We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT BOOK THIS AS A WEDDING VENUE!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summerhouse
Ranked #25 of 39 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK THIS AS A WEDDING VENUE!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS AS A WEDDING VENUE!! The manager doubled the venue fee after we had signed a contract and paid a 25% deposit, even though there was NO clause in the contract to say it was subject to change. This would have amounted to an extra $1200. We felt completely taken advantage of and were sure there would be no end to other hidden costs. Not only that, they were extremely disorganised. I arrived for my appointment to view the property (which I confirmed earlier that day with the manager via email), and the onsite manager (who is actually very nice) had no idea who I was or why I was there. She had no idea when my wedding was. This gave me no confidence at all. Luckily we found a much bigger and brand new venue just up the road. It's a shame that the manager is so incompetent and is willing to risk the reputation of this lovely house to pocket a quick buck. I have reported the matter to the department of fair trading. DODGY DODGY DODGY.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LittleSnuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The Summerhouse hosts many happy wedding celebrations - we are sorry on this occasion you decided to choose another venue and cancel with us four weeks from your wedding date.

A refund of your deposit was offered if your dates could be re booked, but at short notice this can be difficult.

Please note The Department of Fair Trading have advised there was no case because the cancellation period of the contract was breached.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
42
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mitcham, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were so pleased with our Superior Suite at The Summerhouse that included a private spa, private balcony with amazing expansive view, the bed was from heaven; our Superior suite ambiance was unlike anything else I've experienced. A king room with a Moroccan style that's truly special. Service was perfect, the staff were friendly yet discreet. We stayed for a weekend that will be remembered, we look forward to returning to the stunning Summerhouse.

Room Tip: Superior Suite was quite large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My boyfriend booked the Summerhouse for our overnight stay in Byron to show my parents the area who are visiting us from Scotland. On arrival we were greeted by Ailsa who showed us around the house and to our two rooms. My parents stayed in the deluxe room and we stayed in the luxury. Both very clean and spacious with stunning views of the bay.Although we were sharing the house with 3 other couples, most of the time it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The communal area was lovely with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. Relaxing music being played throughout the day was a nice touch. When we went for a shower before heading out for dinner we discovered that our room had no hot water. Luckily we had access to my parents room to shower in. My boyfriend emailed Mark the manager who had the water fixed while we were out and so we had a hot shower for the morning. Very prompt service there which impressed us greatly! When we returned from dinner in the town noone was around and the 4 of us enjoyed the outdoor seating area with a few drinks. Breakfast did not have a huge selection: a table with muesli, a plate of fruit, water, fresh oj, milk and yoghurt. All tasty but could maybe benefit from pastries and cereals being added. Our rate included a hot breakfast which is usually $10 extra. It changes every morning and for us it was eggs any style with smoked salmon on an english muffin which myself, my boyfriend and my mum all enjoyed. My dad doesnt like eggs, salmon or muesli but Jean the chef made him toast when he requested it no problem at all. The fresh barista coffee was lovely and even had soy for me!

All in all the Summerhouse was a beautiful place to stay even if it was only for the night. All the staff we encountered were friendly and any problems were quickly and efficiently rectified. Will definitely be back next time we stay in Byron!

Room Tip: The two rooms we stayed on were on opposite sides of the house but both had views of the Bay and dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of The Summerhouse - we are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry you experienced issues with the hot water in your room, however we are glad we were able to rectify this quickly and that you were impressed by how the situation was handled.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse next time you are in Byron Bay!

Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great time at the Summerhouse! Mark, the Manager, is very friendly and made sure everything was taken care of. The place itself is gorgeous... beautiful big kitchen and balcony that overlooks the bay. It's a $18 taxi into town but that didn't prove to be an issue for us. Really friendly staff that made us some delicious breakfasts. The free muesli and freshly squeezed orange juice is fantastic as well! Definitely would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Summerhouse - we are delighted to receive such a high rating.

We are glad to hear to hear you were pleased with the accommodation and breakfast and found our staff friendly.

Thank you for your recommendation to friends and family, we hope to welcome you back to The Summerhouse in the near future.

Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in the luxury room at the Summerhouse for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The house is about 10 minutes drive from Byron town, so close enough to head back into town for dinner or to the beach for the day. Just keep in mind its a little too far to walk so a cab will cost you between $17-$20 if you want to leave the car behind to have a couple of drinks. The house is Tuscan style & situated on a hill with absolutely stunning views. It's nice to sit out on the back deck and have a quiet glass of wine and take in the serenity. Pros - stunning views, clean, friendly staff. They don't hang around so you still have your privacy. Breakfast was included and was better than we expected. Included is tea, coffee (real not instant), fresh fruit platter, a choice of three mueslis, which was enough for us. They had soy milk and gluten free options so just let them know on arrival. You can have a hot breakfast for $10 extra. Cons - our room was next to the kitchen so at 7am each morning you can hear the chef preparing for breakfast. The blinds didn't block out the light that well so if you're a light sleeper you might be up with the sun. The bed was "king" however it was just two singles pushed together so you could feel the join in the middle of the bed so if you want to snuggle together you're squished to one side.
Overall though really happy with our stay and would recommend to friends. Check out Killen falls while you are there, it's about 20 mins drive away and worth a look. You can walk down the dirt track to the bottom of the water fall & if you climb over a few rocks you can sit underneath. It's really peaceful.. just watch the mosquitos if you hang around for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review after your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Luxury Room and the magnificent views from the property.

We are sorry to hear the bed was not to your satisfaction and apologise for any impact this may have had on your sleep. We are thrilled to announce we have recently added a thick feather 'topper' to our beds and have already had very positive feedback regarding the added comfort.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this has allowed is to make positive changes to our service at The Summerhouse.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trat
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I arrived late at night after a day-long ordeal with Jetstar bungles and consequential stuff up with a hire car. I was stressed to the max. The owner Mark had a bottle of complimentary champagne on ice in no time and duck pancakes delivered to my room. They were the best duck pancakes I've ever tasted! The room was quite small and did not have a bathtub, but it had a divine little verandah with spectacular views. The dining area is the piece de resistance however. There is a large balcony with an array of furniture including divinely comfortable sofas. I saw a few stressed city girls like myself curled up on them last night, reading contentedly under the fluffy cream rugs that are in the rooms. I have claimed the sofa today and am blissed out. Occasionally the friendly staff ask if there is anything they can get me. It is not that anonymous 5-star hotel service where the staff look blankly through you. The staff seem to be mainly English and I suspect they don't have a massive amount of hospitality experience. But what they lack in experience they make up for in friendliness and willingness to serve. In spades. It's divine. I hope to come again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thailandtraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Summerhouse in Byron Bay has stolen our hearts.
My husband and I have just spent four days in this little piece of heaven. To stay just five minutes out of Byron Bay and have a view of the lush countryside, the Lighthouse and the coastline is very special indeed.
The Summerhouse is a very stylish Guesthouse and our room (Premier) was beautifully appointed with a superb bed and lovely private terrace for total R&R.
The Staff are friendly, professional and full of local knowledge. We were actually lucky enough to be there at the same time as the Owner. He had made a hearty minestrone soup from locally grown market vegetables and very kindly one evening offered each of us a bowl.
A special moment for sure!

It was really lovely to walk into the sunny, open living area filled with delightful and well chosen music.
Breakfast on the pool terrace with that spectacular view was wonderful.
After a healthy breakfast, with the daily paper, a great cup of coffee and delightful staff, our holiday was perfect.
Thank you Summerhouse, we will be back!

Room Tip: The Premier room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased with your acknowledgement of our efforts to continiously improve and maintain high standards at The Summerhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood - General Manager| The Summerhouse, ignite your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.5 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#16 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.7 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#1 of 39 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Property: The Summerhouse
Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summerhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Summerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing