We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Cape Beach House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cape Beach House
Ranked #3 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a great trip to Byron Bay and chose the Cape Beach House as our accommodation. We were glad that we did, from the moment we arrived till our departure. Katie was waiting to welcome us and show us to our room. The Cape Beach House has a great ambience that you would expect from a house right across the road from the beach, it is very quiet away from the town but close enough to walk there if you need to. A pleasant stroll takes you to the beach and warm water of Byron Bay. There is a great restaurant right on the beach where we had dinner. The light house is a few minutes by car or you can walk to it on the boardwalk. Great breakfast served, We will definitely be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this for us. We are so pleased you had a great stay at the Beach House and in Byron Bay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon! All the best, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 478 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

The accommodation is great - well located close to Clark's beach and the beach cafe but within a nice walking distance to Jonson street and the main bars and restaurants. Lovely rooms, we had the one at the front with a more private veranda which was perfect as it was my boyfriends 30th birthday and we were able to have a drink to celebrate in the sun. Katie was a fantastic host - amazing muffins! Katie really couldn't do enough to help and went the extra mile helping me to organise a surprise bottle of bubbly for a birthday treat. Thanks again Katie we will be back! Only regret was not staying long enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachpc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hi Rachel, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this for us. It was so great having you both here celebrating a special birthday and I was more than happy to help out! All the very best to you both and we hope to see you back at the Beach House again soon! Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Cape Beachouse holds a special place in our hearts. My husband and I stayed in Room 4 for our honeymoon and have continued to stay in room 4 every year on our anniversary, we call it repeating our honeymoon over and over and over again. When we first stayed we fell so madly on love with the design, decor and atmosphere we modeled the building of our own home on it. We leave each trip with the desire to replicate our stay at home as long as we can until the next holiday.
We also stay at Easter for the Bluesfest and I recently stayed for a week alone for some rnr. The divine Hannah kept me company, she is a gorgeous help and always him outed me, allowing me to share my days adventures with her. She made my trip.
The service at the Cape is impeccable. It is void of clinical hospitality, instead always a wave of genuine warmth and energy greets us when we arrive and see Katie. She makes the place. She is truly the heart of the home and I am thrilled she has taken on the Cape with her big heart for sharing it and Byron with everyone who walks through the secret garden gate. I am proud to call her my friend after all our stays and believe everyone leaves wistfully sad to say goodbye to this slice of white and bleached timber paradise, and to wave farewell to Katie.
The white wash timber beams, the crisp white linen, the sun bleached decks and aquamarine lap pool, the lush tropical gardens and the long lazy communal breakfast bar, seem to infuse everyone with a sleepy hippy Byron chill. I believe the best part is lieing at night with the timber louvre doors tilted listening to the typical roll in of a Summer Byron rainfall at night. My husband disagrees, he dreams at home of waking to the famous homemade toasted muesli and array of fruits and yoghurt and honey after a long sunrise surf at the Pass, just across the road.
We hope to keep staying every year until We can't travel. As no matter what overseas or Australian holidays we plan, we dedicate time in the plans and budget for our annual tonic, the Cape Beachhouse, our home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Oh Bernadette, this is truly such an amazing, beautiful review, it brings me to tears! Thank you so much! It is always such a joy having you here with us as I know the Cape Beach House has a special place in your hearts. I feel incredibly blessed to have you coming back each year and I look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care, Katie xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A very clean, wonderfully relaxing place to stay with lovely welcoming helpful hosts in an excellent quiet location within easy walking distance of the centre and numerous beaches. Fantastic breakfasts, Katie's raspberry muffins being the best I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi Anne, Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute joy having you here and I'll be sure to get you that raspberry muffin recipe to you so you can enjoy them at home! All the best and we hope to see you again when your back in Australia! Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We only had a one night stay here but we were made to feel very welcome by Katie when we arrived. Parking was easy and the location is great - handy walk to beach and centre of town.
The room was very clean and spacious and everything was explained on arrival. There is a very relaxed atmosphere and you are made to feel at home - you can use the fridge and have a drink on the decking - some lovely homemade muffins were in the kitchen area too.
Breakfast was presided over by Katie and was a delicious assortment of fresh tropical fruits, homemade muesli, breads and spreads..cold meats and cheese. Delicious.
High season prices hurt a little but it's a lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It was an absolute pleasure having you at the Beach House with us and we hope to see you again soon (maybe for a little longer next time!). All the best, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at this perfect B&B and could not recommend it more highly. Katie is such a lovely and friendly host, with lots of great local tips. She also puts on the most gorgeous breakfast straight out of a magazine shoot waiting for you each morning. The design and layout of the B&B is all open plan and very light and airy making it feel like your very own dream beach house. Great location as well, a short 2 minute walk to the main Byron bay beach but also a head start in getting to the nearby and arguably even more lovely Tallows and Wategos beaches. It's also a great base from which to do the famous Byron lighthouse walk.
Thanks so much Katie, we loved our stay over New Years from Sarah&Carl x

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi Sarah and Carl, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, we sincerely appreciate you doing this for us. It was great having you both with us over New Years and we certainly hope to see you back with us again on your next visit to Australia! All the very best to you both, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We enjoyed our 3-day stay at Cape Beach House so much in 2011 that we stayed again when we were in the area in 2013. Katie's genuine hospitality, kindness & tasteful attention to detail was thoughtful & unobtrusive. Well-designed open-plan layout provides bright & airy sitting/eating area perfectly suited for relaxed feeling of being indoors & outdoors at same time. Bedrooms comfortable & well-appointed. On-site lap pool very convenient & refreshing. The website description was accurate and the other reviews we read truly reflect our experience on both occasions. Thank you, Katie & Marc - we'll see you again.

Room Tip: Located outside busy precinct, opposite beach, pleasant 1km walk to hub of town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi Peter, thank you so much for taking the time to write us your lovely review. It is always a pleasure having you and Claire stay with us and we look forward to your next visit! All the very best for a wonderful 2014, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#26 of 34 in Byron Bay
25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cape Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Beach House

Address: 94 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $193 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cape Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cape Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing