We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning accomodation”
Review of Atlantic Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Byron Bay
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booked this accomodation after reading reviews here.
It was absolutely stunning. when we arrived we were shown to our room which opened on to the verandah. Some guests were already sat here and the owner went straight out to ask them to move. There were no problems as they were only sitting there as it looked like rain. There was an outdoor seating area also but this was not covered.
We took full advantage of the verandah on both nights we were there and it was lovely being able to sit out and listen to the birds. It was a lovely garden area and also the "silver bullet" caravan.
It was only a short stroll to the main shopping area, restaurants bars and the beach and was an ideal spot to explore from. We were abel to park up the car and forget about it the 2 nights we stayed here.
The different styles of accomodation will sort all types of traveller and we stayed in the Driftwood cottage which gave us a room with bed and own bathroom with a fridge and tea and coffee making facilites, we also had access to laundry facility.
If we ever make it to Australia and Byron Bay again we would definitely stay here again an absoute gem and a credit to the owners!

Room Tip: Book early and we had the Driftwood room which opened on to the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 291 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Friendly reception.
Clean room.
Nice looking exterior to the building.
Wifi was unreliable!

Cant leave a review without mentioning the ants...
We made the mistake of leaving fruit out on top of the fridge. A few hours later upon our return we found lots of ants crawling all over them! Would have been nice to be warned about it as I'm sure its not the first time its happened here. Maybe they should try putting down treatment? May help a little!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jubes1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for your recent stay with us and for your feedback.

I’m sorry the WIFI was unreliable while you were here. Since we upgraded our wireless system last year we've had no guests advise of any problems, however if any future guests find this to be the case please advise our reception so that we can investigate the issue immediately – as once you are checked out there is little we can do to rectify the problem.

With regard to the ants, we pride ourselves on our tropical grounds and gardens and in that environment ants will be about, also with the recent rains we've had they may have been on the move. We treat our rooms with natural deterrents (eucalyptus), but will not be leaving poison around our rooms or grounds.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again to Atlantic Byron Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic on Saturday 16th March expecting a premium guest house stay. Nothing guest house at all about our stay. We stayed in their Driftwood accommodation for $235.00 AUS. Ok room but other than a wooden verandah it was like basic motel accommodation, where was the communal lounge or other things you expect in a "guest house"? The worst thing about the room was the airconditioning, it sounded like a motorcar without a muffler, it was so incredibly noisy we eventually had to turn it off as we could not get to sleep! It was the one very small luxury we thought we were getting on a very warm evening. Ok motel accommodation, definitely nothing guesthouse about where we stayed. In fact I have stayed in better motels in premium coastal areas with quiet airconditioning and much lower rates. The other "Ralph Lauren" inspired looking guest house between where we were placed and the reception area looked beautiful, perhaps just luck of the draw?

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us.

Atlantic is a unique property built from its origins of three beach houses and each house is different. We don’t call ourselves a “guesthouse” on our website, but on some online travel agents (& Trip Advisor) we don’t have a choice how our property is categorised. Some of our rooms have a common kitchen / living area while others offer a more private hotel room style option. We find guests preferences vary and generally allocate rooms with length of stay in mind or specific requests from the guests.

Our housekeeping team alerted us to the faulty air-conditioner on the day of your check out and the unit was repaired on the Monday after your stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again to Atlantic Byron Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent three nights at Atlantic in early February of this year. Everything was flawless. From the friendly greeting by management upon arrival (gladly accommodating our early check-in request, offering tips on a nice place to take an afternoon jog, and showing us the property) to the spectacularly clean accommodations, we couldn't have asked for more.

The location, only a three minute walk to the beach or the head of the scenic lighthouse walk (run) trail, was perfectly removed from the busy downtown. An open and airy feeling house with a beautiful little balcony attached to our room (premium ensuite) provided the ideal relaxation point for what little time we weren't out and about. The kitchen / deck area were a welcome treat. A shared and well apportioned kitchen has everything you need from a tools, glassware, and flatware perspective to cook up a great meal. If you choose to go to the grocery, there is ample room in the fridge and pantry; you'll find other guests respectful of your items and overall traffic in the kitchen is low. Just a simple morning passing over coffee or a quick hello in the evening.

Get come coffee nearby at Bay Leaf - amazing! Get a nice long run in, and add a huge crumby muffin to that as a reward.

Enjoy Byron Bay! The Atlantic is the best bang for the buck, and a true pleasure.

Room Tip: Premium ensuite offers a balcony with two chairs, a pleasure to sit in the evening and listen to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmatous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just home from a five day stay at Atlantic.
The property was beautifully presented. Really stylish accommodation set in lush tropical gardens, yet right in the middle of town.
My family and I stayed in 2 rooms in The Lodge. The decor was gorgeous and the facilities excellent.
We will definitely stay at Atlantic on our next trip to Byron!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent two lovely days @ Atlantic. Right from when we arrived we found the staff very helpful and the rooms extremely well presented and clean. Loved sharing a evening drink with the other guests. Wanted to take the whole place home. Thanks we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlene255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here a couple for a couple of nights and it was so hard not to fall in love with this beautiful little property. The service is not like anything I've ever experienced as staff truly went above and beyond wherever possible to meet our needs.
Perfect location - very close to cafe's and main street and very easy access to every where in town, so park the car, relax and let your legs to all the walking for you. Even though it is in such a convenient location, this place does have that 'little slice of heaven' appeal.
White, bright and fabulous with a touch of nautical nature has ticked all of my boxes.
I cannot wait to stay here again when my family re-visit Byron.
Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay comfortable and perfect!! xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
1.3 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#25 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Byron Bay

Address: 13 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: $158 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Byron Bay is a lifestyle hotel. The perfect combination of location and style surrounded by swaying palm trees and the sound of the ocean. The Atlantic is the perfect getaway for couples with cafes, shops and white sandy beaches all steps from your deck. Soak up the sun on the lawn, hide under a palm tree and enjoy the balmy evenings by the fire pit. Cast off your bags and start making moments at your home away from home. The Atlantic property is home to 4 original Byron Bay cottages all lovingly restored with a timeless attention to detail. Known for its evolving design and tokens of travel with remnants of adventure adorning every wall. Gourmet kitchens in each house provide a place to cook up a breakfast of local delicacies from the farmers market or a long lazy lunch by the pool. Join us at The Atlantic and live like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing