We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean and derelict”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Byron Bay Rainforest Resort
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Positives first; very nice rainforest setting and close to Byron Bay with easy access.
Unfortunately the cabin we were in, number 4 was dirty, everything really except the bed which was both clean and comfortable. The shower seat (wheelchair access cabin) is broken, a great danger if used. Broken screens, rickety door, chipped fittings and rusty fridge were just some of the evidence that maintenance is long overdue. A very disappointing experience for which we were charged $280.00. Resort is a misnomer, one of only two terrible accommodation experiences in many years of travel. We were there Boxing Day so relocating was not an option with other accommodation full.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue_Jane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you are after the nature experience - this is the place to stay. The forest and all it's wildlife is all around and above you! However, the cabins are in great need of an upgrade (especially toilet/shower) when considering the three star standard. Friendly owner and family and relatively close to the city of Byron Bay (5-10 mins drive). Go to The Pass beach if you have smaller kids as it is protected from the waves.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dalebring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bed cottage. The property is well located and very bushy/ quaint. The cabins are very spacious and comfortable, especially the beds.
Although it is not that modern it has all you need. Yes there are some mossies but you are in the bush and the cabins have screens so no problem at all. The kitchen is adequate for simple meals. If you like TV there are 2 in the cabin! A good dining table and lounge area too.
Out of the hustle bustle. You can walk thru to Tallows but we didn't have time. ...... and opposite the golf course.
Not posh but perfectly comfy and fine for a relaxed place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you are looking for the heart of luxury then you are at the wrong place. What you will find at the rainforest resort is a well appointed cabin beautifully secluded in a natural woodland setting.

The bed was comfortable and the hot water was high pressure and ample. The kitchenette had enough to whip up a small meal if you didn't feel like going out and the cabin is large and open with both ceiling fans and air conditioning. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the enclosed veranda to enjoy the sounds of nature (or the rather spectacular thunderstorm one night) whilst protected from most of the local insect life. The resort also supplies mozzie coils in case the bugs are being particularly aggressive.

The main complaint - which others have also made - is that not all the windows have shutters or blinds. Our kitchen window in particular has a straight-line view into the balcony area of a nearby cabin which was rectified by hanging a shirt over it.

The staff was unobtrusive but friendly when you needed them and having open access to spare linen and towels was a welcome touch when nothing dried after the stormy soaking we got.

Though we didn't travel with pets or kids this time, we appreciated the pool and games room as well as the pet-friendly nature of the property as an encouragement to return with the whole family.

Overall, this property contributed well to a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed one night (two couples) and were thrilled with the natural beauty of the place. The cabins are basic but comfortable and clean. In agreement with other reviewers, the place is a little tired but the staff are very accommodating and friendly. If you're looking for a natural experience in a rain forest this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want a cute and affordable get away that's away from it all but not really that far this place is for you. Definitely not a 5 star place but it's part of its charm and appeal.

Not new but clean.

Was horrified when we were shown the room that a HUGE 7ft window had no curtain along with another on standing level on the side. The main was overlooking the forest but there were clear walking trails right around the cabin- anyone could be standing outside at night and you wouldn't know from the inside because it's pitch black. Perhaps I've seen too many horror films but it made me so uneasy had to make makeshift curtains

The glass triangle ones each side of the room joining the room didn't bother us as only the wild birds could see in and it was beautiful to wakeoup and see the natural trees from bed.

Shower was leaking and randomly enough tap outside was running heavly (that's how we found the trails outside)
Ping pong and pool were awesome in the games room and the spa was fantastic. We also went on a bush walk which was a real treat. Very local and not far from the beach. Bus stop right outside entry. Was an experience like no other staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdenLatoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you're looking for luxury this is not the place for you. But it is clean in the cabins and the beds are comfortable with decent linen. Basic but hot shower. It is quite tired and the insect screens really need attention, more so if you are there in the summer. One room had badly fitting louvres and no screen .. a real no-no once the midges and mozzies really get going, and you are in a sandy wooded area so they'd be full on. It could also do with some repairs and cleaning around the place. The gardens could be lovely and are, in fact, pleasant but it's a bit scruffy round the cabins. The rec room could do with a good clean. But with Byron prices as they are, if you need accommodation for up to 6 and don't need a large living area or a fancy kitchen, then this place is a decent option. You can't walk to the beach and need to drive to get into Byron but it's very quiet, has a reasonable basic pool and a communal spa. The management are really friendly and helpful. It's a good budget option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAnnie3357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
#29 of 65 in Byron Bay
282 reviews
2.4 mi away
First Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park
#17 of 65 in Byron Bay
175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#22 of 65 in Byron Bay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
2.9 mi away
Planula B&B Retreat
Planula B&B Retreat
#16 of 34 in Byron Bay
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Rainforest Resort

Address: 39-75 Broken Head Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $141 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Byron Bay Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing