We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Last Minute Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Byron Bay isn't cheap and trying to find accommodation at the last minute during the beginning of Summer season can be a challenge. When I saw the deal AUD99 for an ensuite cabin I quickly jumped to it.

The Tourist Village is located next to a swamp, separated by Belongil creek, and because of that, it is impossible to walk to town via Belongil beach. The environment of the Tourist Village was rather well kept, with good security, neat lawn and tidy vegetation, my cabin's bedroom window overlooks the lake, which is nice, and at night, I could hear the sound of the ocean.

The cabin looks nice from the outside but has a tired interior and was not well cleaned - dirt gathered at corners, sticky floor, mold in shower box and hair everywhere in the bathroom. The bed was on the soft side that sags in the middle, a brown blanket that looks and smells like it needed a good wash and only one soft pillow given per person, as a result, I didn't get quality sleep during my two nights there.

The kitchen was well equipped with all the utensils needed for simple meals, the dining/living area minimal with table, chairs and a tired looking sofa, the tv above the fridge was small but functioning and a 'veranda' with 2 dirty plastic chairs which I didn't use. Car park is available right beside the cabin which makes loading and unloading easy.

There is a small shop beside the office/reception that sells basic stuff like bread and milk but is not open all the time, there are also nothing around the area so I had to stock up while in town.

Given the price I paid I didn't expect much in terms of amenities but the cleaning standard definitely needs keeping up if I were to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Don't stay in this holiday village, it is over-priced, facilities are poor and accomodation is dated. We stayed in a bunk cabin and found that it was extremely outdated with moldy floor boards and the place could have done with a fresh coat of paint. The TV had one channel and the remotes battery was leaking acid and obviously did not work. The place was in such a state of disrepair that when I went to open the curtains the next morning they fell down! A week later I realised that they had charged an additional $50 (on top of the $90 for the night). After ringing to enquire about the extra charge I was rudley informed that they had charged a 'cleaning fee', because apparently, cleaners need extra money to clip in curtain rails, pick up papers and a TV remote off the floor. I think I also forgot to put away a clean spoon when we left. After asking why we were charged this rediculous amount, she then accused me of trashing the place because we were upset about being kept awake by drunken louts next door. Don't stay here, they will scam any bit of money out of you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fionaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My daughter had stayed in an Australian Holiday Park before and was very negative before we got there.
The welcome was friendly and we were given a PIN for the heavy duty security gates. We asked why they were needed and were told there are sometimes festivals nearby and there have been problems, but as we went in winter there wasn't much going on.
Only the double bed was made up, and making up the top bunk was a bit if a challenge.
The chalet had been decorated comparitively recentlyand had a wooden floor. The bunk beds, kitchen and living area were all in one, with a separate double room and bathroom. There were spare blankets, which were needed.
The heater in the living area was good. There was a small two ring stove with an oven, microwave and fridge freezer. The units in the kitchen area were quite good, as was the shower. The TV was very small.
There was parking beside the chalet.
It was very dark at night and we left the outside light on, because otherwise finding the light switch in the middle of the night would have been a challenge. On the other hand there was a good view of the stars.
The park was well kept with a variety of trees.
All in all a pleasant surprise and we all slept well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed here a while back with a group of friends. It was our first time to Byron and didnt realise how far away it was from town-a good 40 minute walk or about a 40 minute drive due to the long queues of traffic heading into town. 40 minutes doesn't seem too bad until you do it multiple times a day in the relentless summer heat. Most people were hitching a ride into town but I didn't feel safe doing that at the time.

This place has a real party atmosphere and is full of 18-20 year olds getting drunk and having a good time. The managers treat the young people there with total contempt (yet are more than happy to take our money, including $20 to borrow their iron for 20 minutes). I have always been the type of person who goes out of my way to be nice-especially to staff who are obviously busy-but get very annoyed when I don't receive good customer service back.

Another example of Byron Tourist Village managers lack of customer service skills: A while after I stayed here, I came back to Byron. We were at a music festival that was a few streets away from Byron Tourist Village, and before the festival, I had to go to the toilet (having IBS, this means when I need to go, I NEED TO GO!). It so happened that I was close to the toilet block at Byron Tourist Village at the time, but there was a security guard there that didn't allow me in. I went into the office where all the managers were and pleaded for them to let me use their toilet and they didn't let me. Even when I offered to pay them! So I then had to wait almost an hour until I got into the festival and queue up for the loos there. It was a fairly terrible experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katandscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Cabins were really clean. Had all the facilities we needed. 5 minutes from the centre of Byron Bay. Staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMMMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank machinaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#18 of 65 in Byron Bay
476 reviews
2.9 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
First Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park
#21 of 65 in Byron Bay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Byron Bay

Address: 399 Ewingsdale Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Byron Bay Tourist Village)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $57 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Byron Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed holiday atmosphere, modern facilities and stunning natural scenery, Discovery Parks - Byron Bay is an idyllic escape. Set amongst picturesque tropical gardens and lakes, and just 2km from the Byron Bay town centre, Discovery Parks - Byron Bay is a family friendly caravan park and offers a range of excellent accommodation. Accommodation options include self-contained cabins, ensuite sites and powered sites all located within a beautiful setting adjacent to Belongil Creek. Laze by the pool, enjoy the full size tennis court, or take a short walk to the nearby beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing