We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great Location, very nice and well appointed room. Close to the major venues. The manager I suspect also washed my elderly Mothers car for her. A very nice gesture. Probably not suitable for a large ute as the parking is (in my mind) more suited to the average sedan. Overall an excellent experience and I will stay again when in Byron.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor if you do not like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LGKWalgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights - This is the place you want if you need to be within walking distance of restaurants, cafes, shops, beach, markets etc.
True, there is no beach view from the rooms, but who cares!
Go out and be part of the view - it's literally across the road.
You didn't travel to Byron Bay to sit in your room did you?
Proprietors are friendly and helpful.
Rooms are renovated and very comfortable so don't drive past thinking the old exterior reflects the quality of the rooms.
We had a twin room with a MASSIVE king bed and a king single for our daughter.
The motel and car park are locked at night for peace of mind but you are given a key to come and go.
Unless I win lotto and buy a place there my next visit to Byron Bay will include another stay at the Bay Motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for one night after a trip to The Tweed Regional Gallery. Surprised that the old motel has a refit. Modern, clean and in such a convenient location. Lovely king bed. Great spot to have watched Australia's first game in the Workd Cup. Beach across the road, Beach Hotel next door, fish and chips and great shopping. Would have enjoyed a few more nights there. Our friends stayed in another room in the motel and were pleased with the accommodation.

Room Tip: No view, so obviously the sort of room you would book if you intend to be out and about. Microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChillingIlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Bay motel. The location was perfect, although the noise at night from various parties was really loud. We also were not told from the staff to place the sign on our door if we needed our room cleaned so we didnt get fresh towels until the final day. Otherwise, the staff was very friendly and helpful.the location was perfect which was across the street from the beach and all the shops. Great value for Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights before Byron Bay Bluesfest. Perfect location for exploring nearby beach, bars and restaurants. Looks ordinary from the outside but the rooms have been done up recently and were above average for this type of accommodation. Loved the king size bed! Sure there is a bit of noise late in the evening but not a worry even for this light sleeper. Good rates and will definitely stay there again when next back in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelson7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Chose the Bay Motel for two nights as the bus pick up for the wedding I was attending was over the road at the Surf Club. I knew I would be out of the room for most of my stay, so didn't need a luxury resort. When I opened the front door, I was pleasantly surprised. Fresh, renovated rooms, comfortable beds with quality linen, blessed air-conditioning, well stocked kitchenette, and bathroom that was renovated and clean, with hair and body wash amenities. Managers could not be more helpful and friendly. Yes, there is the sound of happy partying at night and if you are a light sleeper, this could be a problems. Parking is tight as big 4WDs make squeezing through a challenge. Heaven to just pop over the road for a surf and next door for a coffee. I would happily stay there again, without doubt. Susie B

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you and we appreciate your kind review. I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us.

I hope you return to the Byron Bay and the Bay Motel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a 1960's style motel that has recently had a makeover. Probably more suited to people passing through for a one nighter than long term stay. The 'balcony' is a walkway with a view of a wall and the noisy birds and bin collectors between 5 and 6.30am are quite bad if you like a relaxing sleep in whilst on holidays. Also it is located right behind the backpackers. Overall the room was fine. Water pressure terrible. Managers are lovely people. Shame our stay was hampered by terrible weather.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We are sorry to hear your holiday was hampered by bad weather and you had some issues with the property.

We hope you return to Byron Bay in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nancye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
514 reviews
0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#12 of 34 in Byron Bay
176 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#15 of 34 in Byron Bay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Address: 12 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: $168 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on beautiful Byron Bay beach, a stay at the centrally located Bay Motel will have you coming back for more. With the white sand of one of the most pristine beaches just 50m away and the surf club directly across the road, the Bay Motel is the perfect location to soak in all that Byron Bay has to offer.Offering double, twin and suites with air conditioning, free satellite TV, microwave and coffee making facilities. Free secure parking is available for all of our guests. Across the road on the beachfront is a park offering barbeque facilities and children’s playground. At the Bay Motel we offer you the best location, friendly service and great value for your holiday dollar. Our goal is to make your stay with us in Byron Bay comfortable, enjoyable and most of all memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing