We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar

St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar
Ranked #6 of 186 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fabulous menu featuring traditional Spanish food; courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable wait staff, great atmosphere, reasonable prices. A great venue for any occasion in one of the best spots in the whole of Australia - Byron Bay.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Sharing a meal and a bottle of wine at St Elmo, we noticed how easily the venue could fit into any trendy suburb of Sydney or Melbourne. The menu is tapas and is quite extensive with dishes such as Pata Negra Jamon (aged 36 months) which doesn't always feature in tapas restaurants (to my husband's dismay). The soft shell crab sliders were delicious as were the arancini balls. The wine list was great and the service attentive (without being overbearing).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy-444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    182
    59
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went here on a recent trip to Byron bay and decided to try the restaurant on our first day for a late lunch. The food was absolutely delicious, amazing croquettes, empanadas and the cocktails were spot on.
Came back for dinner later in the week to try the full menu and was not disappointed! Service was attentive, fun and relaxed. Try the beef cheek! All around, a fantastic alternative to other eateries in Byron.
Great restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackielostmonopoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
“best meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had travelled down from Brisbane to spend a weekend at Byron and discovered this absolute gem of a restaurant. As you walk in the door you are welcomed with genuine enthusiasm and warmth and then you can choose to sit at the bar and people watch and take in the wonderful atmosphere or you are shown to a table where the real joy of this restaurant begins. We started with their signature dish 'Slow cooked beef cheeks' and a red and white cabbage salad which was just 'to die for'. We then followed that with their mussel dish. Again...exquisite. I didn't think it could get any better but i was wrong. For dessert i chose the 'cappucino de chocolate' ... words simply fail me to describe how wonderfully delicious this was. However it's not just the food that makes this place rock. The staff are gorgeous, engaging and efficient. it's obvious that the owners are passionate about beautiful food, served beautifully in a fabulous setting. I could not fault this restaurant. For me 'top shelf' all the way. I recommend it very highly. I'll be back. Afterall it's only a two hour drive from Brissy!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Byron”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Loved the food and wine selection here. Service was excellent. Will definitely be back next year.

Atmosphere was buzzing and the cocktails were delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“vibrant atmosphere, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

There were 5 of us at dinner. There were 2 sitting times to choose from as it appears to be very popular . We booked on the day and had no trouble getting a table but , in peak times, I would think you would need a booking as you might miss out if you walk up.
We shared lots of tapas. They were a bit expensive but good quality and variety-vegetarian, meat and seafood.
The cocktails were great.
The service was very good .
Recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jec63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing