We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN BYRON”
Review of Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Suites
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN BYRON”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked a Garden Suite for a weeks break in late January after lots of searching online and we were delighted with Beach Suites as it really is the perfect spot to explore Byron. It is right in the thick of things but perfectly private and quiet too. It has the beach right in front and to the right is a lovely wooded walk to Clarkes Beach which has a superb cafe with super beach views.We went there nearly every morning.

Our suite was room seven - conveniently close to the rear exit to the main route to the beach and we think a tad bigger than other Garden Suites. For us, a family of two teenage boys aged 13 and 16 and a 12 month toddler it was perfect. We had a large family bathroom with walk-in shower and spa bath , a separate room for us - while the boys had a large bed in the main lounge. The Kitchen is well appointed with a good quality CLEAN BBQ although no cook top (but who is going to cook on holiday anyway). We thought having the second bedroom as part of the lounge was going to be inconvenient but it wasn't at all - our bedroom was a nice place to be and had a second flatscreen although we never really used it. Reception were really friendly and the amount of repeat business they seem to have must be a good sign. The carpark underneath was also really convenient and secure.

My advice is unless you really need a lap pool - save some money and get a Garden Suite rather than one of the beach ones! you have the most beautiful beach right out front anyway

Room Tip: while right behind Byron Beach - you dont really get a "beach view" as there are trees and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear dalainz,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Beach Suites. Our Garden Suites are so under-estimated by people. They are such a relaxing option for your stay in Byron Bay. They are tranquil and serene and a real haven from the hustle and bustle of the town, which is only a heart beat away for when you ready to get out there!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Byron in the future.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    40
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Beach Suites for 3 nights in late January. We booked a beach studio but on arrival we were upgraded to the penthouse suite. We have stayed at many many 5 star hotels and apartments and this was by far the best room (and hotel) we have ever stayed in. When i say room - the suite was nearly bigger than my house. And the rooftop with its fantastic pool and view just made us feel like celebrities. Above all it's the very rare feeling that the staff want you to have the absolute best experience there - nothing is too much trouble and there is just an overall feeling of generousity (which i have never found in a hotel before) I have told every person I meet since about the Beach Suites and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The accomodation really made our stay in Byron.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Susan P,

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We were so thrilled to see that you had sensed the 'overall feelling of generousity' that we have at Beach Suites. I know that working in such a beautiful place, under the guidance of very generous spirited owners, makes it easy to 'work' and help people to have a very special holilday experience.
All the staff here enjoy seeing happy, relaxed guests and we are so pleased that you could be one of them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites in the future.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
}���S��
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for three nights and were kindly upgraded to 2 bedroom penthouse suite. Wow!!

Spacious is an understatement - huge living room. Private infinity pool with sun beds and parasols a delight with views to match. Easy access underground parking. Friendly, professional and helpful staff. Beachfront location great - near the centre but away from the noise.

Price of suite may be an issue for some but, as they say, you get what you pay. Extensive mini bar good and prices very reasonable - $4.50 for a beer shows you are treated fairly. Our best
accommodation on our 7 week trip to Asia & Australia and we like to travel in style.

Before we departed, requested to see the Beach Studio with plunge pool we had booked. Again, excellent with the same feel of luxury and not disappointed although not, of course, with that extra special "wow" factor of the penthouse suite. There is no question if we came back to Byron Bay we would stay at Beach Suites. If the British £ exchange rate improved for us v Aus $ we would book the Penthouse suite (the one bedroom penthouse suite instead of 2 bedroom would save you $200)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear TomandAnn,
It is always lots of fun when we are able to upgrade to one of our very special penthouses. We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
Beach Suites is extremelly proud that we offer reasonable mini bar prices (we all know how much the same product costs in a shop!) We offer many things as a courtesy to our guests to enhance their stay and our mini bar is one of them. Yes, we do charge at the high end of the market, but we believe that we deliver for that also.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites again.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My mother in law purchased three nights as our wedding gift. Such a generous and amazing gift. We had always admired the beach suites as we would consider ourselves regular holiday goers to Byron bay but have never been able to stay there. Our stay exceeded our expectations and we simply can not wait to get back there.

We were married across the road at the surf club on December 2nd 2012 and the location of our penthouse was fantastic, eliminating the need for transportation to the wedding venue, I simply walked across the road. The living area was huge and the bathrooms were extra large especially our ensuite which had an outdoor sitting area. I had a few people getting ready with me along with my 19month old daughter, even with all the people going in and out of the penthouse she was still able to get in a decent sleep before the wedding (actually she almost slept right through!).

Beach Suites should pride itself in its friendly and helpful staff. Reception were always ready and willing to help us out, we were even able to get an early check-in which was fantastic to make the most of the rooftop pool. The penthouse pool was wonderful for both us and our daughter, so convenient and luxurious! And wow what a view! The cleaning crew were very efficient, unintrusive and quick, which proves the high calibre of staff and professionalism they all have.

Without question our three nights at the Beach Suites were our best nights in Byron. So thankful for the opportunity to stay there and so impressed by the service and quality. It will be hard to stay anywhere else, hopefully we can return for our anniversary.

Thank you
Dominique & Mitchel Bates

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domitchstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Dominque and Mitchel,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your experience at Beach Suites. We are thrilled that we were the backdrop for your special day and that what we offer complimented your arrangements so well.
All the very best and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary... if not before!
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at this suite. We were only there for one night, we arrived early, our room was not available and we were very kindly upgraded to a room with a plunge pool. Very nice, plunge pool was a lovely temperature. Spotlessly clean in all ways. Reception more than helpful with everything including lending us towels after our checkout time. so that we could swim at the beach before we had to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4747092016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 474709,

What a lovely review, we are so proud of the cleanliness of Beach Suites as details are important to us. We endeavour to make your stay as relaxed and enjoyable as possible in a beautiful locale.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites... next time for longer!

Kind regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for my wedding in Byron in October.
Service was flawless - nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel so special.
We booked a garden suite as they were really big and therefore had plenty of space for my bridesmaids and I to get ready in the morning.
Would absolutely recommend Beach Suites to anyone and we will definitely be back there soon.

Room Tip: Garden Suites are very spacious with a large courtyard, kitchenette, living area with 2 lounges, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seh1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear seh1012,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Beach Suites. Weddings are such a special time and we truly enjoy being able to provide a relaxed and effortless space to prepare for your special day.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your first wedding anniversary, if not before.
Kind regards
Helen Buckley
Manaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I did get a fabulous location and view from the deck, but it is a hotel room. Yes a bed in a room, with a nice bathroom. The decor needs an update so does the uncomfortable bed and paver like pillows. Ive never reviewed before, always reading others. Its time for accomodations in this country to give what is paid for otherwise consumers will continue to take their money overseas. Venturing overseas every second year, I want to pay $420 a night, but get what I pay for in this country.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beltoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Beltoz,

Thank you for taking the time to review Beach Suites following your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you found the bedding uncomfortable,so many guests love our beds and enquire as to the brand so that they can purchase one for themselves. Part of our service is trying to accommodate the individual needs of guests so a selection of pillows is noted as being available should you not like our Microfibre ones that we use as standard.
We will take your advice on board and work toward ensuring that all guests enjoy what we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#15 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Suites

Property: Beach Suites
Address: 20 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay's most private beachfront luxury accommodation. The best of Byron with light filled and spacious rooms, quality furniture and fittings. Two and three bedroom penthouse apartments with their own rooftop pool, Studio style rooms in a garden setting or Beachfront studios with their own private plunge pool and private front gates for direct beach access. A beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing