We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and good old fashioned service. Our favourite place to stay every time we shoot down to Byron.”
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Perfect location and good old fashioned service. Our favourite place to stay every time we shoot down to Byron.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Bay motel is delightful. Walking distance to everywhere. Nancye an Greg are just delightful - friendly and accommodating. This is the only place we stay in Byron as it represents great value for money and its jut so simple. Nothing too fancy and great for the kids as it's opposite the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DruryAvClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. As you mentioned we are in a great location for the kids. We also have a playground across the road which is also handy for the family holiday.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    71
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
63
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location on beachfront at Byron Bay next door to the Beach Hotel. We stayed in the family suite which accommodated 5 adults. Was very clean, and is air conditioned with a kitchenette with microwave and small fridge. Hosts Nancye and Greg are very friendly and helpful. Bay Lane is behind the motel which has a wonderful range of restaurants !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at the Bay Motel.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked our stay at the Bay Motel based on price and location. What we didn't know was that this is an absolutely wonderful gem of a motel! The facilities could not have been any better, and the managers (Greg and Nancy) were as fun and gracious as we've ever experienced in our many travels. Our rooms were incredibly clean and well thought out. In addition to the motel's high quality, it's also located directly across the street from the beach...woo hoo! We definitely recommend the Bay Motel in Byron Bay for any family looking for a super value. Thank you, Greg and Nancy.

Room Tip: We occupied two rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimFisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your generous review of the Bay Motel. We're pleased to see that you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed the best that Byron Bay has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you return to Australia. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The room was beautiful, the bed was super comfy, great location, the balcony area was the perfect place to relax with a drink and enjoy the sounds and smells of Byron Bay. The location was fantastic, right next to the beach, heaps of restaurants and he main street. Most importantly the staff were lovely. We really can't express how much we loved this place and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patientkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to lovely Byron Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Thank you Greg and Nancy for providing such a clean, modern and convenient home away from home for the weekend just gone, we had a lovely time and we found the rooms to be better than we had imagined. You're both very welcoming and provide excellent customer service, better than most larger more expensive properties. For those of you who are yet to check-in to the Bay Motel you really should give it a go as the rooms have been so well done and the overall stay was fantastic - exceeding our expectations. Well done Greg and Nancy and thanks again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We pride ourselves on making each guests feel welcome and we really try to make you feel has comfortable as possible.

It was lovely to meet you and hope you see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

because the inside has been renovated to a high standard and the location in relation to the beach is fantastic. The managers were really helpful and even allowed us to store our kayak and bicycles in the their garage. It was a shame we only had one night to spend there but look forward to hopefully returning to Byron and staying at the Bay Motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new rooms. We try to provide our guests with the best customer service so we are happy to help our customers keep there belongs as secure as possible.

Thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you again on your return to Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

At first I wasn't sure by the look of the outside but so glad we stayed here! Best location in Byron Bay, great service and quiet at night. Can't explain how ideal the location was. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJL0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you and we appreciate your kind review. I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us.

I hope you return to the Byron Bay and the Bay Motel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Property: Bay Motel
Address: 12 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on beautiful Byron Bay beach, a stay at the centrally located Bay Motel will have you coming back for more. With the white sand of one of the most pristine beaches just 50m away and the surf club directly across the road, the Bay Motel is the perfect location to soak in all that Byron Bay has to offer.Offering double, twin and suites with air conditioning, free satellite TV, microwave and coffee making facilities. Free secure parking is available for all of our guests. Across the road on the beachfront is a park offering barbeque facilities and children’s playground. At the Bay Motel we offer you the best location, friendly service and great value for your holiday dollar. Our goal is to make your stay with us in Byron Bay comfortable, enjoyable and most of all memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing