We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai Food”
Review of Asia Joe's

Asia Joe's
Ranked #32 of 195 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A favourite with locals Asia Joe's offers colourful & fresh modern Asian food- at budget prices. Healthy, friendly & unique. A very Byron experience!
FFM
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is nice enough Thai Food. Not like wow exceptionally good but good. The Restaurant itself is Nothing special, Hardy any service as you Must Order and Pay at The counter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manuelamaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    106
    42
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh and fast”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We ate here three or four times during our week in Byron. Loved the thai style beef noodles and the coconut, lemongrass and lime coconut stir fry. The lunch specials were a good size and value if you were trying to leave room for dinner. It's unpretentious - order at the counter, BYO wine with minimal corkage or beer for free - fresh and delicious. Our food was definitely cooked to order as I forgot to ask for noodles and they changed it at the last minute, no problems.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliviamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmaniia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst food & service in Byron Bay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been in Byron Bay for a week and had some of the best foodie experiences this was NOT one of them......all the dishes would appear to be made pre made and just heated up to serve, one of our curries was cold!!! when I pointed this out to the waitress there was no apologies which was fine but when she bought the same dish back to the table she threw me a very dirty look as if to say how dare you complain.........would not recommend this to anyone, very underwhelming experience particularly when everywhere else has been soooooooooo good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma T, Owner at Asia Joe's, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi
I am terribly sorry your Asia Joe's experience was not good. Friendly, efficient service is something we pride ourselves on. If there is a problem it should always be put right fast with a big smile and an even bigger apology. I will be investigating this further to see what happened that day.
In terms of the food it is very fresh and cooked up to order. We certainly do not use a bain marie. We pre make our curry sauce (as all Asian restaurants do) and then steam the vegetables/meat to order. Veggies for our food is hand cut daily and stir fried to order. So again, I will investigate futher regarding the food but we are reknowned for fresh, healthy, fast food so I need to know what you had.
I apologise again and hope that you respond to my email so we can address these issues.
Kind regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I always eat here when in Byron. The food is quick and tasty. The staff are nice (usually backpackers). The seats are always full, so you may have to wait 10mins to get a seat, or just get takeaway.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Funky and fast”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here. Despite not being cool and young (i.e. invisible to waiters in some restaurants) we were treated respectfully and given a good table. Service was efficient and friendly, atmosphere buzzing, food came impressively fast and was tasty and interesting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marianBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia Joe's also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Asia Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing