from swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darwinl231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here as a couple in October. We were only suppose to stay for 3 nights but ended up staying 12! We stayed in a self contained apartment at the back of the property. It had its own kitchen and private bathroom. It had a really nice chilled out atmosphere with friendly staff. We would recommend this place for people looking for budget accommodation in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the village for two months back in May and June of this year. Even after I moved into a house, I was still at the hostel almost every day visiting friends and hanging out by the pool/spa. The staff are amazingly friendly, everything is clean and accessible, including surfboards, boogie boards, bikes etc. Located a 5 minute walk away from anything in Byron Bay, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, even the beach! I would recommend this great family run hostel to anyone throughout my travels! Thanks Marc and Katie and family! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrelleAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Holiday Village

Address: 116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $23 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing