We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbara's Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been coming to Byron for years and have stayed in various places from fancy, to average to camping. I thought this was a great place, very quaint, clean, quiet, accessible. But also, the fact that I could just book the place for one night as opposed to most places 'minimum 2 or 3 nights' .. Including camping grounds!! Plus, you have 24 hours to cancel if needed! I woul definately come here again. Very nice backyard and very homely!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Byron Bay has all styles of accommodation to suit all Visitors so thankyou for staying at our cute Guesthouse and enjoying your few days 'getaway'--the swing is always well used with a good book!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Barbara's for a week over Christmas & what a beautiful guesthouse we found it to be. We visit Byron regularly & this guesthouse ticks all the boxes. The location is brilliant, there is no need for a car which is a treat on holidays, our room was spacious, comfortable, quiet & very clean. We were welcomed with homemade biscuits, fresh linen & flowers in our room. The garden & back deck lends itself to a relaxed afternoon after a day at the beach or evening bbq & freshly cut salad from the huge veggie garden.

Despite the busy hum of Byron & festive season we found Barbara's to be a hidden sanctuary.

Thanks to the owners for a lovely week - well will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are glad your holiday at he Guesthouse was an enjoyable experience,thankyou for your compliments its a pleasure to have such happy Guests who i know are returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at Barbara's over the Christmas and New Year period and could not think of a better place to stay. The owners were amazingly friendly and soooo helpful. For someone who hasn't spent much time in Byron it was like having your own personal information centre at your fingertips. The bedroom we stayed in was spacious and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was perfect however the outdoor hot shower was an experience in itself. Nothing like having a hot shower under the Byron Bay stars after a long day at the beach!!! Brilliant!!!
I actually found the rooms relatively quiet even though it was probably the busiest period of the year.
I could not recommend Barbara's more highly and I will certainly be returning.
Thanks for the great experience.
Edward

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Positives: Location close to beach and main street, lovelly place, nice backyard, kitchen, barby, laundry - what you need
Owners: Virignia and husband very nice people, good talking to them - thanks for having us and the nice chats
Negatives: Nightly noise and mess made by ohter hillbilly like guests, Owners were trying to keep this under acceptable limit
Summary: Would come back, but it comes down to the behaviour of the other guest and sourrounding environment.
Price: Found it a bit to high

Room Tip: Studio is good with kid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuergenSimoneAn... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a place! Amazing location, wonderfully appointed and lovely hosts. Love the outdoor shower and veggie patch! If you are ever thinking about a holiday in Bryon Bay make sure you stay at Barbara's.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thankyou for your enthusiastic review,im glad your stay was enjoyable,hopefully the veggies and herbs will be as prolific when you return to the Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I hate giving bad reviews. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners and they were so lovely. We stayed in the suite which was nice, basic but nice. At the end of the day its a b&b after all!
The location is great in that its so close to Byron town, the walk does only take 10 mins, that being said you have to cross run down train lines and pass people living in cars and having bbq's out of there boots in order to get to the town. It is definitely the cheaper side of town and unfortunately that is reflected in the surroundings.
When we booked we were told 90$ a night each so $180 a night altogether. And when the confirmation came through it was stated that breakfast wasnt included in that! To be honest for a b&b i found that $180 a night was quite steep so when we were informed that breakfast would be ontop of that it was very disappointing (we booked two nights).
And finally the noise.....there was a house party next door that went past 4am. The dance music started around 2am and did not stop. As we were in the suite we were directly opposite the house in question. In the room the windows were mesh and not glass (which is perfectly fine as they have blinds as well) but unfortunately that means all sounds carries directly through. We were diving the next day with red eyes and no sleep which definitely wasnt what we were expecting. To be fair to the lovely owners, they went next door and requested they keep the noise down. The next night was much better however that was moreso due to the earplugs we purchased so as not to be caught out again.

Again I would like to say the owners were so nice but the noise, price without breakfast and surrounding area were enough for us to never go back.
Such a pity too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ker_schnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Being relatively new to the guesthouse business we are disappointed all the effort and investment we have put into improving the presentation and comforts at Barbara’s has been devalued, in your case, by a neighbour’s noisy “schoolies” party.
Thank you for acknowledging our efforts to fix the problem. I am sure other readers will understand how up set you can be in any location when neighbours are noisy.
Byron Bay has many styles of accommodation in many locations and is full of cosmopolitan charm. We believe we offer a comfortable and clean property close to the town for a competitive price in busy times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Positives - extremely clean. Great location near Town Centre and short walk (10/15 mins) to beach. Comfy bed and clean linen. Owner very elegant and definately wanting to provide excellent service. Would be very good and recommend if the louder guests were more considerate.

Negatives - shared bathroom and toilet (albeit very clean). Noisey guests late into night.

Room Tip: Room 2 - comfy bed great quilt pillow combo. Small room. Loads of storage. Very clean and newly deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thankyou for your compliments and yes it was a shame about the noisy boys but im pleased you enjoyed your stay.With the Holiday season upon us Byron is a busy place so hopefully the incoming Guests will be more considerate of house guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 34 in Byron Bay
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Springs Guesthouse
Byron Springs Guesthouse
#5 of 34 in Byron Bay
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara's Guesthouse

Address: 5 Burns St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $171 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barbara's Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a leafy residential street, Barbara's Guesthouse offers comfortable, classy accommodation just a stone's throw from the beaches and main streets of Byron Bay. We provide comfortable king, queen, twin and studio rooms, each with ensuite or private bathroom facilities. Visitors are invited to make use of the outdoor relaxation areas. Renovated and redecorated to a high standard in 2015, we believe that you will find Barbara's Guesthouse a perfect base for your holiday in Northern New South Wales, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barbara's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing