We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful property, superb location, and friendly management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Byron Bay
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, superb location, and friendly management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent three nights at Atlantic in early February of this year. Everything was flawless. From the friendly greeting by management upon arrival (gladly accommodating our early check-in request, offering tips on a nice place to take an afternoon jog, and showing us the property) to the spectacularly clean accommodations, we couldn't have asked for more.

The location, only a three minute walk to the beach or the head of the scenic lighthouse walk (run) trail, was perfectly removed from the busy downtown. An open and airy feeling house with a beautiful little balcony attached to our room (premium ensuite) provided the ideal relaxation point for what little time we weren't out and about. The kitchen / deck area were a welcome treat. A shared and well apportioned kitchen has everything you need from a tools, glassware, and flatware perspective to cook up a great meal. If you choose to go to the grocery, there is ample room in the fridge and pantry; you'll find other guests respectful of your items and overall traffic in the kitchen is low. Just a simple morning passing over coffee or a quick hello in the evening.

Get come coffee nearby at Bay Leaf - amazing! Get a nice long run in, and add a huge crumby muffin to that as a reward.

Enjoy Byron Bay! The Atlantic is the best bang for the buck, and a true pleasure.

Room Tip: Premium ensuite offers a balcony with two chairs, a pleasure to sit in the evening and listen to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmatous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    38
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
126
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just home from a five day stay at Atlantic.
The property was beautifully presented. Really stylish accommodation set in lush tropical gardens, yet right in the middle of town.
My family and I stayed in 2 rooms in The Lodge. The decor was gorgeous and the facilities excellent.
We will definitely stay at Atlantic on our next trip to Byron!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent two lovely days @ Atlantic. Right from when we arrived we found the staff very helpful and the rooms extremely well presented and clean. Loved sharing a evening drink with the other guests. Wanted to take the whole place home. Thanks we'll be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here a couple for a couple of nights and it was so hard not to fall in love with this beautiful little property. The service is not like anything I've ever experienced as staff truly went above and beyond wherever possible to meet our needs.
Perfect location - very close to cafe's and main street and very easy access to every where in town, so park the car, relax and let your legs to all the walking for you. Even though it is in such a convenient location, this place does have that 'little slice of heaven' appeal.
White, bright and fabulous with a touch of nautical nature has ticked all of my boxes.
I cannot wait to stay here again when my family re-visit Byron.
Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay comfortable and perfect!! xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights to attend a friend's wedding. After seeing the photos on their website, we booked a premium suite ($235/night), believing we were going to stay in a small cottage at a tastefully designed B&B.

When we arrived, we were put into one of the rooms in the 'Coconut Cottage'. It is a TINY room, with a TINY bathroom and a TINY 'private veranda' that looks directly onto Marvel street. Cars and passerby can see directly in our room, and it is very noisy. Everything is very basic, the bed takes up almost the entire room.

For the life of me I could not believe that room is a Premium suite. I checked the facilities and the photos on their website listed under Premium, and none of the photos look anything like this room. I talked to the receptionist, believing they had put me into a standard room by mistake. The receptionist told me that all the premium rooms are like this, and "when it's a modified house you get different room sizes". When I said the room is noisy, she told me "Darling, this is DOWNTOWN Byron Bay, all the rooms are noisy!" But when I said the black cottage inside seemed a lot quieter, she eventually transferred me to one of the Driftwood cottage rooms after making a big deal about checking availability. These cottages are much larger and quieter than Coconut rooms, but the walls are still very thin and you can hear the people next room very clearly.

When we checked out, we asked if we could stay in the common area while waiting for the shuttle. Absolutely not, we could only sit on the tiny outside porch, because other people are going to check in and use that area. Yes of course many people are checking in on a Sunday afternoon!

Overall the impression was that this is an overpriced, glammed up (only at skin deep level) motel who take themselves way too seriously but lack the quality software to back their attitude up.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Date S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Atlantic Byron Bay.

We’re sorry the experience was not what you had expected. Our property has changed a lot since your stay in 2013, with the addition of the lap pool and more open shared spaces.
As a result of yours and other guests feedback the room you were staying in has been reclassified into our "Simple" room category.

With regard to your check-out day use of the facilities - we often have guests who leave bags with us after check out, if they have an afternoon transfer. On some occasions we can offer the shared areas to wait or even freshen up at the outdoor shower, but as we are generally heavily booked - even on Sundays we also need to keep the spaces for our in-house guests.

Thank you again for your valuable. feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an overpriced motel. Clean but tiny rooms that feels nothing like what appears on their website. There's not even a chair or table in the rooms, no bottled water. The common areas are spartan and echoey (read: loud). The staff are cold, inflexible with check-in times and just give a bad vibe. OK if $50/night, at $200/night this is terrible value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Serfnsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Atlantic Byron Bay. We’re sorry your stay with us was less than should be expected. All of our rooms are unique and some have desks and chairs in the rooms, while others do not. We are always happy to discuss guest's needs over the phone and go through any extra details of our rooms before booking. I believe our staff are generally welcoming and warm and I regret that this was not your experience. Our prices are set with a number of factors in mind and they are competitive within the Byron Bay area for what we offer. Next time you're in Byron don’t bother with bottled water – our tap water is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a one night stay in the Atlantic about three years ago and were impressed with it then and as there were a couple of rooms available for our son and his partner and us for the weekend we wanted to visit Byron in February it was a no brainer … we were NOT disappointed.
The place is within an easy walk to the centre of town / beach and is very tastefully decorated as a beach house with loads of surfing memorabilia also there’s a small library and DVDs are available if you want to stay in (which we didn’t!).
We chose the premium rooms - very comfortable, well decorated with a large bathroom, very minor criticism is that the rooms could do with just one more piece of furniture for untidy folks like us to put things on!
There was a communal kitchen for 4 or 5 premium rooms … don’t think “backpackers” here … this is a very well appointed and equipped kitchen with tables chairs and a lovely outside deck, we only used it for tea, coffee etc before we went out for brekkie (Targa just over the road – very good brekkie) and some biscuits and cheese and beers one afternoon … you could easily cook a full meal if you didn’t want to eat out.
We will definitely stay there next time we’re down in Byron.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyTragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Atlantic Byron Bay.

We’re sorry the experience was not what you had expected. Our property has changed a lot since your stay in 2013, with the addition of the lap pool and more open shared spaces.
As a result of yours and other guests feedback the room you were staying in has been reclassified into our "Simple" room category.

With regard to your check-out day use of the facilities - we often have guests who leave bags with us after check out, if they have an afternoon transfer. On some occasions we can offer the shared areas to wait or even freshen up at the outdoor shower, but as we are generally heavily booked - even on Sundays we also need to keep the spaces for our in-house guests.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.3 mi away
A Beach House At Byron
A Beach House At Byron
#27 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Byron Bay

Property: Atlantic Byron Bay
Address: 13 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic is located in the very centre of Byron Bay, on the corner of Middleton and Marvell streets, close to Main Beach, tourist information, cafes and shops. The decor is inspired by boutique Caribbean beach houses and Byron Bay surf culture. High ceilings, chalk-white walls and the quiet garden create a unique atmosphere and refreshing holiday experience. All rooms are Wi-Fi enabled and serviced daily. Atlantic has three houses: Coconut Cottage, The Lodge and Driftwood. Coconut Cottage offers guests a choice of both our stylish premium en-suite rooms and standard en-suite rooms. Guests staying in the recently renovated premium en-suite rooms in Coconut Cottage have access to a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ and outdoor deck area. Alternatively guests can choose to enjoy a drink on the own private verandah. Driftwood guesthouse offers a choice of premium en-suite rooms, the premium studio, standard en-suite rooms in our garden cabin and the American Airstream trailer.The Lodge is the heart of Atlantic. Majestic and bold this modern day plantation house anchors the estate with her calm and beauty. An eclectic mix of art, modern influences blended with mid century accents and coastal dreaming have come together in this spectacular space. The Lodge offers premium en-suite accommodation each with their own verandah and access to the house kitchen/entertaining area and outdoor dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing