We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - top spot”
Review of Fishheads

Fishheads
Reserve with
Fishheads is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 194 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fishheads Restaurant & Takeaway is located on Main Beach just 20 metres from the Pacific Ocean over looking the mountains and our famous Cape Byron Light House. The restaurant, housed in the original Bathers Pavilion built in 1951, was refurbished most recently in 2003 and with the addition of the outdoor beachfront deck, is now one of Byron's best dining experiences. With a strong focus on fresh seafood and a commitment to sourcing local produce, its an obvious choice for both locals and tourist in the historic coastal town. Come in and let the Fishheads team treat you to an incredible experience by one of the worlds most iconic beaches.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value - top spot”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Only talking take away here but even at peak times the staff really work hard and churn out great consistent reasonably priced meals.
The good old fish n chips is excellent value and yum. If you've got to wait 20minutes for take away you may as well wait smack on the beach and know it will be worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MickeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    294
    128
    68
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissappointing Dining Experience at Fishheads Byron Bay”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have always loved and recommended Fishheads at Byron Bay to so many people, the terrific location usually always makes it the perfect place to dine, but after our experience in October 2012, sadly we will not be returning, dining or recommending Fishheads again. The wait staff offered poor service, and in particular one lady who should choose a different profession, she made us feel very uncomfortable, as apparently she didn't know how to smile or laugh. Food has gone downhill since our last dining experience, and is extremely overpriced! Management should look at training staff who want to work in the hospitality industry, not staff who make customers feel unwelcome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woods63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishheadsByronBay, Owner at Fishheads, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations when you dined here in October.

Our business can only survive if we ensure our customers receive a consistently high level of food and service thus securing return custom and spreading the good name of our establishment. It is very important we receive constructive criticism from our customers be it good or bad, as it is only from these we learn what we are doing wrong & reinforces what we are doing right.

In this regard, we have had a couple of bad reviews all in the same vein in respect of a particular trait in waiter service. Since this has not be an isolated incident, I can assure you we have reflected on this negative feedback and analysed the recurring common factors. These matters have been rectified and the appropriate steps taken to ensure this unacceptable level of service is never repeated.

I would like to reiterate that our staff have a renowned reputation for friendly, professional service and strive to ensure all our customers have a memorable dining experience for the right reasons, unfortunately and very rarely, considering the thousands of customers we serve a month we do miss the mark, for this I apologise.

Kind regards
Fishheads Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing in every way: Poor service. Bland food. Overpriced.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The terrific location (right on the beach) is what drew us the Fishheads. The young wait staff offered poor service. Food (spaghetti marinara) tasted bland, seafood poor quakity & overcooked (prawns tasted dirty, mussels were chewy/stringy). We ate the pasta; purely because we felt we should get something for out money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine1_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views with some brilliant food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Restaurant quality food in a beautiful intimate setting. Slightly pricey, but quality was good and service was great too. Will definitely come back again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank babymaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coffee coffee”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are coffee hounds and the coffee at Fish Heads varies greatly by who is working the machine, we have had excellent to pretty torrid, i drink double shot espresso and the better half latte. Hard to hide when you make double shot espresso....the coffee should be killer but just not consistent enough in the quality stakes...apart from that, the location is awesome, service good considering the though put of punters....this cafe i still on our like list...Ross

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishheads also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Fishheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing