We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing panoramic views would be PERFECT for a wedding ceremony & reception”
Review of The Summerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Summerhouse
Ranked #27 of 35 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised just how close to Byron Bay the Summerhouse is located, a mere 5-10 minute drive to the main shops.
Our first thought when walking in and seeing the breathtaking sweeping views of Byron Bay over the infinity swimming pool was wow! What a perfect place that would be to have a wedding ceremony and reception. As the living area and kitchen ate communal be prepared to meet a few new people doing their thing. Speaking of weddings we had the pleasure of meeting Jamie Eastgate, who is one of Brisbanes top Celebrants and was staying for the weekend as he had Weddings to perform in Byron Bay so by complete chance that's our Byron Bay wedding ceremony, reception and Celebrant all sorted!

Like other reviewers we were a little surprised to be charged an extra $10 for pancakes, we were fine with this however it would have been easier for them just to include this in the room charge.
That said, the breakfast was plentiful, filling and healthy with a choice of museli's that you could sprinkle fresh fruit on top of as well as a dollop of yougart. The coffee was excellent and the lovely lady that served us offered us a second cup which we gladly accepted.

In summary while a little on the pricey side, this would be the perfect place to book out all 4 of the rooms and have a weekend away with friends/ family or hold your wedding or function, without the 2-3 week minimum booking period that many of the Byron Bay holiday homes have in place.
Once again the view is stunning!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for The Summerhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staying here was definitely on the high end of budget, but we were happy at the end end of the stay that we had stayed at the Summerhouse. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Premium room. The weather was pretty bad when we were there in terms of the wind, which made us even more grateful we had this special treat to just stay inside and enjoy. We didn't love Byron Bay itself, just too many people, so again very happy to have our beautiful nest up on the hill. The coffee and breakfast in the morning was amazing. Did hear road noise, but didn't bother us. We will definitely look to stay again. I was thankful there were no children around, as I could see how this would be a negative to this environment if you were there with your partner for a relaxing quite time. Staff were lovely. View brilliant.

Room Tip: Did see the other rooms but the premium was great. The last night we were there we were treated to a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yetibeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I will return here in a heartbeat. Staff all super awesome. All of them!! Went above and beyond to help where possible..

View, location - epic! Perfect driving distance from busy byron.. Sit back and relax in your own wallpaper magazine style holiday.

Some small points I'd like to pick:

We lost our key one night and were unable to get in touch with anyone. There was no emergency number or options to get in touch. Luckily we didn't really lose our key.. Later finding it in car.

Cooked breakfast costs extra and sorry to say - its terrible. I'd rather it was just on the bill to begin and was prepared with a little more flair.. tasteless and in need of inspiration.

The pool should be, but isn't skimmed daily. Too many floating leaves and sticks for the epic view (the summerhouse has the most impressive entry and view over byron ever!)

Bed was all very good quality - but a hard bed. Not my personal preference. I want to sink into my holiday bed and think twice about getting out of it in the morning. This bed required 10 minutes of yoga on awakening.

The screens that wind down over the balcony windows in the rooms should be motorised with remote from bed. Ok I'm asking alot - but it's the details.

Rooms need music / iPod players.

Mini bar and free snacks would be the final 5 star finish!


Thanks for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diesel7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Recently stayed for two days. Did not want to leave. The views the staff the food all fantastic. It was so good my partner and I got engaged on the private balcony in our beautiful room the views are some of the best I've seen what a place to get engaged. Where both looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed at The Summerhouse for a short trip away before Christmas.

Check in was simple and all staff encountered were polite and accommodating. Debra was especially welcoming.

The views are surreal, especially from the pool area.

Breakfast was amazing with a chef preparing our meals each morning. It was no problem for my dietary requirements to be accommodated.

The road mentioned in other reviews didn't bother us.

I will stay again.

Room Tip: Luxury Suite
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stunning view, friendly service and a very comfortable stay.

It would have been perfect if..
* there wasn't the noise from the road running past the house
* continental breakfast would include toast and jams besides the cereals and (very nice) fruit salad
* cooked breakfast was included in the rate. (Not a biggie, we like our continental breakfast, but considering the rate we paid, something that I believe could be included).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I booked our accommodation via iPhone on our way home to Brisbane. We needed somewhere quiet and relaxed before completing our journey. We arrived to find that we were sharing this B&B with a family of 2 teenage girls. Hearing them frolicking in the pool was not a pleasant experience as we were really unable to (pardon the pun) drown out their noise. I do not believe this is the place to bring young children or teenagers. Rather it a place for a retreat with friends where you can basically have the whole place to yourselves. The accommodation was lovely, the bed superb. The breakfast truly delightful and the service extremely friendly and accommodating. The views, lovely. I would return but as part of a larger party of three other couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Byron Bay
0.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
6.9 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
0.7 mi away
Abelia House
Abelia House
#14 of 35 in Byron Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Byron Retreat
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Treetops Everglades
#53 of 65 in Byron Bay
4 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#2 of 35 in Byron Bay
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $193 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summerhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Summerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing