We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Waves Byron Bay(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Suites(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Bay Beach Motel(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay Motel(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Hotel(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
104
58
14
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
58
14
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationmain beachone nightfridge and microwaveroom was cleanrestaurants and shopsgreat showeracross the roadgood sizea great stayoff street parkingshort breakcentre of townbeach towelsbryon baydouble bedenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 184 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is a intimate, friendly and small motel just 3 min away from the beach. We stayed in a two bedrooms room, with a queen bed and two singles. Everything you need is in the kitchen, including a small fridge, microwave, kettle and cutlery. At a first sight Hibiscus motel could appear a bit scruffy, but it is very clean, as we saw the owners tiding up motel rooms very accurately! Reception area is extremely tiny but and plenty of tourist brochures!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Booked to stay at the Hibiscus Motel Byron bay after reading about it and was really disappointed.

Nothing much to write home about. A decent Motel , pretty cramped, small toilets, poorly ventilated unless you leave the main window or door open which faces the driveway. Its ok if you have to stay a night on an onward trip. Have to mention though that the staff are very helpful and courteous.

On the upside the location is fantastic within walking distance to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc. You do get to secure park your car right in front of the room and parking is free unlike most other places in Byron where you might have to pay.

Would not stay again though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent one night here during our trip through Australia. It is average motel and good for your money. We only spent a night here so it didn't bother me. I prefer to allocate my money into more important things than a pretty room in which I only sleep. Coming to Byron Bay was important.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaciejK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a basic Motel from the 1970s and aging fast. The rooms are small and cramped. Maintenance is poor, the taps leak, the bathroom door does not close properly and the noisy aircon/heater vibrates annoyingly.This combined with the street noise will keep you up all night. There is no washing machine or a place to dry your clothes and you have to walk two blocks to the laundry.
In its favour the Motel has a friendly owner who is keen to make your stay comfortable. The location is good and you can walk to most places; Byron is a small place anyways.
You get what you pay for, so if the dollars matter to you then stay here, but, for one night only.
Enjoy Byron from several other worthy places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The operators of the motel were very friendly and helpful. We (4 friends) were in town for a wedding and wanted a cheap but decent place to crash for the weekend. This place was great for the occasion. Less than 5 minute walk to the beach, the shops and the cafes.

None of us have any complaints at all. Yes it looks like an older style 70's motel and tacky decor... But that's what we were expecting. It's definitely not 5 star resort accommodation, but it is great value and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreweggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel. The motel often hosts guests who are in Byron Bay for weddings as we are in a very good location, close to popular wedding venues.
The motel is in the process of a face lift and this will be an ongoing process.
We look forward to seeing you again at The Hibiscus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews