We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tapas”

St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar
Ranked #6 of 194 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fabulous menu featuring traditional Spanish food; courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable wait staff, great atmosphere, reasonable prices. A great venue for any occasion in one of the best spots in the whole of Australia - Byron Bay.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really loved this place, the food & service were great. Good wine list, we enjoyed all of the dishes, I was surprised no salt & pepper on the table but I didn't need to ask for it as everything was so tasty. Loved the serrano ham & tomato bread, croquettes, slow cooked lamb etc. The dining experience was very good too - didn't feel in any way rushed but the courses came out at just the right time.

We'll definitely be back next time we're in Byron.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    191
    64
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service exceptional, good wine offering for BB though dishes are a tad of the over price side for quality”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Would visit again, the service is perfect, dishes are a little over priced for quantity. The wine by the glass is great though expected it to be larger in options, wine list I also expected to be larger in options though it is a of high quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpuzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

loved the atmosphere - staff were excellent and helpful with recommendations. Good value for money and great shared food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food but quite expensive. Each dish was beautifully presented and very tasty. Good atmosphere and nice decor. You must book in advance.

Was a little concerned about how they turn people away who haven't reserved when there is blatantly tables available!

Helpful?
Thank Jubes1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stelmo_byronbay, Manager at St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner at St. Elmo.
We would like to clarify that we would never turn customers away if we do have spare tables. Whilst it may appear that a table is free, we have a house policy not to seat customers unless we can give them well over an hour to enjoy their meal. Hence, this is why we will not seat people on a table if a reservation is coming in within the hour. I hope this answers your concern!
We look forward to seeing you again at St Elmo soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Didn't wanna leave”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great food, loved sharing with my patner. Lamb special was amazing! Good to have a nice selection of cocktails and spirits too. Staff were very friendly and good with all our questions. Cool little setup and atmosphere. Great option for dining or drinks in Byron

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing