We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful taste of Spain”

St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar
Ranked #5 of 204 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fabulous menu featuring traditional Spanish food; courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable wait staff, great atmosphere, reasonable prices. A great venue for any occasion in one of the best spots in the whole of Australia - Byron Bay.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I shared tapas in this funky little restaurant on a warm summers night and were transported back to memories of dining in Spain. Great place for some top class tapas in Australia that can give some of the highly recognised Spanish restaurants in Melbourne or Sydney a run for their money! Don't miss the opportunity to try the white anchovies on toasted bread, patatas bravas or one of the salads........muy bueno!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stevie_and_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stelmo_byronbay, Owner at St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thanks for your review, Stevie and Nic. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to having you in for another meal in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 737 of 752 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great decor and friendly staff, but food took forever and very disappointing. Medium rare steak was still mooing! Lamb not bad. Don't get bread starter with oil dip. AUS$9.00 for three slices of bread and oil with no balsamic. That's AUS$3.00 a slice!! Sent steak back and returned cut in half to cook through. No reduction on bill, no real apology. Very good wine selection so best to use as a wine bar and not eat! VERY expensive. AUS$189.00 for three with two starters and 3 mains only plus wine. The most expensive meal we had in Australia - and the worst!

Thank djangoGibsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stelmo_byronbay, Owner at St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your meal at our restaurant.
We will use your feedback to advise our staff on how to deal with such situations so customers are not unhappy with the service. We pride ourselves on our customer service and helpful staff, so we apologise that your night was not what you expected.
We do hope we see you again in the future, and you have a more enjoyable evening.
However, one thing we would like to clarify, our bread is not $3.00 per serve, it is only $1.50 - half that amount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Byron unfortunately doesn't have many top eateries that don't only cater for backpackers and those that want takeaway.

St Elmo's almost fills that gapping hole, with a slick interior and dimmed, industrial lighting. Kartell stools and tall tables with caster wheels - you can sit at the bar if you can't find get a table - trying to replicate something similar to Spain.

We tried to make a reservation for dinner, but were told to turn up around 8pm, they could fit us in. We arrived around 8pm and were told to go away, have a drink somewhere and come back in 45 minutes. 45 minutes later, we had a table out the back, under a spotlight, close to the apartments behind. After ordering, we asked to move to a spot on a one of the taller tables and that was fine.

Prices are inflated, for what should be a lovely meal, but unfortunately, the standard fell short and just didn't hit the nail on the head. Service was good, my wine didn't arrive until the main (after two tapas plates) but the waitress was very apologetic.

Wine list by the glass is somewhat average (like everywhere in Byron), the by the bottle menu may have been more substantial.

This however,
COCA CON MELOCOTON Y QUESO DE CABRA Y JAMON: CATALAN FLAT BREAD WITH CARAMELISED ONION, PEACH, JAMON, GOATS CURD & WILD ROCKET
was amazing - if only the rest of the menu was this good.

I really think St Elmo's is busy because it's the only place offering higher quality food and service for those not backpacking - it's almost there... just a few more tweaks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stelmo_byronbay, Owner at St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant, Cammy. We really appreciate all of our customers feedback. We will be sure to pass your experience on to our staff so we can benefit from reviews.
We're glad you enjoyed the Coco con Melocoton, it is one of our favourite items on the menu as well!
For other users information - we do take bookings, as well as leave some tables free for people to be able to walk in. Cammy, we apologise that our staff could not fit you in as hoped.
We hope you will come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was our favourite in four days of dining out. Great service and
delicious food.Loved being able to choose small tapas to begin so you could have a variety and Beef Cheeks and Duck mains were divine.
Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine and we loved his recommendation.

Thank JoTaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Had a really good meal here. Staff were enthusiastic and knowledgeable, tapas dishes were a good size and tasty and the cappuccino dessert was fantastic. Definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HBandWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing