We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cape Beach House
Ranked #3 of 35 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a fantastic long weekend at Cape Beach House! Had a very warm welcome, and Katie was so kind to tell us all the great spots and restaurants we could visit. We were just so lucky! The stay was great and the atmosphere of Cape Beach House is very special. The rooms and all facilities are very nicely decorated with good taste for style. Breakfast was great, and a good opportunity to meet with other visitors, whereas you can also have your own privacy.
Katie, thanks! we definitely will come back when visiting Byron Bay

Toine & Lidy Damen - The Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Toine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you Toine and Lidy for your wonderful review. We were the lucky ones, you choosing the Beach House for your stay in Byron Bay! It was a real pleasure meeting you both and now that you know where we are we look forward to having you back again soon! All the best, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for The Cape Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We only got to enjoy this place for one night but really enjoyed our time their.
Our room smelled beautifully of local lillies, and the bed was super comfy. Basically across the road from the beach, and a 10m stroll to the town, it's perfectly positioned.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bad_Jellys_Valient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. It was great having you both at the Beach House for the night and I really enjoyed chatting with you at brekky. We hope you will visit us again when you are next over, it will just need to be a little longer! All the best, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Katie, your hostess runs the most fab B&B I have ever stayed. The place is wonderful, spotless, and she and her husband are charming. And every morning you get treated to home made muffins.
It is close to the beach and the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your gorgeous review! It was so much fun having you both stay with us and I'm glad you enjoyed the muffins!! We sincerely hope we see you back again sometime soon! All the best, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our recent trip to Byron.
The rooms are modern and nicely furnished and open onto a large deck which gets sun all day. Perfect for a catch up with other guests at the end of the day before heading out to dinner.

The continental breakfast in the communial kitchen was a great start to the day.
Perfectly located opposite Clark's beach we will recommend The Cape to friends visiting Byron.

Owners Katie + Marc and their staff give the Cape its warmth and made all guests feel very welcome. Nothing was a hassle.

We will make the cape a regular stop in our visits to Byron.
Thanks for making us feel so welcome.
Ant and Marcus

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you Ant and Marcus for your wonderful review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to do this. It was so lovely having you both with us for the few days and hope to see you back again soon. All the very best to you both, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Cape Beach House recently with my son. We were on a father/son surf getaway and this was a great option - not too fancy, not too backerpackery, just right for us. We had a comfortable room with twin beds with big cozy blankets so we didn't have to use the heater, even mid winter. This is a B&B with breakfast included - plenty of options including juice, coffee, tea, toast, fruit and lots of cereal. Good for a light brekky before undertaking whatever your Byron adventure for the day might be. If you want a hardy breakfast, you can walk across the street to the Byron Beach Cafe for a great meal with a view that can't be beat. The Beach House is in a great location - close enough to town for an easy walk, but not in the commotion. If you're a Fours Seasons/five star type of person, this may not float your boat, but if you want an easy place to stay with very friendly, helpful owners, you won't go wrong. I would stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: we stayed in the end room. Totally quiet. Easy peasy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABourdain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Every now and then you come across a guest house that makes you wonder why you ever stay in hotels. The Cape Beach House is one of those. If like me you hate feeling like a tourist and prefer to feel like a local, this is the kind of place you should seek out. Byron is one of those places that finds a place inside you and never lets go. While it is a mecca for post Sydney backpackers in summer, they thin out in Autumn/ winter leaving Byron alone to its laid back, friendly locals and the odd visitor.
Katie and Marc Wilson epitomize this. I gather the family opened one of the first back packer hostels back in the 80's (Backpackers Holiday Village Hostel. Funnily enough I stayed there 10 years ago! - highly recommend it) so they are true locals.
Arriving at the Cape Beach House is like pulling up to the house of a good friend you've never met before. Katie and Marc welcomed us like friends and gave us the pick of their 5 rooms, all of which were simple, stylish and homely. The house is perfectly located across from Clarks Beach and a fantastic little restaurant - Byron Beach Cafe. The lighthouse point is a short drive or a hearty walk up a steep hill (the views are worth every calorie of the exercise) and the town is a short stroll along arguably one of the nicest beaches I've seen. Go kyaking and watch dolphins surf and whales breach clean out of the water. We did... seriously. It was surreal.

Every morning we had a delicious breakfast, served when it suited us, and just chatted with Katie and Marc.(Generally sport as is the way in Oz). Home made muffins mysteriously appeared at all times.

But for me the biggest compliment I can give CBH is that having been there for only 3 nights we headed to Melbourne for the second Lions Test leaving at an ungodly hour to get to the airport. Sneaking out so as not to wake anyone, Katie appeared to say goodbye with a big hug. Imagine a hotel owner doing that and it feeling like you were saying goodbye to an old friend? We left wishing we had stayed longer.

Anyway I cannot recommend this place enough. Its the perfect reflection of Byron Bay, one of most captivating places I've ever been to and if you want feel like a local and not a tourist go and stay with Katie and Marc.

Ed C

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much Ed for such a beautiful review, you actually brought a tear to my eye! It was our absolute pleasure having you here with us. I feel like many of my guests leave as friends and this was certainly the case with you guys. All the very best to you both and we look forward to seeing you back in the Bay again sometime soon! Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Cape Beach House is more of a stylish beach house as its name suggests, than a luxury B and B. We had a lovely two days staying here and surprise surprise, it was sunny and calm!! Our room was large and had everything we needed ,even heating , which was cosy for the chilly evenings. The atmosphere was relaxed but there was wonderful attention to detail eg fresh flowers in our room and beach towels provided. We enjoyed our breakfast and Katie gave us some great suggestions for eating out and for places to visit. If only we could have stayed for longer!!
Many thanks for your warmth and hospitality.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gemstone511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. It was our sincere pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon! All the best, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
279 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#2 of 35 in Byron Bay
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cape Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Beach House

Address: 94 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $179 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cape Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cape Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing