We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for a shabby bug ridden cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byron Bay Rainforest Resort
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive for a shabby bug ridden cabin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We found our stay at Rainforest Resort in byron a little disappointing.

Whilst the studio room was large with nice clean bedding, the place needed a good clean.

As many others have commented, there was a fair amount of dead and alive bugs and large spiders in the cabins. We slept with citronella burning and covered in DEET to try and get some peace of mind.

The cabins are basic but large. They could do with curtains on all windows and for the windows to actually close fully.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeatbroadbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Like others who have reviewed this property, my wife and I are returning guests over about 10 years. We prefer the non-commercial, naturalness, and friendly management of a set of private cabins spread around a central commons house with pool, Jacuzzi, table tennis and cooking possibilities. All is casual and a bit (we love it) older and, yes, here and there shabby where flyscreens may need attention and the grasses are long and some trees may need a trim. Because the cabins (large and airy) have not been overly up-graded, some chairs may not match, and you may have to walk through a laundry area, with a child's bike parked against a pole, it may feel like just like home...yet you are in the midst of a natural rainforest, 10 minutes outside Byron Bay. Stay for a week. Not a good place for an overnight.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We've been staying here for years now, and have seen the place change hands and get better with age. Don't expect anything flash but perfect for families to relax and not worry in. The shacks are always perfectly clean on arrival, fluffy white towels & comfy beds. Aircon or fan, kitchenette, & if you don't have a utensil just run over to the communial kitchen and borrow something. Pool and spa are the perfect setting, and at night you can hear the ocean. Discreet, easy holiday. Love it. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel has an absolutely awesome territory with only a few cottages on it, so from you windows you can see only trees and trees, and not other guests peering into your windows. The cottages are very large (compared to other accommodation we looked at), and you get a personal veranda behind the flyscreens - LOVED it! You sit right in the rainforest, but on the coach and without mosquitos (if case some of them get through you have a burning repellent). If you open curtains in the master bedroom, you will feel right in the middle of the forest.
It's a shame they left the cottages to deteriorate and do not refurbish or clean them properly - if they do the place would become a real 5 star resort! The walls and curtains are not clean, some cob webs, older kitchen etc.
The cottage had a fridge, cooktop, aircon, TV and a lot of storage space. We missed a bath though =(
Yes that's a rainforest so expect birds, lizards and spiders. It's very cool around the resort in the middle of the day because it's all shaded - very nice.
The pool needs a clean, it's not very new either but still OK, and the spa was good.
Parking can be inconvenient at times because it's near the reception and then you need to walk to your bungalow, but no more than 50 meters I think.
Their wifi works best on the bench near the reception, did not work from our cottage.
The beach is quite a walk especially when the heat builds up - not 900 meters as some reviews say. And it's tricky to find - there are lots or walk trails in the rainforest so we never knew where we were going!
They have a spa room which looks like a low range one in Thailand - piles grey towels, messy; not sure I would like to use it.
It would be great if they made coffee on premises too.
Would like to say thank you to the stuff which were really helpful (we had issues with the booking and they helped us out), they really look after you and go an extra mile to help. It's little things like a jar of milk in the fridge or staying late till we arrive and then calling you by the name which are a nice touch.
Good value for money, a bit far from the city centre but an absolutely amazing spot, will definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whysherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our family recently spent one night at this property and one night was enough! We might have been better off camping in the surrounding forest as the cabin was not well kept with spider webs old and new everywhere, with some pretty big spiders dead and alive in them along with a couple of large cockroaches wandering about the kitchen. We were grateful to have the manager come over to get rid of the first two large ones we spotted but not reassured when he brushed off our concerns about whether they might bite by saying...these aren't the biggest I've seen and I can't guarantee that you won't see more. Guess what...he got that right! We did indeed see more and some bigger ones as well. It was impossible to get a good nights sleep after encountering three huge spiders on the walls of the bedrooms..too high up to be removed from the cabin..not restful at all! This might have been prevented if the windows had proper screens and if the multiple holes in the verandah porch screens were repaired. To be fair, bedding was clean and comfortable...grounds and common areas were nice. Overall though, very disappointing considering the price for the night was more than the following nights property which was a spotless two bedroom apartment with ocean views and breakfast included for less than the Rainforest Resort which was not budget priced accommodation...go figure? This property could be improved with some basic upkeep, insect repellant, a bucket, a mop and some elbow grease....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Recently stayed for a night at the Byron Bay Rainforest Resort as part of a road trip to Cairns and we all wished we had stayed longer! Spacious accomodation (2 bedroom apartment) in a billiant forest setting, there was basic cooking facilities in the apartment but if we had been staying longer may have used the better equiped common kitchen area. The owner and staff were all very relaxed and pleasant. We would all hapily go back and stay here for longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place was scrumptious, and will especially appeal to anyone who loves the rainforest. Compared to similar priced places around the area, I thought this was good value for money. It had a lovely pool with grassy area in the shade to lounge around as well as an indoor area to play billiards or table tennis, and a bbq, perfect for the wet season.

I took my seven year old and he was happy with the pool although we didn't stay long enough to make use of the other facilities.

We had a room with a queen and single bed with kitchenette. The linen was clean, the room was spacious and light and allowed a close connection with the surrounding lush rainforest. We could only stay 2 nights, but will definitely be back to stay longer next time.

I especially loved the verandah which just had flyscreen around it, allowing the forest experience without the bother of mozzies.

The location is not in the heart of Byron, which I preferred. Byron (about 5 mins drive) is very busy and full of traffic and it was a lovely retreat to come back to the peace and quiet of the resort. It is not your top-of-the-range 5 star resort, but it was certainly a step above similar priced accommodation, and more than we were expecting.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I left a DVD in the player and upon return to Melbourne, they happily posted it back to me free of charge.

I agree with the review from jacjui that the online pictures do not do the place justice. It is MUCH nicer than it appears on the website.

Room Tip: If a single room cabin is big enough for you (one queen and one single bed) then cabin 5 has a veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melalueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.1 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#16 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#17 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Byron Retreat
Cape Byron Retreat
#1 of 1 in Skinners Shoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.4 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#20 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Rainforest Resort

Property: Byron Bay Rainforest Resort
Address: 39-75 Broken Head Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byron Bay Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing