We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, felt like sharing with flatmates”
Review of Sandals

Sandals
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals
Ranked #33 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed, felt like sharing with flatmates”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent the last weekend of April in Byron Bay by myself as my husband was away and I thought I would indulde myself with a nice B&B. Well it did not start well, I arrived at 5pm to check in after a busy drive from Brisbane and there was no one there, I tried to ring but no one answered. I went for a walk and came back and met a very nice couple who let me in as it was getting cold and dark (and mosquitoes). While I was waiting in the house I found a B&B card with a mobile number and tried to ring but again no one answering and it was rigging in the room next door. The couple told me they had seen the owner at a bar around a corner so I just waited. Finally the owners arrived and gave me the key about 1 hour later. I had booked a single room and it was very very simple, a bed, a chair and a towel holder. The first night I slept a few hours only as the other guests kept me awake moving around the house. I was very disapointed because the reason I booked a B&B and not a YHA was to stay away from the noise. It felt more like sharing a house with flat mates, with the rooms on the first floor the stairs and doors were very noisy. As a summary I would say the house and garden are pretty, the location is amazing at walking distance from the beach, but no great attention to detail is given to the rooms or the shared bathroom, and not much cleaning happened during the two nights I stayed there... Breakfast was good with fresh fruits and croissants. My expectations were too high, it is obviously the location that makes the B&B.

Room Tip: Get an ensuite with a private bathroom, or bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I spent two nights at Sue and Malcolm's guesthouse and I loved it. Such nice people, a perfect room, a spacious living room and kitchen, a lovely garden and a delicious breakfast.
It's a great place to stay in Byron and I can totally recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonni82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister & I stayed at Sandals in Byron Bay for four days in March. We were greeted on arrival by the lovely Malcolm & Sue who gave us a nice tour of the guest house. We had a spacious comfortable bedroom room & a seperate bathroom which we luckily had to ourselves for the whole stay. There was also a lush garden & large communal kitchen, dining & sitting area where we could relax after a long day. Everywhere was clean & tidy & tastefully decorated. Every morning we were greeted with fresh fruit & there was plenty of cereals to choose from. There was also tea & coffee making facilites & even a biscuit barrel!!!

The guest house is also a short walk from the shops, cafes & beach & our hosts had lots of knowledge to share about Byron & the surrounding area.

It really felt like home for those few days & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sandals.

My sister & I would most definately recommend it to all our friends & family.

A big thank you to Sue & Malcolm!!

Lisa & Michelle xxx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Loved my two sleeps at Sandals, comfortable single room with view of lush tropical trees. A perfect location, quiet with easy walking access to cafes, beach and beauty therapy treats. Sue was a very gracious hostess, no fuss with clear house rules for a very pleasant stay to attend a family wedding in mid January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Bed and Breakfast close to Byron Bay shops and restuarants. Very clean, house, professionally run with friendly hosts. Our rooms was excellent and the main lounge and kitchen was available for our use. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Histo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The service at Sandals was excellent. It felt like I was staying with mum for 5 days. The two owners were so warm and welcoming. Great local knowledge of the markets & restaurants etc.

The room was exactly what we expected and booked - twin room with shared bathroom. the rooms were clean and they all had fans for those warm nights.

Location was PERFECT - literally a 5-10 minute walk from the beach, 2 minute walk to Woolworths and 5 minute walk to the main bars/restaurants. Bonus was it wasn’t right on the main street so there was no noise at night time etc.

Would definably stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting Byron Bay.

Room Tip: Queen with ensuite was nice, however no one was staying in the single when we were there so we actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RH1984_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This property is a rare find indeed. So too are Malcolm and Sue Shearer. The location is superb. Quiet even as the storm that is New Years Eve raged around us. Drinks and Canapes with Malcolm and Sue were never better taken than in the fragrant garden at dusk. The offering in total is emblematic of true professionals and, frankly, every hospitality school in the Pacific Rim should spend time with the Shearers and pass on the lessons. Value for money in a clean, well run, beautifully tended Garden of Eden. My daughter and I loved our stay. We will return and look forward to a lot of laughs and more champagne with this most gracious and understated pair of hosts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilbarabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Bathers
Byron Bathers
#13 of 34 in Byron Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
28 Degrees Byron Bay
28 Degrees Byron Bay
#8 of 34 in Byron Bay
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
465 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals

Property: Sandals
Address: 11 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing