We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi”
Review of O Sushi

O Sushi
Reserve with
O Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 194 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: O-Sushi aims to provide a delicious range of healthy and fresh Japanese food in a relaxed and friendly environment in central Byron Bay.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We caused quite a ruckus at this joint but they were so good about everything. They were just relaxed and went out of their way to make sure their patrons were taken care of. The sushi was different and very good! We enjoy sushi trains but after a few you want something different. Try the specialty rolls. Excellent. Thanks for a great meal.

Visited March 2014
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“High prices for very average food - what on earth are people raving about?”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Not sure what people on TripAdvisor are raving about?? I am quite puzzled. This is one very average place. The service was exceptionally attentive and quick BUT the food was a major let down.
We eat Japanese quite a lot and we have been to Japan several times and also speak Japanese and this place is really only very average. We ordered off the menu, as well as getting things off the train. Quality ranged from ok to below average. Everything was much more expensive than even in Noosa and that is saying something! Nothing was spectacular or yum. Even my non-discerning 5 year old rejected everything as not authentic and only ate the Edamame. Miso soup average. Green tea average. Inari very bad. Chicken teriyaki skewers underdone and bland.
Edamame ok. Sushi off train mall quality average. Gyoza - Byron Bay version - had nothing to do with any of the 100s of gyoza we have eaten - not authentic and not very appetising.
So overall, a very disappointing experience. The other Japanese place up the road served much better food but may be it's not the "in" place to be seen.
The place is tiny, next to a parking lot and has no atmosphere whatsoever. It is very cramped and sitting next to Woolies car park in traffic fumes paying over priced below average food is exactly my idea of a waste of money. Try at your own peril!
There was quite a selection of vege rolls and brown rice options which we didn't try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, Owner at O Sushi, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor , any feedback is valuable to us and helps us keep our award winning restaurant running at a very high level. We are glad you found our service to be exemplary, however, the remarks on our food are a little concerning. O-Sushi Byron Bay has been running very successfully for ten years and our customers, a lot of who are regular locals, find the entire experience outstanding (as the reviews state). We were disappointed to hear your view on our food as we work tirelessly using the freshest produce, organic & brown rice options, catering for Gluten free, vegetarian and vegan dietary constraints all produced by our highly trained and experienced chefs. O-Sushi has a long standing philosophy to ensure you, and all of our dinners, are completely satisfied with the O-Sushi experience. We would love to have you dine with us again and perhaps try our chefs gourmet selection of Japanese Fusion Cuisine and sushi.
O’Sushi Byron Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reliable & yummy”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I've been a frequent diner at O Sushi for years, never had a problem. A fav is the Teryaki Tofu. Would definitely recommend!

Thank sandiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best sushi in byron”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have been in this place twice. Both times I went out of the bar after eating totally satisfied.
Its a small bar but the sushi is awesome.
In fact, is one of the best I tried during my stay in Australia.
They have a good variety and the quality-value relation is also very good.
If you are in byron and you want to eat some good sushi, go to this palce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron bay
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great food service was fantastic the manager made sure my every need was met the atmosphere was warm and inviting

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scott272727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sushi also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire

Been to O Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing