We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"Comfortable but overpriced"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byron Bay Side Central Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Croydon, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Comfortable but overpriced"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The gentleman on the desk was welcoming and friendly. We stayed here 1 night and had a family suite. The washing machine and dryer was a welcome sight! The room was comfortable but over priced. We were charged extra for 1 child in a family room which was a shock as we had booked a family room! The motel is in a good location but I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it as it was over priced for what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed the room facilities. Room rates are displayed on the internet and when making the booking it is important to list all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
20
48
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We checked in here for 1night only and found the staff to be particularly welcoming and helpful which is always a bonus!
We got a 1 Studio apartment which was very roomy and spacious enough to accommodate our travels cots for our Twin infants. The apartment had a washing machine and dryer which was a bonus, given we needed to do just that!
Represents good value for the price and locality. My only critisism would be that the rooms could probably benefit from a makeover at some point, otherwise, clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The motel is located in a very quiet part of town, but only 5 minutes walk to the pubs, shops beach ect. We stayed mid week & only paid $120 for the night & were very impressed with what the room had. There was washing machine & dryer, basic kitchen facilities and the beds were very comfy. My friend who has a bad back had a great night sleep :) The rooms are very simple yet had everything we needed. The staff were all very friendly as well, they let us check in early & leave our car parked underneath all day after checkout. If you are looking for a decent budget place to stay i highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Staff pleasant and helpful, accommodation basic but clean and spacious. Bed comfortable, having laundry facilities in room a bonus. value for money and didn't expect any different for $150. Walls thin and screaming baby the only issue!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeedNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You. The walls are 8"concrete block but a crying baby makes a lot of noise and we are sorry someone had a crying baby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great value & location.
A self contained quiet motel located 5 minutes walk to all Byron has to offer.
Very friendly professional check in & out.
Rooms clean & updated .
Having the kitchen & laundry in the room is a real bonus.
Car parking underneath which is secure & locked at night.
Will definately return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very friendly and pleasant staff but our room at 150 AUD per night was not good value. The bed s right by the door, which opened onto the street, so as you went to bed it was necessary to walk over that dirty entry carpet. The furnishings were old but not old enough to be retro. The settee was so far from the small TV that my husband had to sit on a hard dining chair right below the screen.
Toilet for the disabled looked like a hospital or old folks home. With hand rails. An ancient washing machine in the corner. Curtains not quite long enough to close. Fortunately the bed was comfortable.
Good thing that Byron is mainly about the beach, but it was far from the little gem described by other visitors.

Room Tip: Try upstairs...but beware. Our friends who did so awoke to find teenagers had climbed onto their bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonesja264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Room rates for all the hotels are displayed on the internet but rates go up and down according to the day of the week and season. The entry carpet would have been cleaned on your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Byron Bay Side Central Motel on a Saturday night in April. It was perfect for what we needed - a cheap place to stay after a wedding.

I was pleasantly surprised with the size and set up of the room. We had a huge balcony and comfy living area, plenty of beds to choose from - I regretted not staying longer here.

With regard to noise, we didn't here a thing. This may have been because it was a quieter time of year...

A big thank you to the staff who were super efficient and super friendly. I called the day before to ask advice on getting to Byron from Ballina airport, and to ask for an early check-in. The person I spoke to went above and beyond - thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphins
Dolphins
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#15 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Bay Beach Motel
Bay Beach Motel
#23 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay Side Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Side Central Motel

Property: Byron Bay Side Central Motel
Address: 14 Middleton St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Side Central Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments offer great value for money when booking Byron Bay Holiday Accommodation, making it a perfect holiday destination for friends, couples and families. Airport shuttles arrive frequently from Ballina / Brisbane and Gold Coast Domestic and International Airports to Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments. Friendly onsite managers will welcome you to the Fully Self contained, Hotel studio apartments providing guests with Free Wi-Fi Internet and undercover Car Parking for guests with cars. Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments is located in a very central, convenient and yet quiet location in Byron Bay with Main Beach, Byron Bay lighthouse walk, shops, restaurants, entertainment and coach station only 3 minutes' walk away. All studio apartments have air conditioning,a large open plan lounge, fully equipped kitchen and ensuite bathroom with washing machine & dryer. A private balcony attached to 18 of the 20 apartments ensures a feeling of spaciousness and an enjoyment of the outdoors. One fully equipped disabled apartment. Enjoy beauty, hair treatments & massages within the complex as well as the very popular vegetarian restaurant "'Heart and Halo'' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Byron Bay Side Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing