We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayview Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

To start with, location can not be faulted. It is perfect, right on the beach and only one block walk to shops, restaurants.

Bayview have very average apartments, I wouldn't stay again for the price paid. I was in number 21 and the room was big which was great and furniture ok but there were a number of things that really frustrated me and I think make the property quite poor.

Firstly forget a holiday, you have to clean up after yourself, that is take the rubbish out to the back lane, clean the kitchen before checking out or you are charged extra.

Secondly the walls are paper thin, myself and partner could hear every single word said from the next room and they weren't even raising their voices, especially frustrating when you are trying to sleep!

Thirdly there were no door seals at the bottom, left a gap of about an inch under the door so all the cigarette smoke from next doors balcony would waft through our room, we had to put blankets under the door to keep it out.

Fourth the free wifi could only be accessed if I leant off my teeny tiny balcony with my phone hanging over the edge, forget being able to use it inside.

Very disappointed traveller!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lozz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona2481, Manager at Bayview Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello Lozz13,
We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with Apartment 21 as it is very popular apartment, being on the top floor and having some ocean views.
We were not aware of any unpleasant odours or fumes finding their way under the door and are having a door seal installed this week. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are surprised you found the walls to be “paper thin” as the structure of Bayview is solid brick and cement walls throughout the complex. We can only presume that there was a door or window open and this may have generated some outside voices that prevented you sleeping well.
With regards to taking out your rubbish perhaps you misunderstood when making your reservation that we are in fact fully self - contained apartment’s and not an hotel with room service and daily housekeeping. We have aimed at placing our recycling and waste bins conveniently near the car park for guests to dispose of their rubbish as they leave and find this systems works well.
The “Complimentary Wi-Fi” we provide here at Bayview Apartments we hope you can appreciate that internet on such a large scale can have technical glitches from time to time and it’s a great help to us when guests bring difficulties with the Wi-Fi to our attention at the time the problem is happening during their stay. We can then get our technicians here immediately to resolve the problem.
Had you brought any of your concerns to us during your stay here we would have certainly done our best to find solutions to the matters you have raised.

Your comments do assist us in keeping up the highest standards at Bayview, many thanks.

Rosy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Beachfront Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had room 18 which was the best we were told .
When we first arrived we thought it was small but soon adjusted what with the great view .
Little things like no soap or garbage bags need attention.
One huge factor was the that the pool was supposed to be heated as it states in ammenities and was not .
Overall would go again but not in peak price period.

Room Tip: Top floor facing beach
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona2481, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi Damien,
I’m sincerely sorry you found your stay here to be somewhat unsatisfactory.
Apartment 18 is our Deluxe and we find most of our guests believe it to be a generous size and as you mentioned the ”great view” is priceless.
I’m surprised your apartment was short of soap and a garbage bag? These are the basic inclusions and we would have been more than pleased to assist and provide these to you had you mentioned this during your stay.
Our pool is now heated and is only heated during the winter season which we commence on June 1st.
I look forward to seeing you and your family here again soon and hope your lovely wife enjoyed a wonderful birthday celebration.
Regards,
Rosy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked and stayed at the Bayview Beachfront Apartments by reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and I am very happy I booked this property. The location was fantastic, the room extremely comfortable (everything I needed - clean and well presented as well) and the presentation of the common area most appealing.

Thank you to Rosie for all her help with local knowledge; as a sole traveller is was nice to have little chats with her to find out the best places to visit, walk to or dine at. I am happy to say it was a great stay but unhappy to say I had to leave to return to Melbourne oh too soon!

KT

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location is perfect! The apartment was everything we needed, it had EVERYTHING! The best part was the beautiful smile and warm and friendly nature of Rosie at reception who welcomed us with excitement everyday. Rosie was a wealth of information on where to go and what to do but most importantly where to dine... EVERY SINGLE place she recommended we went to and got to enjoyed the spectacular produce on Byron Bay... VERY VERY HAPPY.... Thanks again Rosie for making our stay fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a great apartment! Has great facilities in the rooms, dishwasher, washing machine, large flat screen TV, in bedroom as well, iPod docking station, balconies, fully equipped kitchens. Just a short stroll to main town centre and great beach across the road. Will be back for sure

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycouple121111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After reading very mixed reviews on T/A I reluctantly booked Bayview based on location as it is directly across the beach.
We were pleased with our choice for a family of 4 .Our superior apartment, no 14 on 2nd floor, was very well thought out with 2 bedrooms each with its own en suite . Our balcony had a side view of the ocean . Beds were made up with beautiful linen. It was spotlessly clean. Kitchen was well equipped although a coffee plunger would have been a bonus.
Pool and BBQ area was relaxing and also well maintained.
There was some noise from the lane late at night however Byron was very busy over Easter so I guess this is to be expected.
Many thanks to Rosie for her excellent restaurant advice, Thai Lucy in bay lane (eat street) was just like being in Asia Would return to Bayview.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd floor facing ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMelb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the photos on the website we were expecting a four star hotel, but this was much more like a THREE star. We booked the superior two br, and even though we were told there was wireless we were put in a room where there was NO wireless at all during our stay. The staff on reception gave us excuses and told us how to connect but it never worked in our room at all... Loud parties nearby the hotel every night so you don't get much peace and quiet at night here.

Also when we reported an unusual smell in the bathrooms they were very dismissive.
From our room you couldn't see the beach at all - also a little disapointing, but not a huge deal.

The ONLY plus sides we found here was that it was clean and close to the beach.
It's not a good place for young toddlers and babies either as there are doors that open out onto a balcony and have to be kept locked at all times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaElizabethL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#14 of 32 in Byron Bay
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beachfront Apartments

Address: 22 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $191 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Beachfront Apartments offer 18 attractive 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments on 3 levels overlooking the gardens, the pool deck and Byron's Main Beach. At Bayview you will discover affordable and convenient beachfront apartments in a magnificent setting. Bayview is just metres from Byron's Main Beach and a few minutes walk to virtually any place in town. World class restaurants and all of Byron's renowned attractions are close at hand. Bayview Byron Beachfront Apartments are couples & family friendly.Take advantage of our value packed rates and special deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bayview Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing