We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faulty Towers at Byron” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Italian at the Pacific

Italian at the Pacific
Ranked #22 of 186 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faulty Towers at Byron”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

There were 14 of us. A big party. We booked a week in advance, so the restaurant should have been aware, yet!
The orders were taken for drinks, the gin and tonic was watery, missing any amount of gin. They were replaced when we complained. A good gesture, but an expensive restaurant should not have served those in the first place.
The food orders were taken. And after half an hour the first of the entrees started to come. My wife was served a dish that looked like a terrine, but no she was assured by the waitress that it was the tuna she ordered. So she ate some and some of us helped with the rest. Some more entrees arrived and finally the waitress realized her mistake and owned up the my wife received the wrong dish. The tuna took some time to arrive by which time some of the mains started to come out. My barramundi was outstanding. The beef cheek someone else had was also fantastic, but two of our party just didn't get their food. We waited and waited, asked where those last two dishes were. About 15-20 minutes after everyone else had their food the last two arrived. By then we were over the whole meal. They realized we were not happy and tried to compensate with three free tiramisu. A nice gesture, but we won't return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    84
    37
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Ballina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were both raised in Byron so we have seen a lot of restaurants come and go but Italian at the pacific will be one to stay, it can't be beaten for service, food, atmosphere, location and price. We have been here countless times and each time we walk out feeling so happy and relaxed, it just has the best atmosphere and the food is to die for!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Msell1588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mike & Fran_Mar 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed in Byron for a few days in March and our night in the Italian at the Pacific was the stand out event. From the entrees thru to the main fish course, everything was just perfect, complemented by a very nice wine list too. This is a great restaurant to go an enjoy yourself at - good food, good friendly & efficient service and no pretentious stuffiness. It is just a great place to wine & dine. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational Food & Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited Byron Bay with my wife and we saw the Echo newspaper( local paper) advertising that the Italian at the pacific had a $40 special on Monday and Tuesday nights at the moment so we treated ourselves

The food, was exceptional. And although they seemed quite busy for a Monday we didn't wait too long for our wines or food.

The deal is an entree/main or main/dessert from the menu. My wife loved her kingfish entree and hearty lamb rump. I had the market fish with gnocchi which was so so tasty. The dessert was to die , chocolate custard , peanut butter biscuit and bananna ice cream . The meals were amazing but it was such a bargain with the $40 deal. When back in Byron we will definitely drop in .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening, super tasty food & great cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Group of 7 adults and one child. We shared several entrees (tuna with salad, arancini balls, prawns, oysters and pork belly) all delicious and we had enough to share around. My main was the chicken, perfectly cooked and flavoursome. Others really enjoyed theirs including lasagne, meatballs and daily special. My son's chicken and potatoes dish was also well received. We shared several desserts and the crumble was my personal favourite. Lovely wine, great meal, attentive service. This place never disappoints when we come on our holiday.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaY931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian at the Pacific also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Italian at the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing