We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainforest Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byron Bay Rainforest Resort
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Rainforest Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place was scrumptious, and will especially appeal to anyone who loves the rainforest. Compared to similar priced places around the area, I thought this was good value for money. It had a lovely pool with grassy area in the shade to lounge around as well as an indoor area to play billiards or table tennis, and a bbq, perfect for the wet season.

I took my seven year old and he was happy with the pool although we didn't stay long enough to make use of the other facilities.

We had a room with a queen and single bed with kitchenette. The linen was clean, the room was spacious and light and allowed a close connection with the surrounding lush rainforest. We could only stay 2 nights, but will definitely be back to stay longer next time.

I especially loved the verandah which just had flyscreen around it, allowing the forest experience without the bother of mozzies.

The location is not in the heart of Byron, which I preferred. Byron (about 5 mins drive) is very busy and full of traffic and it was a lovely retreat to come back to the peace and quiet of the resort. It is not your top-of-the-range 5 star resort, but it was certainly a step above similar priced accommodation, and more than we were expecting.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I left a DVD in the player and upon return to Melbourne, they happily posted it back to me free of charge.

I agree with the review from jacjui that the online pictures do not do the place justice. It is MUCH nicer than it appears on the website.

Room Tip: If a single room cabin is big enough for you (one queen and one single bed) then cabin 5 has a veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melalueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here a few years ago and are heading back in a few weeks. The cabins are basic but clean which we were happy with as we were out all day exploring byron anyway. We loved that we felt nestled in the rainforest and would regulary be visted by possums at night and lace monitors would stroll past during the day. Lovel,y peaceful and secluded and a short drive to the centre of Byron or a 15 minute walk to a private surf beach. Well priced but if your looking for luxury or a "resort " feel this probably isnt the place for you but is well suited to easy going nature lovers

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsFussyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We just returned home from the Rainforest Resort after a 3 night Christmas getaway. I was a bit worried about what the place would be like because we have stayed in some dog friendly dumps before! However, as soon as we were checked into our little studio cabin (#1) we were very impressed. There were two beds in the room with hotel linen, a older style tv and dvd player, a small kitchenette, a bathroom with a shower and a screened in verandah with a couch, coffee table and kitchen table. It was really cute! The cabin itself was very bright and clean and had ac/heating and a great ceiling fan. The kitchenette was very basic with a sink, small fridge, cook top, microwave, kettle, toaster and basic dishes. Again, I will mention that the cabin and bathroom were very clean and bright... I don't think the pictures online do it justice.

The resort itself is in a very rainforesty area. It is very peaceful, quiet and relaxing and best of all dog friendly. We saw lots of cool birds and lizards while we were there. Beware though, since it is in the rainforest you will also see lots of insects. Bring your mosquito repellant. You can walk to (dog friendly) Tallows Beach in about 10-15 minutes and it is beautiful. I would say it's the best beach in Byron and it is never crowded. If you want to go into Byron you can get there in 5 minutes by car. There was a pool at the resort as well which we didn't use but it looked okay. They also have laundry facilities and a common area for all guests to use that had a bbq and a full kitchen as well as a pool table.

It's not easy finding good holiday places where you can bring your dog, but we have found a great place with Rainforest Resort and we will absolutely be back. If you are expecting 5* luxury then you won't be pleased with this place, but if you want to have a relaxing getaway in a cute little cabin then it it perfect! Please feel free to send me a message if you have any questions.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #1. It was in a more private and quieter area than some of the others, however t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacjui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Anywhere you feel like you have to wear thongs in the shower is definitely not my cup of tea. Appropriate for teens or young 20 something surfers who want to escape - but the price of 150 for the night is likely to turn them away.

Poor feeling of security inside the room - the door looked like it had definitely been hinged open more than once. Ensured we put our luggage back to our car when we out to dine.

Great location but you will need a car or bicycle to get in and out of the main town.

If you don't feel like camping in the middle of the winter - this is an appropriate alternative.

Poor quality instant coffee.

I must confess that I was grateful for the wall heater as the nights in winter are very cold.

We won't be coming back or recommending it to our friends (due to the price). Ok for the disabled as each bungalow is set up very well to cater.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeesaSoulodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.1 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#16 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#17 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Byron Retreat
Cape Byron Retreat
#1 of 1 in Skinners Shoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.4 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Rainforest Resort

Property: Byron Bay Rainforest Resort
Address: 39-75 Broken Head Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byron Bay Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing