We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in a glorious setting!”
Review of The Summerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Summerhouse
Ranked #27 of 35 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Summerhouse Byron Bay. It is like staying in your own home, very welcoming with warm hospitality. The difference is, that it's perched on a ridge with spectacular views of the Byron lighthouse, the sea & the rolling hills.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilianaGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you did have a lovely stay at The Summerhouse. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed peak season which explains the price tag but I was a bit disappointed. The views are amazing but we weren't able to enjoy them from our room as the windows faced into the open aired dining area which meant that all the guests dining could see into our room. There was also seating right outside our window so the people sitting here sounded as if they were actually in our room. Other guests had invited friends in for dinner which meant it was very noisy and we had no wine glasses. It unfortunately wasn't the relaxing overnight stay I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bstewart007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Summerhouse. We are disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion however, New Years Eve can be a festive occasion. It is pleasing to hear that you did enjoy the views. Mark Wood - General Manager, The Summerhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had an overnight stop whilst on a road trip and found it very nice and accommodating. The staff were the friendliest I have come across so far too. The room was very nice and clean and as well the rest of the facilities throughout. The outdoor area is very nice with an excellent infinity pool with deck chairs to relax in. But the views here of Byron Bay are spectacular. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Heath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your acknowledgement of The Summerhouse staff who strive to provide high standards. We're very pleased you enjoyed the outdoor areas, we value you as our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at The Summerhouse for a long weekend in Byron Bay. The view to the ocean from the main living area was great. We didn't try out the pool however it looked nice. The breakfast was excellent especially the fresh fruit and the chef couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in the apartment on the first floor and would recommend rooms on the ground level as this room didn't have a balcony and the view was a little interrupted by the roof of the lower floor. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom nice with a large spa path.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment on the first floor and would recommend rooms on the ground level as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escape123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and The Summerhouse breakfast experience. Your kind words about the service received by our Chef is truly appreciated and have passed on your high praise. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and the bed and pillows were soooo comfortable. Janet and other staff were very welcoming and the breakfasts were brilliant with Byron fresh fruit and yoghurt. A great place to re-charge the batteries.

Room Tip: The superior suite with ensuite spa made it extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased you had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and found our staff were welcoming. Your compliments regarding the breakfasts have been passed on to The Summerhouse team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in the Superior Suite with expansive views of the pacific ocean, Byron Bay lighthouse and beaches. One of the best room views I've ever experienced at sunrise. Staff were excellent and the breakfast was an amazing selection of local Byron Bay produce.

Room Tip: Superior room was spacious with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of The Summerhouse - we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the expansive views of the pacific ocean, Byron Bay lighthouse and beaches.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse.

Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS AS A WEDDING VENUE!! The manager doubled the venue fee after we had signed a contract and paid a 25% deposit, even though there was NO clause in the contract to say it was subject to change. This would have amounted to an extra $1200. We felt completely taken advantage of and were sure there would be no end to other hidden costs. Not only that, they were extremely disorganised. I arrived for my appointment to view the property (which I confirmed earlier that day with the manager via email), and the onsite manager (who is actually very nice) had no idea who I was or why I was there. She had no idea when my wedding was. This gave me no confidence at all. Luckily we found a much bigger and brand new venue just up the road. It's a shame that the manager is so incompetent and is willing to risk the reputation of this lovely house to pocket a quick buck. I have reported the matter to the department of fair trading. DODGY DODGY DODGY.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LittleSnuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

The Summerhouse hosts many happy wedding celebrations - we are sorry on this occasion you decided to choose another venue and cancel with us four weeks from your wedding date.

A refund of your deposit was offered if your dates could be re booked, but at short notice this can be difficult.

Please note The Department of Fair Trading have advised there was no case because the cancellation period of the contract was breached.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
3.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
407 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 35 in Byron Bay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abelia House
Abelia House
#14 of 35 in Byron Bay
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Byron Retreat
0.0 mi away
Tri Byron Bay
Tri Byron Bay
#18 of 35 in Byron Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $189 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summerhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Summerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing