We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Byron Bay
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently spent a week at the Atlantic and loved every moment of it. I had a beautiful room with a sunfilled balcony, gorgeous bathroom and a comfy bed. I often worry about beds which are a king but can split into singles, but this one was was really comfortable.
The kitchen and living areas were beautiful and always kept clean.
I found the location perfect, right on the edge of town only a few blocks from the beach, which is perfect in Byron. No long walks home in the dark after a dinner out.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
I had a very relaxing stay with everything I needed.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are obviously better with access to kitchen and lovely outdoor eating and sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    41
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
132
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My one night at the Atlantic was lovely. I was in Byron for a very short time and I wish I had been able to stay longer. The room was light and airy, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was modern and clean and I enjoyed being there. It's located very conveniently.
There is a communal aspect to the kitchen and garden with one washing machine. I could have done with doing a load of washing but it was in use - you win some... Byron is a very sociable place but I felt like I should have brought my own friends... I stayed here out of fear of all the "party" hostels there - made for a fairly sterile experience. The only fault is your "free wifi" extends to one email on your iphone - then I don't know what you do as the reception was closed at 6pm... thankfully there is an internet cafe at the end of the road with free wifi that you can catch on the street corner... just look for all the backpackers with laptops!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LexieLou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved Atlantic! Such warm friendly staff and guests, set in beautiful grounds in the heart of Byron. The owners have done an amazing job on creating the ultimate beach house and from the minute you walk in the door you are welcomed and feel at home. We stayed in an ensuite room - Room 3 in The Lodge, which was perfect for my friend and I on our girls trip. The only negatives were the lack of storage in the bathroom (none), the slight traffic noises of an evening and a lack of sofas in the communal lounge area. But, this was far outweighed by the beautiful relaxed vibe, amazing accommodation for the price and location. We'll be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jojopiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I highly recommend the Atlantic! The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. Staff are super friendly and helpful. It was stunning, relaxing and peaceful while being close to everything in Byron Bay. Easy walk to the beach, shops, cafes, restaurants. 5 nights here was not long enough. Can't wait to come back! Felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat0609a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We expected a comfortable, clean and private space we could relax and enjoy a couple of days off and got exactly that! Not as fussy as a B&B or as impersonal as a hotel, Atlantic was like staying at an extremely trendy friend's beach house that they had lent you for a few nights.

Atlantic stood out for it's beautiful decor full of lovely little details and for it's lush and quiet grounds.

The staff were friendly and helpful when you needed them, without being a constant presence around the place. You could easily forget that there were other people about.

I wouldn't go there expecting to be waited on, it's a self service kind of place, but if you want a peaceful, quiet and stylish base camp for your Byron holiday, Atlantic seems the place to go.

I'll be back to stay in the Airstream trailer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booked this accomodation after reading reviews here.
It was absolutely stunning. when we arrived we were shown to our room which opened on to the verandah. Some guests were already sat here and the owner went straight out to ask them to move. There were no problems as they were only sitting there as it looked like rain. There was an outdoor seating area also but this was not covered.
We took full advantage of the verandah on both nights we were there and it was lovely being able to sit out and listen to the birds. It was a lovely garden area and also the "silver bullet" caravan.
It was only a short stroll to the main shopping area, restaurants bars and the beach and was an ideal spot to explore from. We were abel to park up the car and forget about it the 2 nights we stayed here.
The different styles of accomodation will sort all types of traveller and we stayed in the Driftwood cottage which gave us a room with bed and own bathroom with a fridge and tea and coffee making facilites, we also had access to laundry facility.
If we ever make it to Australia and Byron Bay again we would definitely stay here again an absoute gem and a credit to the owners!

Room Tip: Book early and we had the Driftwood room which opened on to the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception.
Clean room.
Nice looking exterior to the building.
Wifi was unreliable!

Cant leave a review without mentioning the ants...
We made the mistake of leaving fruit out on top of the fridge. A few hours later upon our return we found lots of ants crawling all over them! Would have been nice to be warned about it as I'm sure its not the first time its happened here. Maybe they should try putting down treatment? May help a little!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jubes1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay with us and for your feedback.

I’m sorry the WIFI was unreliable while you were here. Since we upgraded our wireless system last year we've had no guests advise of any problems, however if any future guests find this to be the case please advise our reception so that we can investigate the issue immediately – as once you are checked out there is little we can do to rectify the problem.

With regard to the ants, we pride ourselves on our tropical grounds and gardens and in that environment ants will be about, also with the recent rains we've had they may have been on the move. We treat our rooms with natural deterrents (eucalyptus), but will not be leaving poison around our rooms or grounds.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again to Atlantic Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
1.3 mi away
A Beach House At Byron
A Beach House At Byron
#27 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Byron Bay

Property: Atlantic Byron Bay
Address: 13 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic is located in the very centre of Byron Bay, on the corner of Middleton and Marvell streets, close to Main Beach, tourist information, cafes and shops. The decor is inspired by boutique Caribbean beach houses and Byron Bay surf culture. High ceilings, chalk-white walls and the quiet garden create a unique atmosphere and refreshing holiday experience. All rooms are Wi-Fi enabled and serviced daily. Atlantic has three houses: Coconut Cottage, The Lodge and Driftwood. Coconut Cottage offers guests a choice of both our stylish premium en-suite rooms and standard en-suite rooms. Guests staying in the recently renovated premium en-suite rooms in Coconut Cottage have access to a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ and outdoor deck area. Alternatively guests can choose to enjoy a drink on the own private verandah. Driftwood guesthouse offers a choice of premium en-suite rooms, the premium studio, standard en-suite rooms in our garden cabin and the American Airstream trailer.The Lodge is the heart of Atlantic. Majestic and bold this modern day plantation house anchors the estate with her calm and beauty. An eclectic mix of art, modern influences blended with mid century accents and coastal dreaming have come together in this spectacular space. The Lodge offers premium en-suite accommodation each with their own verandah and access to the house kitchen/entertaining area and outdoor dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Atlantic Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing