We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little walk”

Cape Byron State Conservation Area
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.47*
and up
Half-Day Byron Bay Whale Watching Cruise
Ranked #9 of 57 things to do in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little walk”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a great little walk along the beach, up to the cape and the lighthouse, then back to town through the forest. The paths are well maintained and the walk can be done in flip-flops. At the cape itself (mainland Australia's most easterly point) there is pole you can attached your camera to so you can take a photo of yourself. It's a great idea, allowing you to take a photo without having to worry about some opportunist running off with your camera!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kilkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    28
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you go to Byron you must visit Cape Byron. Hang gliders cruising overhead, lush bushland & if you're lucky you may spot the odd humpback whale or ten. Beautiful.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narlidere, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“clean sand and beautiful ocean.”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

this beach just disappears into the horizon. impossible blueness. nice surf to swim in. happy dogs playing on beach. dolphins fishermen who gave free fresh fish.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank winoseti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Byron Bay as a whole is an interesting place, very hippy and laid back, almost horizontal in most cases. But there is a charm to the place and we enjoyed visiting the whole town. There are a number of things to do in the area but the focus is on taking it easy. Not sure I would want to stay there longer than a week but well worth the visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMSIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spactaculara views - walk can be challenge”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I parked by Clarke's beach and The Pass and walked around to the easterly observation point. My well worn knees found all the steps a challenge but I took them 1 at a time and I'm glad I did. The views at the observation point was amazing, as they were at several points along the way.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Byron State Conservation Area also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Cape Byron State Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing