We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in Byron Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Byron Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hibiscus Motel was the first stop in our mini drive down the north NSW coast. The motel itself is clean and comfortable, although our toilet was a bit stinky - it looked clean, so not sure whether it was a plumbing problem? Check-in was friendly and helpful, with plenty of maps and suggestions for places to eat and walks/sights to take in. Had a very good night's sleep here too. For a one night stopover, it was ideal.

In terms of the entire range of accommodation in the market, this is probably down the list. But in terms of budget motels, it's spot on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-and-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    48
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is a intimate, friendly and small motel just 3 min away from the beach. We stayed in a two bedrooms room, with a queen bed and two singles. Everything you need is in the kitchen, including a small fridge, microwave, kettle and cutlery. At a first sight Hibiscus motel could appear a bit scruffy, but it is very clean, as we saw the owners tiding up motel rooms very accurately! Reception area is extremely tiny but and plenty of tourist brochures!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennI
Level Contributor
640 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Booked to stay at the Hibiscus Motel Byron bay after reading about it and was really disappointed.

Nothing much to write home about. A decent Motel , pretty cramped, small toilets, poorly ventilated unless you leave the main window or door open which faces the driveway. Its ok if you have to stay a night on an onward trip. Have to mention though that the staff are very helpful and courteous.

On the upside the location is fantastic within walking distance to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc. You do get to secure park your car right in front of the room and parking is free unlike most other places in Byron where you might have to pay.

Would not stay again though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent one night here during our trip through Australia. It is average motel and good for your money. We only spent a night here so it didn't bother me. I prefer to allocate my money into more important things than a pretty room in which I only sleep. Coming to Byron Bay was important.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaciejK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1,337 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a basic Motel from the 1970s and aging fast. The rooms are small and cramped. Maintenance is poor, the taps leak, the bathroom door does not close properly and the noisy aircon/heater vibrates annoyingly.This combined with the street noise will keep you up all night. There is no washing machine or a place to dry your clothes and you have to walk two blocks to the laundry.
In its favour the Motel has a friendly owner who is keen to make your stay comfortable. The location is good and you can walk to most places; Byron is a small place anyways.
You get what you pay for, so if the dollars matter to you then stay here, but, for one night only.
Enjoy Byron from several other worthy places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The operators of the motel were very friendly and helpful. We (4 friends) were in town for a wedding and wanted a cheap but decent place to crash for the weekend. This place was great for the occasion. Less than 5 minute walk to the beach, the shops and the cafes.

None of us have any complaints at all. Yes it looks like an older style 70's motel and tacky decor... But that's what we were expecting. It's definitely not 5 star resort accommodation, but it is great value and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreweggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel. The motel often hosts guests who are in Byron Bay for weddings as we are in a very good location, close to popular wedding venues.
The motel is in the process of a face lift and this will be an ongoing process.
We look forward to seeing you again at The Hibiscus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virden, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The experience with this hotel started off with the incredibly friendly staff. The owners are very hands on and proud of their establishment. The rooms were very clean. Perfectly located to walk around Byron Bay. Very good experience.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Araelya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests from overseas and we do try to make their stay in Byron Bay a pleasurable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again should you pay us a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.0 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Motel

Property: Hibiscus Motel
Address: 33 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibiscus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing