We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Byron Bay central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Sun Holiday Park
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Couldn't get closer the the shops/cafe's and beach.
No need to use the car to get the beaches, supermarket etc.
But the sites are really cramped. If we had people in the site opposite us when we arrived I am not sure how I would have for our van in. Talking to others it is a common issue here. The price to pay for a great location.
But beware if you have kids. Apart from no playground or any other such facilities (acceptable when this close to the beach) the park does not allow bikes, scooters, skateboards, ball games, but other than this they are family friendly!.

Room Tip: Best location in Byron Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossfam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our holiday park. We need to enforce our park rules regarding skateboards, scooters and bikes for the safety of all guests however please be aware there are extensive bike tracks in town for all to enjoy and we encourage guests to take advantage of these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great position, comfortable and well equipped cabins, easy walk to town and the beach, you don't need to use your car the whole time you are here. The view from our cabin was wonderful, nothing better than looking out to sea from your balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily-Lee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and are right when you say there is "nothing better than looking out to sea from your balcony." Especially when the sun is shining and surf is up. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd year here, this time staying in the Oceanview Cabin. The park is very clean and well maintained. Our cabin had uninterrupted views of The Wreck, and came fully equipped with all the essentials. We saw an Echidna, a Kookaburra and bush turkeys in the park. The town is right on the doorstep. As usual the staff were very friendly and we had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked a lodging at First Sun based on fellow Trip Advisors positive comments. And I am so glad I did. This place is a gem. From the moment we arrived until we left the staff were nothing other than professional, friendly and available. The quality of the lodge was excellent - clean and fresh. The Park does not pretend to be other than what it is, a basic, well-kept mix of bungalow, lodging, caravan and tent parking. And that gives it credibility - what you see is what you get, and I liked what I saw and what I got.

The Park is literally minutes from the main beaches at Byron Bay and the main street. It was a little noisy at night; the drummers who seem to be conducting some "welcome to the moon goddess" for the New Moon were a bit much, but it didn't go beyond mildly annoying.

A big thanks to the staff for their welcome and especially their flexibility on our departure day. We were due to leave mid-afternoon on Sunday. Check out is 10.00, but we were welcomed to leave our bags "out the back" and use the amenities block when we were ready to wash up to leave.

I will definitely book First Park again when next in Byron.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your honest review. Unfortunately the moon drummers are out of our control and I guess add to the Byron Bay experience. I appreciate you telling others of your pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Mark and Di.

Spent the first week of a 7 week trip north at First Sun. What a great place to start from! Amenities great, security personnel on the ball, and staff always helpful. Assistant/Managers Lincoln and Nat were awesome. Would have to say these guys are only to willing to assist in any way and do so with absolute courtesy and professionalism. Made our stay a delight. So much so will make it our last stop before home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 220MarkY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We strive to deliver the best customer service possible and to ensure our facilities are well presented and maintained. We wish you all best for your holiday and will enjoy welcoming you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed at First Sun a few times. The camping is really expensive for just the small bit of land but you pay for the location I guess. I suggest getting a camp site near the end. There is a security person roaming tthe area as well so at about 9 or 10 you have to be a lot quieter. Bathrooms and BBQ area are clean. Lodging is very small but again, you pay for the location. The cabins were amazing. I loved my stay there. It's fairly expensive but I can't wait to book another stay at the cabin sites. It is again fairly small but very clean and everything is walking distance (beach, bars, resturants, shops, etc). Staff were always friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. Your honesty is greatly appreciated. We do try to ensure all guests have a relaxing and peaceful stay. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area however our location, as you mentioned is unique. We are continuing to upgrade our facilities and trust your future stays are as enjoyable as those in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Have stayed at the First Sun Holiday Park now twice and both stays we had the same problem.
We always go down with a group of about 4-6 families and stay in the lodges, i think the accomm is fine and clean same with the bathrooms. The undercover bbq area was disgusting, the tables were filthy, you wouldnt dare put anything in the fridge as looked like it hadnt been cleaned in years. the pathways covered in leaves. just very slack on the maintenance.
My biggest problem with all of us was the STAFF, ive never met anyone so rude, its suppose to be a holiday destination, all i can say is girls you need to SMILE more lifes not that bad or guess what, get another job, maybe where your not dealing with people.

Room Tip: if your after the lodges go with the one where you share the bathroom as the lodges with ensuites ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank disappointed308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

I am sorry you had a bad experience at our park. All staff have been reminded that guests are our highest priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
480 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Byron Holiday Park
Byron Holiday Park
#20 of 65 in Byron Bay
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $81 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Sun Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Byron Bay, just metres from the beach and town centre. Located on the beachfront at beautiful Byron Bay, First Sun Holiday Park offers you everything Byron Bay is world renowned for literally metres from your cabin, caravan or tent. Wake to the sound of surf lapping ‘The Wreck’ beach and take a stroll along the golden sands towards Byron Lighthouse. Step into town for a coffee, a night out in one of Byron’s many restaurants, pubs and clubs, or take in Byron’s eclectic shops, street life and markets. At First Sun Holiday Park you need never take your car anywhere because everything is so close at hand. Choose from Self Contained Cabins, Lodges, Powered and Unpowered Caravan Sites and a shady camp area. Our facilities are first class and the views towards The Wreck, Byron Lighthouse, Mt Warning and beyond, are only a few reasons why you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your First Sun Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing