We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

At first I wasn't sure by the look of the outside but so glad we stayed here! Best location in Byron Bay, great service and quiet at night. Can't explain how ideal the location was. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJL0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you and we appreciate your kind review. I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us.

I hope you return to the Byron Bay and the Bay Motel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    72
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
64
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's a motel so don't expect grandeur

Do expect
brilliant location - almost on the beach
large clean rooms
it's quiet despite the location
free tea and coffee
free wifi
friendly reception
free car parking

perfect for a stopover!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dieselbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We hope to see you again soon at the Bay Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just came back from a 1 night stay at the bay motel. Location us perfect right next to the beach hotel and literally across from the beach.
It looks pretty old and dingy from outside but the rooms have obviously been recently renovated and were pretty good for motel style accomodation.
Highly recommended for a few nights if your looking for affordable accomodation in Byron.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney_lindsay_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

Our property is definately Location, Location Location. Really you can get a better property for convenience.

Hopefully the exterior will be getting a revamp soon but until then we are the sweet old fashion motel with the amazingly renovated rooms.

Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I really liked this place!! Super convenient, literally right across the road from the beach and right in the middle of town. Reasonably priced, clean and modern (despite the aged looked exterior). Staff are lovely. It is noisy (pub just a few doors down) but no other complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes I agree that our exterior is tired but we are working on improving this in the near future.

Thank you and hope to see you again on your return to Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This motel is ok if you want to stay overnight as the location is great. But the rooms are lit up by the outside light on the verandah all night so it's difficult to get the room dark to sleep. The curtains are fitted improperly and the light gets in through the top of the curtains.
The rooms are not very private, your bed is right by the front door and other neighbours can sit outside your room and smoke and have a chat on the verandah etc..
The rooms were clean but the 'kitchenette' area is oddly missing a sink and there is no way you can wash up in the bathroom! Some fixtures and fittings were a little odd and our room had a funny odour to it. Saying that the location is great and the hosts are friendly but it's noisy and bright and not very private.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachgoer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for take the time to write a review.

Unfortunately when renovating the room we had a few problems with getting plumbing to the kitchette area. Due to this a few of the room do not have a sink in this area. We are happy to replace clean glasses etc if needed. We wish to advise we are also looking into the other issues you have raised.

The Management at the Bay Motel hopes to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover! The rooms are definitely a surprise, clean tidy and modern. Love the make over! right across from the beach in the heart of byron! great value for money, Welcoming staff love it will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write this kind review.

We appreciate you feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Don't be deceived by the outward appearance of this perfectly located motel. The rooms are spacious, bright and modern having just been recently renovated. Bathrooms are huge. Tiles are amazing and room well equipped. Highly recommended. Will return in the near future for sure !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickwaterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are always very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Property: Bay Motel
Address: 12 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on beautiful Byron Bay beach, a stay at the centrally located Bay Motel will have you coming back for more. With the white sand of one of the most pristine beaches just 50m away and the surf club directly across the road, the Bay Motel is the perfect location to soak in all that Byron Bay has to offer.Offering double, twin and suites with air conditioning, free satellite TV, microwave and coffee making facilities. Free secure parking is available for all of our guests. Across the road on the beachfront is a park offering barbeque facilities and children’s playground. At the Bay Motel we offer you the best location, friendly service and great value for your holiday dollar. Our goal is to make your stay with us in Byron Bay comfortable, enjoyable and most of all memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing