We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Holiday village”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The staff here were excellent very helpful and organised but did not enjoy the stay here. The set-up of the hostel is strange in that the common area is by the toilets and have to walk past everyone in the morning and night. The kitchen was dirty and the toilets average. Our 6 bed dorm was very hot and stuffy and the fan did not do anything apart from make a huge noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    76
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
3
60
153
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Holiday Village Hostel in Byron Bay was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Although I only planned on staying at the Village for a few days, I ended up staying at the hostel for 8 weeks. The staff make you feel like your part of the Village family as soon as you arrive. All day and night the staff ensure that everyone is enjoying their stay to the fullest. For the first week I lived in the 4 bed dorm, which is cleaned daily by staff. The kitchen, bathroom and grounds are the cleanest I have ever seen at a hostel. The rest of my stay I lived in the spacious apartments which come equipped with their own bathroom, kitchen, TV and living area.The layout of the hostel is perfect for meeting people. Holiday Village is only a five minute walk to the beach and located right beside the grocery store and across from Cheeky Monkey's (the best bar in Byron Bay). This is the place to stay if you want to have a good time in Byron Bay and be in a central location.I can't believe anyone would have anything bad to say about this place. The majority of the reviews accurately reflect the experience at holiday village. Those who speak negatively, complain about noise or partying, and who complain about the behaviour of fellow guests in their room need to remember they are choosing to stay in a hostel where accomodation is shared (news flash=people staying in hostels make noise and party). These types of people should not fault the hostel for rowdy behaviours of other travellers. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay without anyone disrupting you, you should stay in a private room or a hotel. if you are looking to be social, embrace hostel life and make the most out of your experience meeting and interacting with new people then this is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Holiday Village has been the best hostel I have stayed on during my trip. I I was only supposed to stay for one night but ended up staying a week & i really didnt want to leave. They rooms were spotless & the beds were very comfortable. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm, it was a little on the small side & did get quiet untidy at times with everyone's bags. The large kitchen was one of the cleanest I've seen in a hostel. Also the toilets/showers were cleaned regularly, so there was no issue with sharing & I never had to wait to use the shower. The staff were very friendly & helpful definitely some of the best I've come across. The atmosphere in the hostel is very laid back & relaxed. There are free surfboards, bikes & bodyboards which is great for the backpacker on a budget. As a solo traveller I met so many people here everyone was so friendly, the common area is large & ideal for meeting other people. The only negative I would have is you have to pay a deposit for everything from a top sheet, blanket & cutlery. But other than that I would highly recommend The Holiday Village to anyone

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chica200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We did a private room with shared facilities. The shower block was clean enough and adequate so sharing is no biggie. The bed is a twin, not even a queen, so I hope you like spoons. The place is a bit dated and I've seen plenty of fancier backpackers these days for the money. I paid $100 a night, it was worth $80.

But, Canadian staff were awesome and the atmosphere friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Holiday Village has been by far the best hostel I've stayed in on the east coast! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made me feel so welcome straight away. They organise daily and evening activities for the guests, making your stay that more memorable. Its run by a lovely local family who make you feel right at home. The location is perfect, 5 minute walk to the beach with Woolworths and local bars and restaurants on its doorstep. As a solo traveller, holiday village was perfect for meeting new people. The hostel rooms are arranged around the pool with the seating area in the middle, great for socialising and having a few drinks with everyone! They also provide free bike and surfboard hire, which is great if you want to check out the surf and sites of Byron without burning a hole in your budget! If you're looking for a friendly, welcoming and memorable place to stay then Holiday Village is definitely it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron bay
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2012

i had such an amazing time at this hostel! not only was it in a prime location in the center of town 5 minute walk to the beach and right accross the road from a great nightclub, all the staff were helpful and friendly and made me feel welcome! only planned on staying a few nights but that turned into a few weeks,
the hostel is perfectly clean and a comfortable place to live in. the kitchen is cleaned twice a day everyday which is great to see, the nightlife there is amazing too everyone gathers around the tabels and partys together so you meet tonnes of people every night, so after staying at this hostel it's going to be hard to top i miss it already and gaurentee i'll be back to stay in the future

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Staying at the Holiday Village Backpackers has been the best experience of my trip to Australia and I have no doubt that it will remain so. If you're looking to have a good time, meet new friends, and feel welcome then this is the place to stay. First impressions are very important and the staff at Holiday Village are well aware of this. They are friendly, informative, and helpful. If you need to plan your trip up the coast there is a travel desk in the main office open throughout the day and the staff are more then happy to book your trip for you. The Village has a main area in the centre of the hostel where everyone gathers day and night to eat, meet new friends, and socialize. The bathrooms are by far the cleanest I've seen on my travels, and the rooms are neat and clean as well. There is always a staff member available to help out whether it's day or night. The hostel is owned by a wonderful local family who are more then happy to offer advice and knowledge to help make your stay in Byron that much better.This hostel is located on the main street and is a 5 minute walk to the beach. They offer free bike, surfboard and body board rentals which is very convenient for the budget backpacker. What made my stay the most memorable was the people I met staying here and the great atmosphere. It's impossible not to make friends. I would recommend the Holiday Village Backpackers to anyone arriving in Byron whether they are staying short or long term. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keltie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Holiday Village

Property: Backpackers Holiday Village
Address: 116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing