We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and bright!”
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy and bright!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This motel is ok if you want to stay overnight as the location is great. But the rooms are lit up by the outside light on the verandah all night so it's difficult to get the room dark to sleep. The curtains are fitted improperly and the light gets in through the top of the curtains.
The rooms are not very private, your bed is right by the front door and other neighbours can sit outside your room and smoke and have a chat on the verandah etc..
The rooms were clean but the 'kitchenette' area is oddly missing a sink and there is no way you can wash up in the bathroom! Some fixtures and fittings were a little odd and our room had a funny odour to it. Saying that the location is great and the hosts are friendly but it's noisy and bright and not very private.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandsJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for take the time to write a review.

Unfortunately when renovating the room we had a few problems with getting plumbing to the kitchette area. Due to this a few of the room do not have a sink in this area. We are happy to replace clean glasses etc if needed. We wish to advise we are also looking into the other issues you have raised.

The Management at the Bay Motel hopes to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    71
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
62
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover! The rooms are definitely a surprise, clean tidy and modern. Love the make over! right across from the beach in the heart of byron! great value for money, Welcoming staff love it will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write this kind review.

We appreciate you feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Don't be deceived by the outward appearance of this perfectly located motel. The rooms are spacious, bright and modern having just been recently renovated. Bathrooms are huge. Tiles are amazing and room well equipped. Highly recommended. Will return in the near future for sure !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickwaterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are always very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived in Byron bay midweek having not booked anything. Bay motel was the first place we kind of walked past and the manager offered to show us the room before we paid. Well, the room was clearly newly renovated, so clean and just perfect for our little family of 3 including toddler in a portacot! Opposite the beach with a lovely grassed area and park, close to everything and really nice! Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
The Bay Motel is happy that we could accommodate your lovely family.

We are in a great location for families travelling with small children. We are surrounded by restaurants and shops, a childrens park is directly accross the road and easy walking for people with a prams.

We glad you enjoyed you stay with us, thank you for your kind words, and we will welcome you back whenever you return to Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nancy and Greg were very friendly hosts. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and our hosts were more than happy to help us out with wi-fi, and restaurant recommendations. We requested a late check out so that we could do a snorkelling tour and that was no trouble to them at all. Would stay there again if ever we go back to Byron

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Public Relations Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for praising our hospitality. We love meeting and talking to all of our guests. We enjoy all of your wonderful stories and are always happy to help to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Hope you visit us and the Bay Motel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

So upon booking this place and looking at photos online I was not expecting much...but I was definitely pleasantly surprised!!

When checking in the managers were super friendly and helpful..this continued for our two day stay as well as cleaning staff !

The rooms are extremely modern with a mini kitchenette including a microwave and bar fridge . The bathroom is nothing special but suit us fine.

Location was perfect as you are right on the water front and on the doorstep to all of Byron city centre. The lighthouse is just a five minute drive up the road. Compared to other places around the price is fairly reasonable but you ate still in tourist central so it is a little on the high end.

All in all perfect little getaway for us ! Will definitely be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
To Jordy. We thank you for your honest review and now please let me know what we can do in the bathroom that would make it better. Glad you had a nice time and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were greeted by manager when we arrived with a rude "about time" at 9.00 pm, even though I had rung earlier and told them that there is a chance we might be late due to traffic more than once. The owners seem to have a problem that there was a mixture of male and female friends though the number of people were quoted correctly, and told us that "people like you come here to PLAY UP". Also the owner was not happy about booking the room online telling us how we should have called to booked the place. When asked if you didn't want people to book online why did you advertise it on an online booking site his reply was a pathetic "that's the only way we could advertise it online". A paying customer should not have to put up with such rude service. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Property: Bay Motel
Address: 12 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on beautiful Byron Bay beach, a stay at the centrally located Bay Motel will have you coming back for more. With the white sand of one of the most pristine beaches just 50m away and the surf club directly across the road, the Bay Motel is the perfect location to soak in all that Byron Bay has to offer.Offering double, twin and suites with air conditioning, free satellite TV, microwave and coffee making facilities. Free secure parking is available for all of our guests. Across the road on the beachfront is a park offering barbeque facilities and children’s playground. At the Bay Motel we offer you the best location, friendly service and great value for your holiday dollar. Our goal is to make your stay with us in Byron Bay comfortable, enjoyable and most of all memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing