We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star sushi”
Review of O Sushi

O Sushi
Ranked #20 of 194 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $29
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: O-Sushi aims to provide a delicious range of healthy and fresh Japanese food in a relaxed and friendly environment in central Byron Bay.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
“5 star sushi”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

O-sushi is one of my favourite restaurants on the North Coast. I have lived in the area long before 'sushi train" became a household name and this particular train line rates 5 stars.. Snuggled in the woolies carpark it's a hide away for loyal locals and a hot tip for visitors. The food is always fresh and made right in front of you. My favourites from the array of choices on the train are the tempura vege nori roll and the seared tuna , when going the extra mile a serving of terriaki chicken served with rice and salad goes down a treat. With Byron being a hub for good food and great times it's hard to go past this little favourite and venture any further into town. Big thumbs up!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiona_court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    170
    65
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Locals love O'Sushi”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

O'Sushi was the first restaurant I went to when I arrived in Byron and it has stuck with me ever since. It is a favourite with locals and is regularly packed full of people by 6.30pm so if you want some space I would have an early dinner. Tofu Teriyaki is my absolute favourite. I also love the train too as there are so may delicious options, and quite a few for vegitarians too. It is also awesome to watch the chefs at work. True artists. Some of the best quirks are the cucumber sushi rolls, brown rice sushi and the organic chocolates that go round and round on the train. Suitalbe for solo diners, families and everyone inbetween. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More Sushi please”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The one thing you discover with O-Sushi is they have a very reliable formula, it's reliable in that you know what you are going to get, there are no nasty surprises. The magic is that the food is so fantastically simple, fresh,healthy and tasty..is it super cheap...no...but if you want super cheap, pop into Dominoes or go to the supermarket and buy some garlic bread sticks. We are big fans of Osushi, great service, great food and a simple uncomplicated atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rasta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Byron”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I always enjoy going to Osushi in Byron and it is definitely the best sushi in byron and in the whole region. Sometimes the service can be lacking and but the food is always great, guaranteed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over-rated.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I too thought this place wasn't worth the award it had recieved. There are many sushi restaurants sprinkled around my own neighborhood back in Vancouver that are higher quality yet don't boast award winning sushi. Something seems off with that award title. Either it's old, or he reviewers got it wrong... Or all other sushi im Australia is worse (unlikely)

Two concerns:

1. The sushi train is a gimmick to raise the price. Seems like certain items cost more on the train because they are single serving.

2. How fresh is that sushi on the train? If someone doesn't pick it up, does it circle the sushi bar for an hour? For several hours? It doesn't look very fresh as it passes by.

I wouldn't recommend this place. I'm sure Australia can do better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donricodelavega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sushi also viewed

 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to O Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing