We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cape Beach House
Ranked #3 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Where to go?
After deciding on Byron Bay, We didn't want to hire a car so as to enjoy the BB more ... but if you had transport you could be tempted to visit the Buddha Palace for your R&R and massage; or reserve a meal at the Dish Restaurant (the Michelin star restaurant at Bangalow) ... yes there are lots to do! Instead, we walked the beautiful beach, indulged in the organic meals and drinks at The Balcony, The Beach, Cypress Tree plus a few others.

Where to stay?
I read a few reviews and was impressed with what was being said The Cape Beach House. It's a little bit of a walk to town (approx 10 min) but it's a distance away from the hustle and bustle of backpackers and has enough street lights to direct you back to your accommodation. What makes it worth staying at "The Cape" is Katie's hospitality from our arrival at 6pm on Friday (29 July) until our departure on Monday (1 August). Marc (her husband), Kelty (her "assistant) and a few others have been equally accommodating. They always had the answer or suggestions to make our holiday complete e.g. where to buy Byron Bay Cookies (near the BP station in the industrial area - around 5-10 mins drive), need-to-visit Lighthouse and lookout for the whales (2 hour walk for us, 45 minutes for Katie), restaurants to suit the occasion (e.g. great cocktails and Spanish tapas/paella at the Balcony) .

And Katie ... if you're reading this ... and if you're lucky you might meet her famous friends :)

Thank you once again for your personal touches to making our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luveely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 478 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

We often stay at the Cape Beach House when we go out in Byron and don't want to drive home. In fact we stay here exclusively. Why? Because the hosts (Katie and her husband) make the stay perfect in every way and it is easy walking to town, the lighthouse, and Clarke's beach. The rooms are set out like a giant beach house and from the minute you arrive it feels like you are staying with friends. There is a large open kitchen area stocked full of coffee, teas, and sometimes in the afternoon snacks that Katie has baked herself. In the morning she prepares breakfast (included) featuring fresh fruit from the Byron region, homemade muesli (yummmm) and an assortment of toasts. You have the option to sit with the other guests or take the paper out in the sun and enjoy your breakfast in privacy.
The rooms (and we have stayed in most of them) are sufficient in size and come with most things you need (e.g. hair dryer, air con) and they feel (esp the ones outside) like you are at a friend's beach house for the weekend. The ambience is white, wooden, beachy.
The best part for those of you visiting Byron is that you can walk easily from your room to the beach (across the road) or to town for dinner or drinks. The light house walk is also just minutes away and yet it is quiet and peaceful!
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Byron (even for one night) and you want value for money - this is itt!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alisummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We were on our way up to the Bay and we called Katie, luckily there was a free room and we spent two great nights. It is so close to the beach, the shops and the pubs. Katie is great hostess and the The Beach House is so comfortable, airy and light. It just seems taylor made for a great time at Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steinym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were almost ready to leave Byron Bay when we stumbled across The Cape Beach House. A lovely welcoming hostess, bright, clean and comfortable rooms, relaxing atmosphere and sensibly priced. A healthy and delicious continental breakfast included and shared in a sunny open kitchen and dining area with good company to swap travel stories.Only moments from the most spectacular beach and sunset on the coast - we were hooked. One night became three and we'll be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - but Room No.1 my pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewarts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This hotel is fantastic! It is a beautifully outfitted house with a fantastic location and the most gracious hosts.

Katie made us feel at home when we were there. She baked cookies, made muffins and catered to all of our needs. We had INCREDIBLE service. For example, our plane was delayed and we arrived late in the evening, so Katie drove us to the music festival to ensure we got to see the last act! In addition, her son drove us to the festival on subsequent days. Katie and her staff ALWAYS made you feel at home there.

The breakfasts were fantastic. Each day we had a healthy dose of yoghurt, fruit, cereal and juice. On Easter Sunday, Katie surprised us with smoked salmon and bagels, which was a real treat.

I would HIGHLY recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants to relax at Byron Bay, but have all the amenties at your fingertips.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewwaldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

The Cape Beach House is a piece of heaven!

Conveniently located away from the hustle and bustle of town (10 mins walk) – yet moments away from the beach.

As the name suggests – it feels like living in your own beach house.

All the rooms are spacious, very private and well maintained. Your friendly hosts Katie and Marc will ensure you are well fed and entertained at breakfast time and are more than happy to offer any advice/tips to make your stay a memorable one.

Do as much or as little as you want – the space is great for independent travellers, couples and groups.

Would definately go back and highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank LittleT000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Loved this place, the rooms are large and tastefully furnished, and the common area too. The host is professional and friendly. Breakfast was simple and delicious- the fruit was tastey, muesli and yoghurt were also nice and it was very well hosted. Would love to come back.

Room Tip: The front room nearest the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
486 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 34 in Byron Bay
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cape Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Beach House

Address: 94 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $201 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cape Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cape Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing