We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in Byron Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barbara's Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Positives - extremely clean. Great location near Town Centre and short walk (10/15 mins) to beach. Comfy bed and clean linen. Owner very elegant and definately wanting to provide excellent service. Would be very good and recommend if the louder guests were more considerate.

Negatives - shared bathroom and toilet (albeit very clean). Noisey guests late into night.

Room Tip: Room 2 - comfy bed great quilt pillow combo. Small room. Loads of storage. Very clean and newly deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thankyou for your compliments and yes it was a shame about the noisy boys but im pleased you enjoyed your stay.With the Holiday season upon us Byron is a busy place so hopefully the incoming Guests will be more considerate of house guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 151 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just had the pleasure of yet again staying at Barbara's Guesthouse which is now under new ownership and as always was a beautiful stay. Virginnia is doing a wonderfull job providing for us a wonderfull place to stay while in Byron for a few days or longer.....fab location, very comfortable, fresh, clean and just a great place to stay.....over the last ten years or more I have had the pleasure of staying a number of times and already looking forward to another visit. Thanks for the tip Virginnia on the butterfly....I picked some up before leaving Byron and now enjoying in my garden :)
Thanks for great stay
Siobhan

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thankyou for your happy comments re your recent stay at the Guesthouse,its amazing how popular the butterfly has been,ill have to buy them in bulk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed for one night only and really enjoyed it - everything was clean and nice with a laid back, relaxed atmosphere. The owners live somewhere else and we saw them only in the morning. Conveniently located close to the centre but in a quiet street and for a very reasonable price. We are definitely coming again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KackaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The new owners have put a broom through the place. Clean as a whistle, new linen, they're updating beds and furniture, freshly painted and it's still a fabulous location being a close walk to all the action of Byron. Love the outdoor shower and area out the back where you can relax and have a cuppa at the long table. The gardens are beginning to look good too. I love that you can pick your own herbs from their vege and herb garden while you cook up a money saving meal in the kitchen.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed there 3 times over the last year, and love it, especially now with its new make over. It is cozy, always clean and qaint. The beds and linen are better. The new manager, Felicity is great and very helpful. Location is perfect - short walk into town. We love the fact that you can stay for 1 night, most accomodation in Byron is 2 night minimum stay. The price is great too - can't find anything close to that price - great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The guesthouse had just come under new management and so there were a few renovations going on but they did not affect us and the new manager was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and there were heated blankets which came in very handy as it was very cold at night! The location was great, it was only a 10 minute walk to the beach and there were plenty of shops close by. The kitchen facilities were great with free tea and coffee and free wifi (although this did keep turning off so we had to keeping putting it back on).

The only negative was that there were no street lights on the road outside so it was a bit scary when we were walking home at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cometravelwithme2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We needed a bed for one night only and were ok with the last available room: a double with a shared bathroom for $100. The property itself was nice and welcoming, but the room reminded us of our backpacking days: The bed was very old and incredibly saggy; the sheets were completely threadbare and had several thumb-sized holes(!); the duvet cover smelled unwashed and felt unhygenic as did the pillows which I covered with a towel.
The room was very small (but had an oversized built-in wardrobe). The shared bathroom - especially the shower - was in need of a good spring clean. The only guest toilet is also in the bathroom, so while other guests shower, you can’t answer nature’s call.
On the plus side: The back veranda is nice and sunny. There is off-street parking which we appreciated. And the location is absolutely excellent – quiet, yet just a very short walk into town. It was the main selling point for us.
To be fair, we probably aren’t the target demographic for this type of B & B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludibund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123room, Owner at Barbara's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am sorry your stay at Barbara's B&B in April 2012 was not what you had expected in regard to cleanliness but there has been a change of Ownership since the beginning of July 2012 and all the bedlinen,towels,pillows and donnas have been replaced as well as a makeover of the house and garden being in process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
0.4 mi away
The Beach Shack Byron Bay
The Beach Shack Byron Bay
#4 of 34 in Byron Bay
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byron Cove Beach House
Byron Cove Beach House
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 34 in Byron Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara's Guesthouse

Address: 5 Burns St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $141 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barbara's Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a leafy residential street, Barbara's Guesthouse offers comfortable, classy accommodation just a stone's throw from the beaches and main streets of Byron Bay. We provide comfortable king, queen, twin and studio rooms, each with ensuite or private bathroom facilities. Visitors are invited to make use of the outdoor relaxation areas. Renovated and redecorated to a high standard in 2015, we believe that you will find Barbara's Guesthouse a perfect base for your holiday in Northern New South Wales, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Barbara's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing