We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific take out”
Review of Fishheads

Fishheads
Reserve with
Fishheads is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 191 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fishheads Restaurant & Takeaway is located on Main Beach just 20 metres from the Pacific Ocean over looking the mountains and our famous Cape Byron Light House. The restaurant, housed in the original Bathers Pavilion built in 1951, was refurbished most recently in 2003 and with the addition of the outdoor beachfront deck, is now one of Byron's best dining experiences. With a strong focus on fresh seafood and a commitment to sourcing local produce, its an obvious choice for both locals and tourist in the historic coastal town. Come in and let the Fishheads team treat you to an incredible experience by one of the worlds most iconic beaches.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrific take out”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fishheads is a fabulous restaurant virtually on the beach which also does great take out food at very reasonable prices: Enjoyed the best bacon and onion roll one morning (huge serving and cooked to perfection) and ate on the beach. Another evening, enjoyed an exceptional take away fish and chips (excellent value at under $10) - delicious, and also enjoyed while watching the waves.

Ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and whilst the service was excellent, the food was disappointing and expensive.I ordered the fish pie which my palate found mediocre. It's likely I would have been happier with another choice.and I would return.and try something else

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank findarainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    291
    126
    68
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, great view”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a really excellent, lazy Sunday breakfast at Fishheads. The staff were really welcoming, even though we had my friend's naughty toddler with us who kept throwing her shoes on the floor! The coffee was just what we needed after a night on the town. I'd recommend the Eggs Benedict or the main breakfast. There seemed to be a lot of people opting for the many vegetarian options too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lsweets501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our first visit to Byron Bay was quite overwhelming until we 'stumbled' on this hidden gem called Fishheads at Byron. Out to celebrate a very special birthday, quite by chance we came to this quiet corner and were welcomed like old lost friends. The service was personal, attentive and very friendly. The food was absolutely delicious with the 'Eton Mess' the fitting end to a relaxing, no rush lunch. We came away totally relaxed and vowed to come back. Shame about the parking ticket (on a Sunday) - so beware, they are hefty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Value Sea Food Plater we found!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A friend and I shared the $75 sea food plater and were very impressed! After driving around QLD for a couple of weeks since Byron Bay we haven't found one at such a good price that includes quite so much! Included lobster & lobster salad! Wish we were back there to order another one.

On the whole the 4 of us were very happy at Fish Heads. Nice friendly service, right on the beach, and BYO wine!

We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rich005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

On a gorgeous sunny day in Byron Bay, we were seated next to the window overlooking the water. Our lunch of mixed seafood grill was fantastic - succulent seafood, beautifully cooked with amazing flavours! Together with a BYO crisp white - a lovely meal! Service was very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrapeter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishheads also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Fishheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing