We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy retreat in Byron”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burns at Byron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burns at Byron
Ranked #19 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cozy retreat in Byron”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

My hubby and I were looking for a more "adult" lodging opportunity walking distance from the Byron Bay Brewery and Buddha Bar as we were attending a concert. We happened along this wonderful place and can´t recommend it highly enough! Thanks to HIllary for making us feel welcome, relaxed, and actually a bit spoiled in such a lovely space. We will certainly keep this gem in mind for our next trip to Byron. Burns is spotless, tranquil, and the beds are soooo comfy and with sheets dried on the line I felt like I was back at my Mom´s house! Thanks again for a wonderful stay. Oh, and don´t forget to try her homemade muesli, it´s fantastic!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen with ensuite and the room was priced very well for the quality and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Burns at Byron is so inviting with its beautifully decorate and spotless rooms, the amazing Balinese garden in the backyard where you can lose yourself by reading or having a glass of wine on the huge day bed or the outdoor bath. Hilary the owner is a chef so you can imagine the exquisite dinners and beautiful breakfast complete with homemade muesli and a variety of fresh fruits that she serves.
Its really close to the main street and she also has bikes to ride to the beach. The location is in a quite neighbourhood which makes it so easy to relax and forget that you are in and town. But if you want to go into Byron its just a 5 minute walk away.
I usually visit Byron once a year and now I don't have to worry about where to stay because this will be my only choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

It's difficult to imagine that you are so close to town, such is the tranquil atmosphere of Burns at Byron.
The gardens are part Balinese temple grounds, part luxury hippy chic.
The beds are comfortable, breakfasts are lavishly prepared by chef-manager Hilary, and the outside bathroom is an unusual treat!

Room Tip: The four poster is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolPompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I love this place, I instantly feel at home when I get here. It is lovely and tranquil and I almost don't want to write a review because then more people will know about it and I may not get a room next time if it get's too popular.
It is really close to the main street just a five minute walk and the house is so comfortable that it is great to just hang out here as well.
The breakfast is a mixture of cereals, fruit and the most amazing home made gluten free muesli. Thanks Hilary!!

Room Tip: 2 rooms share a bathroom and 2 rooms have ensuites and are larger... all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tattooed_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Beautiful old federation style home, Balinese style decor throughout the house and huge rear garden deck area. We stayed for several nights and loved it. Hilary is a great host and made us feel most welcome without ever intruding into our space. Great healthy breakfast, home made muesli, superb breads, ranges of all types of teas and lovely local coffee. The beds were comfy, the whole house was spotless, great showers in the en-suites, along with a lovely roll top bath in the shared bathroom. Even when the place was fully booked on some night during our stay it was still a tranquil and peaceful place to stay. the large rear deck has a huge day bed with sun canopy for relaxing, there is also a great outdoor shower and bath! The house is in burns street, nice and quiet but only a very short stroll across the disused rail track and you are in central Byron shopping area. It's also just a 10 minute walk to main beach. WE LOVED IT!! Thanks for making us feel so welcome Hilary

Room Tip: Best room in the house is the master en-suite, it's large with its own entrance, seating area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Must admit to be a little worried after reading the preceding review but at short notice our choices were limited and.........

We had a great long weekend!!

The place is very nice, close to town by foot but just far enough away from the noise.

Room was perfectly adequate and sharing a bathroom was never a drama.

We'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

we stayed in the house over the new year period and paid a whopping $7000! the owner was constantly at the house using the facilities (laundry and washing line) and constantly telling us to clean up and keep the house tidy, even though the dishes were done everyday and and we should the up most respect for all furniture and facilities. would not stay here again, very dissapointed and very unfriendly, and cold welcome. next time i would stay somewhere where the owner respects your privacy and ultimately respects your need for a holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TessaB255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary B, Manager at Burns at Byron, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
I am sorry these guests felt that I was the 'owner from Hell'. That is unfortunate. However I am pleased that they would never want to stay here again. During schoolies I expect this type of guest and have a list of rules and take precautions to protect the property and keep things under control. But this wasn't schoolies! Due to an excess of persons whom were not registered guests, the OVERWHELMING amount of rubbish on the property and the noise complaints I deemed it necessary to protect me home and business from any potential damage. I did not feel comfortable with this group of young adults on my property nor the revolving door of strangers who were constantly present. I therefore came to the property daily to keep tabs on the situation and try to keep the rubbish under control. In their defence, they did put an effort into cleaning the house before they left. Burns at Byron is not a party house. It is a heritage listed historic house filled with antiques and beautiful gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 34 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Eco Beach
BreakFree Eco Beach
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burns at Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns at Byron

Property: Burns at Byron
Address: 14 Burns Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burns at Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Holiday Accommodation Burns at Byron B&B/ guesthouse exudes comfort and style. Set amongst stunning tropical gardens it offers four luxuriously appointed bedrooms. The Sari room and Kimono rooms are spacious queen/dbl bedrooms with beautiful furnishings. These two rooms share one and a half bathrooms. There is a clawfoot tub, tiled shower and a huge antique mirror. The Library Ensuite is also a spacious queen/dbl bedroom; this one has an impressive library in it as well as a private bathroom. The Master Ensuite has it all, a four poster King bed, lounge area, French doors leading out to the verandah and a private bath. Ideal for the perfect holiday for families, romantic getaways for couples or simply a bit of quiet relaxation on your own. Burns at Byron is also available for independent weekly/long weekend hire. Services as well as other pampering, have a massage on the deck, or a pedicure in the garden. Burns at Byron offers stylish and relaxed-comfortable holiday accommodations in a beautifully restored, heritage listed-Federation cottage.Your tariff will include a fresh breakfast featuring homemade muesli, juice, local fruits, breads and spreads and all day tea and coffee for you to help yourself to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Burns at Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing