We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluewater on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Warrandyte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

What an amazing secret, quiet corner of Byron. Walking through our patio and tropical garden to our own private dune-top - out of the wind, out of view - sunning in the nuddy while overlooking beautiful Belongil beach just steps below, via our own little pathway. Just cover up when you stand up. : - ) Accommodation delightfully and creatively designed without being too slick- so it felt like home. Lulled to sleep by the sound of waves. Enjoying gastronomic delights at the new cafe a short walk away. Ian always enthusiastically ready to provide whatever we needed. We'll be back for our next anniversary.

Room Tip: We really loved the rear bungalow with tropical garden view only a few steps from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyesandears130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I spent a month touring Australia in May, and our four days at Bluewater on the beach was one of the high points of our trip. The accommodations were pleasant and comfortable, the service was great and we found Ian, the genial manager, very helpful both in attending to our needs and providing tips about the Byron Bay area, good restaurants and places to see, etc. Best of all was the site itself sporting manicured lawns and gardens perched above a spectacular beach...just a stones throw from the villas. Altogether a delighful retreat for two travel- worn New Yorkers exploring Oz.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Once of the best holidays we have had in many years.Great location, can't beat the view,close enough to Byron to feel part of the action but far enough to enjoy peace and serenity. Ian was fantastic helpful in all regards. So helpful he even found a wet suit for our son to go surfing. The beach itself is tremendous, great sunset, and we couldn't fault the accomodation.
We will be back next year for a longer stay. Once again thanks Ian for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Disappointing to turn up to a property that states 'standard featues' include a 'spa bath/jacuzzi', however not only did our cottage not have this facility, apparently none of the others do either. When paying this type of money I expect to receive the 'standard features' as advertised on the website.
Property in a great location but the property itself is 'very tired' and needs some general love and updating / sprucing up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bluewater on the Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention these issues, we have reviewed our website. Just to clear up any confusion you might have had with the features page, each villa has its own page with a detailed description. Not all the villas have spa baths and the special features page on the site lists all the inclusions you will find over all the villas. There is also pictures of the bathrooms so you can see what each seperate villa and what there inclusions are.
These guests where looking more for 5 starr accommodation which we dont offer, the villas a classic simple beach style. In regards to the rates, our charges are inline with other accommodation in the area.
We are proud of what we offer but take any problems seriously and make the nessary steps to attend to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 days recently and were very disappointed at the lack of 'detail' in this property.
This accomodation is not cheap and unfortunately for us, it was very disappointing.
The view is incredible, hard to beat, we fell asleep to crashing waves every night but the cottage did not live up to the $345 per night price tag.

Plug in oil heater (the only form of heating) was old and rusted and did not work, a replacement plug in oil heater came very quickly when requested -

We understand that appliances break down, thats fine, but the unit was old and rusted. The replacement worked well.

This on its own would not have been an issue but along with lots of other things it culminated into disappointment.

The room had wooden blinds on several windows and on one blind a slat missing, small issue, but surely should have been fixed before new guests came in.

There were cobwebs in the corner of the ceiling and they hadnt been created overnight, the beautiful double doors that lead onto the verandah allowed a magnificent view of the water but when the curtains were drawn in the evening, showed tiny pin holes and not just one or two, but several, as well as dirty marks on the curtains.

The sheets on the bed were crinkled and unironed, just taken off the washing line onto the bed, a minor detail, but even in the cheapest accomodation, sheets are ironed upon arrival - they also had scuff marks on them.
The 'polished' floor boards looked like they should have been 'repolished' a couple of years previous.
Lighting was so bad that flimsy little plastic strip lights had been installed under shelving in the kitchen and truly, without them it would have been very difficult to prepare any meal.

The lighting was similar to a dimmer set on nearly the lowest dim, not just in the kitchen but through the whole lower level of the cottage. There was no way you could read a book in the evening.
Lighting upstairs was much better.

The stove was an old worn out electric coil type - which we didnt use to cook with, only to heat the cottage up one night because we were so cold and the heater was so bad.

The clothes drier - which we are reluctant to use normally but at one point had to use - didnt work - it tumbled but didnt heat. Replacement towels were delivered very quickly once requested though.

On the website it states there are 5 cottages and so you understand that you could potentially be sharing the communal spaces eg: grassed area, outdoor shower, lounge chairs with another 4 families/couples - but be aware, there is a small apartment underneath Bondi which does not appear on the website - that, when we were staying was occupied in the last couple of days and whilst the guests were no problem at all - there was not a mention of it on the website.

The website also says inroom jacuzzi/spa as standard - not in the bondi - standard bath over shower but that is it. That is misleading.

We had a great time, but we wouldn't pay $1600 for 5 days to stay here again and we would not recommend it.


We have stayed at alot of places and this is a heavy price to pay for average accomodation. It would be interesting to see what else buys $1600 for 5 days on or close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtripaug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bluewater on the Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Here at Blue Water on the Beach we pride ourselves on our property and always of course experiance that our guests have. As the onsite manager i am always available 24/7 to attened to any issues that our guests have. From time to time as in any level of accommodation problems with things not working will arise, these issues are always attended to straight away.
Due to the absolute beach front location of the property things like a little rust etc is part of the inviroment but are once again delt with. The other thing that i must make clear is that this is not a 5 star property but is always kept very clean both inside and out.
As far as the issues this guest had with the heating provided, this villa has a new reverse cycle air conditioning system so im not quiet sure why they decided not to use it, the portable oil heaters are for extra back up if required. The other thing they forgot to mention was that during there stay Byron Bay experienced very bad weather with a record cold snap that no one was prepared for.
The bedding we supply is not cheap linen hire items as most other accommodations use, we use high end linen that is cleaned onsite and line dryed for freshness. Lighting in the villa is adjustable so im not sure what was the problem plus we provide reading lamps in each villa.Kitchen strip lighting has been added to provide additional lights over the bench tops.
If you go to our website you will see that we have six villas and not five as mentioned in this guests review also there is no mention of a spa bath in Bondi villa. The accommodation under Bondi villa is not advertised on our site as it is the owners and not available to the general public it also is very rarely used.
We do really appreciate all feed back on the property and are always keeping the property in good condition as well as constant up grades when we can.The rates that we charge are based on the exclusive location of the property and because of that is hard to compare to any other property in the area.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a three-night getaway in May 2012. We each wanted our own room and bathroom and found an excellent rate via Stayz for Laila's beach house. Wooden stairs beside a pond lead up to a huge, roomy verandah with day bed, outdoor tables, and bbq. Inside: lovely open plan living areas with flat screen TV and roomy kitchen; one large bedroom with en suite and a smaller bedroom with two single beds and another bathroom with bath. It feels like your own beach house, complete with sound of the waves: and in addition to the accommodation you get your own private deck chairs out on the lawn overlooking stunning Bilongil Beach. Nothing compares to arriving via airport transfer bus still rugged up in layers of winter woollies to find oneself minutes later stripped down to swimmers, lazing on a sun lounge with sea air, waves, and a gorgeous pink and orange sunset. Loved this place, and will be back.

Summary:
- The manager is very helpful and friendly, easily located if you need him, and gave us excellent recommendations when we asked.
- Bilongil is beautiful, and not crowded. Byron itself is a short twenty-minute stroll away - via the beach.
- Decor is not ultra modern, more homey than flash, but clean, comfortable and beach-boho stylish

Room Tip: The other cottages are closer to the beach, but we felt very happy with Laila's - our palace - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was fortunate enough to stay at this little gem for my best friend's wedding in December. They were married on the beach just down the steps from these cottages and 4 couples, including the bride and groom, stayed in these cottages for 3 nights. It was the most perfect location and set up and we had the most amazing time sitting on the cottage patios in the evenings taking in the fresh air and scenery, sipping wine and creating memories that will last a lifetime! The manicured lawns and sunbeds were the perfect place to a spend a lazy Sunday, and it was just a short stroll along the beautiful beach into town. The cottages are well presented and very comfortable and there is nothing more peaceful than drifting off to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing nearby. 5 stars without a doubt!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Beach House At Byron
A Beach House At Byron
#28 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater on the Beach

Property: Bluewater on the Beach
Address: 3 Don St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluewater on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the sand hills of beautiful Belongil Beach is one of Byron Bay most exclusive private addresses. A relaxed aomosphere catering for those needing a quiet place to unwind in private surroundings. Featuring 180 degree views from Brunswick Heads to the Cape Byron Light House and all with in a 15min walk along the beach to Byrons famous town centre. The property consists os 4 absolute beach front villas and 2 rear set houses all with beach front decks. Classic simple beach house style villas that are fully self contained and well maintained. Please go to our web site to view all the villas floor plans to see what would suit your needs. If you havent been to Byron Bay before and you want to spend alot of time at the beach, this property will not disappoint as it is one of only a few absolute beach front properties. We also offer free use of bikes and surfing equipment etc.....You will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bluewater on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing