We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned Aussie motel - I loved it!!”
Review of Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, AUS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned Aussie motel - I loved it!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I love places like this - they remind me of childhood holidays in the 70's and 80's traipsing around the countryside. If you want state of the art, designer chic stay somewhere else (and pay a much higher price - Byron is the most expensive country town in Australia I reckon). The host was a very affable gent who was more than happy to take time to tell you about the town and region. The location is perfect - a block or two from the beach and a block from the main drag. I stayed with a travel buddy in the suite - basically a two bedroom motel room. The furnishings were unpretentious and parts of it were retro chic! Both my buddy and I agreed that the beds were excellent - no complaints there. I will stay here next time I go to Byron.

Room Tip: The suite is at the back of the block, hence furthest from the street, but generally I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YanniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    49
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
57
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed two nights at the Hibiscus Motel in Byron Bay during October 2011. The hotel's location is fantastic, being on the edge of the shopping area and one block from Main Beach. I would classify Hibiscus as a "typical NSW Country Motel" and, while the rooms do look a little tired, at the special internet double room rate I received when booking ($145 per night), they are excellent value for Byron Bay.

A few minor things for travellers to note:
* The hotel provides off-street parking for one vehicle per unit (there is only 1 hour parking in Lawson Street outside the hotel),
* You need to put a sign on the door to have your room serviced - it is easy to be caught out by this because it is the reverse of the 'Do not disturb' sign,
* Rooms do not have irons or ironing boards (but being a mainly tourist destination probably not many people want these items)
* The rooms are airconditioned with a window mounted airconditioner (i.e. not an inverter unit). The air conditioner unit in my room was somewhat noisy,
* The bathroom window had a security screen but not insect screen. With the window open at night insects were attracted by the bathroom light, and
* Heavy rain on the roof is very, very noisy!

The rooms have a small kitchenette which includes a microwave and cutlery but there are also a multitude of cafes within easy walking distance.

Would be very happy to stay here again.

TC

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hibiscus Motel.

We would like to address some of your points raised:
• We will make sure that future guests are aware of the sign system for room servicing at check in.
• Irons and ironing boards are available from reception.
• Air conditioners are gradually being updated. All units do have a heating function.

Feedback is very important to us and we value your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you at the Hibiscus in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2011

this was a hidden gem in a melting pot of accomadation. we went to byron bay for the blues fest over easter long weekend.....accomadation prices were through the roof and booked up for months in advance...
thank god we found the Hibiscus.
a small block of 1950;s style motel rooms, this place ticked all the boxes.
rooms were clean and presentable. anything we needed we felt like the hosts were family!....John and Bron welcomed us into the motel like it was their home and we were part of their family!. around the block was the beach..fabulous location...walking distance to everything!.there was abit of noise from other hotels, backpackers etc but John and Bron ran a quite and courtesy establishment
..John and Bron even got up early on our departure day to wave us goodbye when the courtesy bus collected us!!!!.....no other motel in byron bay quite like it!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdd459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hibiscus motel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Ok... so you read this stuff and find out that people have different tastes and stuff.. agreed. We needed one night in Byron Bay and found this place... I wish we had stayed here for more nights... The motel is clean, basic, but amazingly friendly and has a 1960s type charm which is refreshing and simple. A nice walk to the downtown and a 3 minutes to the beach, and well, what else is there? We'll be back. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Feedback is an important part of our business and we appreciate the review you have written.
We look forward to seeing you again at the Hibiscus. Don’t forget to check our website for any exclusive special deals .Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We only stayed for one night... although room was simple yet clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Within walking distance to all shops/bars/restaurants!
Great value!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hibiscus Motel. We appreciate your comments. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
153 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Motel

Property: Hibiscus Motel
Address: 33 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibiscus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing